We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunshine Suites Resort
Nearby Hotels
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$461
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$433
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas of the Galleon(Seven Mile Beach)
US$498
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$1,120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$954
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa(Seven Mile Beach)
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$523
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$637
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,060
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,889)
Filter reviews
1,890 results
Traveller rating
1,160
558
121
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
558
121
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillacross the streetbeach chairsfish tacosyogurtgrand caymanwestin hotelcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggssmall kitchenliquor storestove topsister propertyminute walkon site restaurantfull size fridgestrip mall
Filter
Updating list...
817 - 822 of 1,890 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Overall this is a great place to stay. Not fancy, but everything is very clean and the people are great. If you need anything, they are more than willing to accommodate you. Just ask politely. Continental breakfast was good too.

We thought the walk to the beach was a little far and a pain in the butt carrying bags, towels, and lawn chairs. Also there are no umbrellas. If we stay here again we would definitely buy one. We did take the car to Governor's beach and it was wonderful. Very short drive, able to park in the shade and right on the beach.

Really enjoyed the restaurant, the food was great and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ground floor is easy with bags, etc.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargoSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked a last minute, high-season trip to Grand Cayman in late Feb/early March. I don't know how we were lucky enough to get a room at Sunshine Suites, but we did and we couldn't have been happier. The hotel is boutique style and is an excellent value in pricey Grand Cayman. Yes, you do walk across the street to go to the beach and no, you do not have a view of the ocean. However, with a 5 minute walk, you can have the best view of all...the one from your chair with your toes in the sand! We have traveled quite a bit and this isn't a 5 star, luxury resort that takes your breath away. However, it doesn't market itself as such as for what this hotel is, it is definitely 5 stars in its category. Our room was small and basic, but It was incredibly clean and the grounds were well manicured. This small resort allowed us to enjoy an unexpected trip without breaking the bank. For a family, I believe they have larger rooms that would likely better suit the needs of more people. We had one queen bed and a small (but adequate for our needs) kitchenette. The beach in front of the resort is fantastic and the chairs they provide work well. Sunshine Grill is an added bonus! I cannot speak to the pool, as we never used it, but it seemed very nice and basic when we walked through that area. We will visit Sunshine Suites again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Restaurant: Banging! Best food ever. The sunshine scramble (a side of fries that includes sweet potato, regular potato, fried onions, and fried mushrooms) is the stuff of Gods. Everything we ate was delicious!
Free continental breakfast: Yak! Bleh! Gross. Not worth eating. It consisted of store bought boring pastries that taste like cardboard + yogurt, bananas that were rotten, and juice/tea. Fortunately, the restaurant was amazing so we ate breakfast there.
The pool is nice - not crowded like the pool at the Westin or other resorts.
The rooms are nice. Having a microwave, toaster, fridge, etc.is nice for travelling as a family.
We had a baby and they provided a crib. It worked perfectly.

The front-desk staff were so helpful. We bombarded them with questions every day and they booked all of our extracurricular activities for us and gave us advice.

There are jogging paths around the golf course across the street if you need to run.
You can walk to the beach in 1 minute - its across the street through the westin.

Overall, no complaints. And, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rugertemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not only is this hotel extremely affordable, but they don't seem to cut corners to provide guests with stellar service and comfort.

Our room was large and very clean. I loved the room layout, with the bed at one end of the room, a small living space at the other and the kitchen inbetween. If my husband wanted to take a nap I could always sit in the other living area and watch TV without bothering him.

The hotel staff were very cheerful and accommodating. They even brought a rum cake by our room as a welcome gift after we checked in. Never got any attitude, only smiles and welcomes throughout our whole stay.

The location is fantastic. The beach is only 3 minutes walk away, and they provide towels and beach chairs for you to use. The hotel grounds are well kept, and I appreciated the free breakfast they provided each morning.

I would definitely stay here again, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the Sunshine Grill. It was a bit noisy so I'd ask for a different room next time.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meribon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

An excellent value boutique-type hotel located a short 5 minute walk across the street from beautiful Seven Mile Beach. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are going to the SMB area for your stay on Grand Cayman and are looking for an excellent, economically priced place to stay. I stayed here for 6 nights and did a dive combo package (my room accommodation plus 6 days of 2-tank morning dives with Diver's Down dive shop...see review for them if interested in more on diving). I had a deluxe room with two queen-sized beds. It included a full mini kitchen with microwave, toaster, coffee maker, full sized fridge with freezer, 2-burner stove top, small sink with dish soap and towels, and all necessary dishes for eating and cooking. My room was in was nicely decorated, everything was in tip-top condition, and was kept very clean throughout my stay. There was a flat screen TV, clock radio, and free wifi throughout the property. Mini shampoo, conditioner, body wash and soap was kept well stocked over the week; there is also a hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. The hotel also provided you with a beach towel which you can exchange daily for a clean one at reception. Probably one of the best beds I have ever slept in. The grounds were kept immaculate. Accommodations include a complimentary cold continental breakfast ((hard boiled eggs, several cold cereals, instant oatmeal, fresh bananas and oranges, a variety of pastries, coffee, tea, milk and juice). There is a restaurant onsite (Sunshine Grill) that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is located about half way down the SMB strip, and it was only a short 4-5 minute walk from my room to the beach; the hotel provides beach chairs (that also fold down flat!) which you can pick up to take to the beach each day, they have backpack straps so you can easily carry it on your back, and also have a convenient zipper pocket and small zipper cooler built into the back of the chair. There is a small pool with lounge chairs located in front of Sunshine Grill (behind the main check-in building). The property runs perpendicular to SMB between West Bay Road and a small highway. It consists of two long two-story buildings with rooms, a central main check-in building, the Sunshine Grill, and another small building where the included breakfast buffet is served. All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

There is a strip mall located beside Sunshine out on West Bay Rd which has a liquor store, a souvenir and excursion booking business, a yummy frozen yogurt shop, several economically priced restaurants (one of which is also a sports bar), and a few other businesses. There is also a Scotia Bank with an ATM located in the building just after this strip mall on the north side.

If I return to Grand Cayman in the future, I will definitely be returning to Sunshine Suites...excellent hotel conditions, excellent price for this area, good location (just across street from Seven Mile Beach, only 5 min walk), excellent staff. I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to this area.

Room Tip: I had room 206, 2nd floor with outside access on a shared balcony in the building closest to the beach, no problems with noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaulaG-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews