We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don't mind walking a block to the amazing "seven Mile Beach," and you prefer to do things yourself and save a lot of dosh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you don't mind walking a block to the amazing "seven Mile Beach," and you prefer to do things yourself and save a lot of dosh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The Sunshine Suites is located one block back from a walkway to the center of the 6.5 SMB Seven Mile Beach. It is near two major name Hotels. This place has a putting-green like- grass area that you can sit on with lawn chairs. There are hammocks too. There is a pool. There is a casual restaurant that many people highly recommend. The room was bright and big enough with a table to eat, microwave, cooker/range, sink,refrig./freezer, ice- also ice machine near pool. Recycling bins outside. Large, open, cold breakfast daily available. Welcome cold water. Safe at main office. Extremely courteous staff. Discount list on various island places at office. Pillows really comfortable. Mattress too soft even though i hate too hard a mattress - Goldilocks syndrome. Wished for in-room number code safe on a beach trip--but this place really has everything else. It is casual not haughty, and also was quiet which was nice. There are many shops 10 min away including two major grocery stores. Staying here made it possible to book direct air and comfort seats by saving on the hotel portion--and our former Cayman stay oceanfront suites now has a mega-construction project next to it and that os not the type of surprise that you want let alone for top dollar. So, a few compromises here--but depending on the type of trip you want-- could be well worth the trade-off. This place is virtually everything else except/BUT the oceanfront room, jacuzzi, room-safe, spa on site, shop on site, and snob atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MINNESN0WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    489
    106
    23
    25
See reviews for
408
770
95
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My sister and I wanted a quick getaway to Cayman for 5 days. We've both been to Cayman several times, and were familiar with many other properties on the island. After looking at the Ritz Carlton, The Westin, etc. we decided to take a chance on this property because the price was right and the reviews were all favorable. We were very happy with our choice!
The hotel is more of a very nice motel, with all rooms having direct outdoor access. There is no elevator on property so if you have difficulty with stairs, request a ground floor room. We stayed in room 126 which was closer to the back of the property. The room was very clean, with 2 queen beds. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were just OK. My sister has some neck trouble, and ended up buying a pillow at Cost-U-Less (Cayman's version of Costco, just around the corner from the property). There is a small efficiency kitchen which was great for having a fridge to store drinks. We did not use the kitchen to cook. If you are traveling as a family, it would be perfect to prepare lunches/breakfasts.
The hotel is located on a very good section of 7 Mile Beach, just across the road from the Westin, with beach access. It's an easy walk. Other sections of the beach have coral/rocks, but this section is cleaned out well. There's not much in the way of snorkeling here, but plenty of other places nearby. Also, if you want to try paddle boarding or other water sports, there are several rental places on either side of the beach. The property offers beach towels, beach chairs, and some umbrellas for guest use. There was only one day that all chairs were gone in the morning. The next day, a load of brand new chairs were available.
It's also has convenient access to the "new" highway that runs up the west section of the island. Renting a car is a must, unless you are here for a short weekend and plan on walking or taking taxis.
The breakfast "grab and go" was a very limited continental breakfast with cereal, yoghurt, OJ, coffee on offer. This could be improved vastly by offering hard boiled eggs, another juice option, toast, etc. We had breakfast once at the restaurant, which was fair - the lunch and dinner menu was much better.
We ate at the restaurant on our first night, which was good. Other restaurants we visited were:
Aqua, Papgallo, Calypso Grill, Eats Cafe, Westin's Beach Grill. I would recommend any of these restaurants - Cayman is chock full of excellent choices for eating out :) A couple of nights, we visited Caymana, which is a newish complex of restaurants, shops, and a cinema.
If you go - ask for a room on the first level. Stop by Cost-U-Less to stock up on bottled water for the beach, multi-pack yoghurts and snacks, and lunch items. Bring your own pillow if you are particular about pillows. Otherwise, enjoy your vacation, and feel good about saving money!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jewels1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoboken
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked a last minute trip to Grand Cayman. I looked at all the 7 mile resorts that had availability and they were going for $650 a night minimum. Someone had suggested that I try to get into the Sunshine Suites because for the lower cost hotels, it was pretty good. The place far exceeded my expectations. Everyone was so nice, the room was very clean. The hotel is not beach front, but it is just across the street. Some might find this annoying, but they have chairs for you to take and getting to the beach is as easy as can be. I found this resort to be much more manageable than normal beach front resorts who want to nickel and dime you. The restaurant on site was also fantastic. No pretentious people here either. Just a real good time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I could not fault the hotel - beach was over the road - room was a decent size and modern and clean - grounds were well kept (although the blowers used was v loud - when asked was this a daily occurance was told "no" and they would look into it - they were extraordinarily loud though as petrol driven motors) and maintained - pool was great and restaurant there served GREAT food and with no fuss or clamour - all staff were very profeessioanl and courteous - there is no doubt that will be back again - highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Was looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay and enjoy a relaxing beach vacation. This place provided exactly what I wanted. I had a 3rd floor room (I don't mind not having an elevator) away from the pool/restaurant area, and it was very quiet. I enjoyed having the kitchenette. The hotel and my room was kept very clean. Nice grounds too. Location was perfect. It was an easy, 5 minute walk to the beach. The grocery store was a 15 minute walk. There are excellent restaurants and cafes in easy walking distance. The onsite restaurant, Sunshine Grill, was great. I traveled solo and often had a couple beers and a meal at the bar. For those of you who need a beach view from a balcony to feel like you're on vacation, this might not be your spot. But to save a lot of money for an awesome place that's super close to the beach anyway? I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the 3rd floor. It was very quiet. No elevators though, so this may be difficult for some p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justs32849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davisual
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We love staying here and have been back several times. There isn't a better place to stay on Grand Cayman for my money. This great independent hotel beats the corporate ones by seven miles! It was really cool seeing Arnold Palmer at the hotel as he left Sunshine Grill after eating breakfast there and he was so very gracious talk to everyone and make photos. The staff is so helpful and kind. The restaurant is hard to beat. Love the new breakfast when you need a little something more substantial than their complimentary, Grab and Go continental style breakfast. Pretty, convenient to the beach, well manicured, clean, and fresh and by Cayman standards, VERY reasonably priced year round. They even have pet friendly rooms.

Room Tip: There are even pet friendly rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davisual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I spent one night at SS while in transit from Little Cayman to the US. The Hotel is located one block from the beach, about a $25 taxi ride from the airport. Our room was very spacious and included a kitchenette. We arrived early but were able to get into our room by 1PM even though checkin time wasn't until 3pm. The reception personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas are provided free on a first come first serve basis. The rate also includes a continental breakfast. This hotel is a very good value given its location and the amenities it provides. Also, it is one of the few hotels that do not require a minimum stay of three nights. We had a ground floor room that was susceptible to normal outside noises. Other than that SS is a very good place to stay and we would do so again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 869G_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Destinology and TravelUp so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing