We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel - Anywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a great hotel. Location is very good, just yards from the beach.
Price is exceptional, the hotels like the westin that are ON the beach are at least 2-3 times more expensive, that is a very big premium to pay.
The rooms are very nice and come with microwaves and a proper fridge freezer you can store your own food in. I HATE those hotels with a minibar that actually weighs the stuff so you can't put your own things in it!
Aircon works, properly, which is pretty good in the caribbean.

Saved the best to last...
The front Desk ladies are awesome, they are the nicest friendliest front desk staff you will ever meet anywhere, they go out of the way to be helpful and friendly at all times.

BAD THINGS
To be honest the only issue is that the hotel is 50 yards from the beach rather than on the beach. If you are very rich and can't be bothered to walk 50 yards then this may not be the hotel for you?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cptkremmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Oh gosh - just a small motel room with no bells and whistles. The single Queen was jammed against the wall - only one night table instead of the standard two - the clothing drawers smelled grotesquely - the kitchen utensils were not appetizing to use and did not inspire us to eat there - the bath sink stopper was jammed and could not hold water and had to be repaired - the faucets filter was dirty - it only dribbled water and had to be replaced - the toilet had arthritis and some of its stomach underwent surgery. Now why wouldn't Quality Control check rooms prior to Guests arrival ????? The checking in area was extremely small - no candy bars,chewing gum,chips or magazines - just a ready hand to get payment in full unlike the Marriott which never deduct your fees until the last day of your stay! The grab and go was well named because their wasn't much to grab and this made the going easy.There is a superb restaurant in the same strip mall called "Eats" - do not miss this -tremendous food, reasonable prices and owned by a Canadian lady. We found the maintenance men to be helpful and courteous - but with one exception the clerks at the front desk were hardly cheerful ambassadors. The grounds were impeccable and the pool atmosphere was indeed very soothing.On our first night my wife woke up screaming - she had a two inch worm crawling on her chest - we took it to the front desk
. In conclusion - have you ever heard of housekeeping units without Salt or Pepper shakers - I kid you not- I went to the front desk for these essential supplies because they were not in my room and they told me they have a no Salt or Pepper shaker policy ( bear in mind I did not ask for caviar and champagne) - I said " don't you find that odd" -she stared at me as if I was odd. On the positive side it is still hard to beat the Grand Cayman Island. Norm

Room Tip: -the Ist floors are tiled but the others are carpeted and easier on the feet in our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shawnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Like others..pretty positive. It was my wife's birthday, called ahead and they left a nice note with a complimentary mini-rum cake. Walk is short to the beach. Chairs always available. Rooms are pretty clean. A little light on the silverware/glasses, etc. a/c did fine and beach towels were available daily. Front office staff was always nice and helpful on my multiple visits to ask them questions. Free use of local gym a little misleading...world gym is a 2 mile walk..but who wants to go to the gym anyway when you are in vacation. Morning breakfast was sufficient..just having an endless supply of hot, fresh coffee was great. Nice place to eat called eats cafe about 200 yards away. Grounds are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCV602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the office staff were very helpful with all our needs, and the food by the pool was as good as any on the island and affordable. We are looking forward to a return trip as soon as we can.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I got here on my birthday. As soon as we checked in the Front desk send me Rum Cake to my Room. Excellent staff. Also, Front Desk made me and my wife reservations at Ortanique Restaurant, where they told them to set us a special table to celebrate my birthday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleyberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I went to Cayman for a wedding and stayed at the Sunshine Suites resort from May 1st to May 5th. The hotel was bright yellow and the front desk individuals were welcoming. The hotel was aesthetically pleasing and the beach is a two minute walk from the hotel. There was a kitchen in the room that included a stove, pots, and pans, so that was nice. The beds were very comfortable, the pool was awesome, but closed too early. It was nice to have such a great restaurant the Sunshine Grill on site. The food was phenomenal and the service provided by the wait and bar staff was amazing. At the end of your meal you get a mini ice cream cone. The night I had dinner there they served maple ice cream. The best part of the stay was the wonderful service received by the front desk representative ( they were all wonderful) Bianca. My mom and I came in on Saturday looking for tours and/or spas opened on Sunday. This was no easy request. Bianca recommended several places, but we kept getting a no were closed. She didn't give up she kept calling around and got us in for facials at the Le Met spa at the Marriott and a reservation for Alfresco. For Saturday she pointed us in the right direction for shopping and recommended the Greenhouse a great local healthy spot for lunch. Overall, my family really enjoyed the stay, plus it was the most affordable on the island! The only thing I would suggest is boosting up the grab and go breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank justinej85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved this place, if your trying to keep to a budget but still want a nice room this is the place. We have almost a full kitchen to keep food costs down but we did enjoy the great food at sunshine grill. The hotel is across the street from the beach and they provide you with free beach chairs and towels. That was such a nice touch we didn't expect. We took our beach chairs all over the island with us. Staff was very helpful. They helped us plan a few day trips and where willing to organize transportation. The room was clean and the perfect size.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unhappycamper526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,391 reviews
1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
557 reviews
18.7 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £211 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing