We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family vacation location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This resort is excellent in all aspects. The room was adequate for our 2 elementary school children, my wife, and me. It had a kitchenette, which came in handy to store and cook food that we picked up from the Costco-like store a 7-minute walk away or the Foster's Food Market (like Wal-Mart or Target supermarket) a 14-minute walk away with groceries in hand. We did suggest a toaster oven would've been a nice addition to be able to cook pizzas or something of the like as the kitchenette had a refrigerator, sink, microwave, and stovetop but no oven. The complimentary grab n' go breakfast was really good with cereals, oatmeal, great coffee, orange juice, muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurt parfaits, bananas, and etc. The Sunshine Grill is #1 in Grand Cayman for restaurants for a reason. We had dinner 2 nights there out of our 6 nights. We wanted to try some others, but 6 of 6 would've been excellent as well. The pool was really nice and warm at night for the kids. The beach access across the road was also very convenient. The location of the hotel was top notch considering the food mentioned earlier and the beach being a 3-minute walk away. The resort allows guests to take beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas to be used at the beach. Service was also very good from everyone we interacted with! Next time we are in Grand Cayman, we'll call Sunshine Suites Resort our home for vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    489
    106
    23
    25
See reviews for
409
770
95
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

For for a family traveling to Cayman, we had the best time! The location was close to the beach with beach chairs available. The staff was so nice! When we left our room to check out, we had left a camera charger in the room and the cleaning staff came downstairs to hunt us down before leaving and bring us the charger (Who does that now?!) And so helpful for planning excursions.

The on site restaurant Grill had amazing food and we could have eaten there EVERY Day it was so good (jerk chicken egg rolls, fish tacos, burgers.. all fantastic!)! With a kitchen-ette in the room, it was easy to make simple meals in the room when we wanted to stay in.

Free WIFI that Worked!!

The grounds are beautiful with adirondack chairs and hammocks scattered in the yards. We could have easily just stayed on property and had a great vacation but there was so much to do within an easy walking distance.

Staying at the Sunshine Suites made out trip so ENJOYABLE!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, got our exercise but it was definitely quieter for sleeping in in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,249 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,501 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Grand Cayman Island has a reputation as a great family destination but also as being very expensive. While the first is absolutely true, the second can be mitigated while still having a great time by staying at the Sunshine Suites. The Hotel and grounds are very well maintained; the staff was outstanding and helped me make all the arrangements needed for a great time. There is an excellent, reasonably priced restaurant on site serving very good tacos and burgers and was one of the few very restaurants open on Christmas. While not on the beach, it is a very short walk away from a particularly good, less crowded section of Seven Mile Beach and the hotel provides complimentary use of beach towels and chairs. There is also a nice pool with chairs, tables, lounge chairs and a cabana with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the complex. The large suites are comfortable for a family of four and include a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, cook top, toaster and coffeemaker with the other basics needed to make and serve a meal which is not only convenient but a significant cost saving versus eating out for all meals. There is a Foster’s grocery store just a couple blocks south and even better, a Cost-U-Less a couple of blocks north (a warehouse store without a membership). If you get a lot of supplies, bottled water etc. and do not have a car, using the store’s cart to take the supplies back is no problem. The locals do this on a regular basis as did we without issue, one does not even need to return the cart; simply put it where it will be found and they will retrieve it. The strip mall in front of the Sunshine Suites has a package store where one can purchase beer, wine and spirits; the Eats Café which has an extensive menu serving breakfast, lunch and dinner at a reasonable cost when you do not want to eat in; and Captain Marvin’s main location offering snorkel and Stingray City tours (a must do). We found the complimentary breakfast was not substantial enough for the active day ahead so we complimented it with something we made or ate at the Sunshine Grill or Eats. Getting around the western side of the island is easy by simply waving down a bus along the main road out front; fares are 2.50 USD per person. To tour the entire island, the front desk arranged a 24hr rental car for us from Andy’s; rental for the small car, fuel and complimentary pick-up and drop-off was less than 100 USD. We had a great time and Grand Cayman turned out to be much more affordable than anticipated given its reputation. We strongly recommend the Sunshine Suites and its super staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The staff was very efficient upon our arrival. We had to email the resort from Miami to let them know we had been delayed in Miami due to airline issues. They responded immediately to my email and told me what we should do if we arrived after 10pm. All during our stay we were very well taken care of. The resort would have been better if it had been right on the beach, and that would be the only reason we might not stay there in the future. They did have beach chairs for you carry across the street and sit in on the beach, but there was only a small portion of the beach you could sit on due to the two large resorts on either side which had their own private beaches (and this was monitored very closely). All in all we enjoyed ourselves at this resort and it fit our needs due to the short time we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We just had a fabulous stay at the Sunshine Suites. The staff was very friendly and helpful changing our reservation due to snow. It's across the street from a beautiful stretch of beach. You can snorkel right in front of the governor's house. The food at the Grill was awesome. The free breakfast was perfect. Rooms were clean and spacious. The grounds were immaculate. Make sure to drink a Mudslide !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyH1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed 2 weeks at the Sunshine Suites. The location could not be better, across the street from 7 Mile Beach, between the Westin & the Ritz Carlton and 10-15 minutes walk to a grocery store, Foster's IGA. It is a quiet location with impeccable grounds very well maintained with a lot of shade to rest. We had a one bedroom suite.It was very clean and we had a kitchen, which saves money on restaurants. However there is a casual restaurant right on the premises, The Sunshine Grill ,which offers very good food at a reasonable price. The staff members are extremely friendly and helpful. They also lend beach chairs and towels for the beach. There is a complementary continental breakfast offered every morning. We used the public transit system, which is very efficient: minivans drive by on the main road very often, you get on and just let the driver know where you want to get off. You pay $2 Cayman dollars or $2.50US. The resort is great, the beach is unbelievable and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The top floor away from the restaurant and pool is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinetteandMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The Sunshine Suites is located one block back from a walkway to the center of the 6.5 SMB Seven Mile Beach. It is near two major name Hotels. This place has a putting-green like- grass area that you can sit on with lawn chairs. There are hammocks too. There is a pool. There is a casual restaurant that many people highly recommend. The room was bright and big enough with a table to eat, microwave, cooker/range, sink,refrig./freezer, ice- also ice machine near pool. Recycling bins outside. Large, open, cold breakfast daily available. Welcome cold water. Safe at main office. Extremely courteous staff. Discount list on various island places at office. Pillows really comfortable. Mattress too soft even though i hate too hard a mattress - Goldilocks syndrome. Wished for in-room number code safe on a beach trip--but this place really has everything else. It is casual not haughty, and also was quiet which was nice. There are many shops 10 min away including two major grocery stores. Staying here made it possible to book direct air and comfort seats by saving on the hotel portion--and our former Cayman stay oceanfront suites now has a mega-construction project next to it and that os not the type of surprise that you want let alone for top dollar. So, a few compromises here--but depending on the type of trip you want-- could be well worth the trade-off. This place is virtually everything else except/BUT the oceanfront room, jacuzzi, room-safe, spa on site, shop on site, and snob atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MINNESN0WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,855 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing