We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glenwood Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We chose Sunshine Suites based on the excellent reviews and price, and we were not disappointed. Every staff member we encountered acted like they loved their job and were thrilled to help us. They cheerfully answered every question we had, from what time to call a cab for the airport to good restaurant recommendations.

The room was what you'd expect for a reasonably priced hotel. Nothing over the top but just about everything we needed. The kitchenette is nice for preparing your own meals or just keeping a few snacks and drinks close at hand. It included a few basic dishes and utensils. The room was clean and well-maintained. At one point our AC stopped working and a repairman had it fixed within an hour. The room was very quiet despite being near one of the main roads. My only suggestion would be to have more hooks in the bathroom or more hangers in the closet. We quickly ran out of places to hang our swimsuits and towels after visiting the beach, and things take a long time to dry. We were on the ground floor so did not have a railing, which many guests used to hang towels to dry.

The grounds are beautifully maintained with Adirondack chairs and hammocks available for relaxing. The pool is small but a nice place to hang out and enjoy drinks from the restaurant next to it. The restaurant was great and we ate there several times. Many people not staying at the hotel also eat there, and we were even referred there by a local who didn't know we were guests at the hotel. The free breakfast is decent. It was pretty much the same thing every one of the 5 days we stayed but really can't complain as it was free.

The resort is a quick walk from the beach. Chairs and small beach towels are provided to take with you. There are a handful of shops and restaurants within walking distance, but once you've tried all those places, be prepared to take a cab, bus or rent a car to get anywhere else.

We did not bring kids but the resort is very family-friendly. Overall a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B00kMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    517
    112
    24
    25
See reviews for
435
806
98
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights at the sunshine suites. It was a great price for the Cayman Islands...the restaurant--sunshine grill was excellent!!! Couldn't stop ordering food--loved the fish tacos!!

Pros:
-Friendly staff
-Clean rooms
-Relaxing landscape with hammocks and chairs
-free basic breakfast

Cons:
-no view of ocean
-you have to walk to the beach (however they give you free chairs and towels but you will need an umbrella!!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There's nothing finer than staying at this small boutique hotel along the best beach in the universe! The staff bends over backwards to make sure your stay is the ultimate experience in Cayman. They are extremely hospitable and each employee greets you with a smile. Special kudos go to Darren, the Food & Beverage Manager. He made my husband's birthday the best ever with his special birthday table touches. Every employee, from check in, housekeeping, restaurant (the food is the BEST at Sunshine Grill), pool, to Paco the Cat, made our stay a real gem. We'll be back. If you're planning a trip to Grand Cayman, this special hotel should be #1 on your list. Beautiful 7-Mile Beach is across the street, chairs and towels are provided every day for a slice of heaven. The grounds are manicured and immaculate, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the entire Sunshine Suite experience is one not to be missed! Great for couples and families with children, the pool is awesome! Oh, did we mention the Sunshine Grill? We'll be back, that's for sure! Thank you, Sunshine Suites, you made us happy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As usual for a hotel with this many previous reviews, the average is just about right. Pleasant, very clean, but not going to impress anybody looking for a five-star experience. Room is about the size of your average motel room (comfort inn, holiday inn, etc.) with a very small kitchenette stuck in where we usually expect the little counter/sink to be just outside the bathroom. There is a nearly full-size refrigerator, a small sink, and a two burner stove top, no oven, but there is a microwave. A kitchen table of some sort would have been a real godsend, because there's really no place to put your food or to sit down and eat except the small desk, and the only chairs are two regular straight back desk type chairs, but then there's really no room for more. The air-conditioners are the "through the wall" types, and the one in our room leaked onto the carpet and made a wet spot we had to be careful about stepping in. We would've liked to try the sunshine grill, but we didn't get a chance as it's really too small a place for the size of the property and its evident popularity, and there was a long wait to get a table, and it was just a lot easier to eat in the room or go to one of the other nearby eateries (there's a large, modern grocery store just a couple blocks away). All in all, good value, but nothing really special.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more wrestling suitcases and grocery bags up steps you have to do, since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife and 5yr old son the week of June 08- 15th. Hotel is very clean and just across the street from beautiful seven mile beach. The rooms have a small kitchen and have carpet and all was absolutely spotless we had no problems with towels or bedding. The sunshine suites do a great job of keeping this hotel very clean. AC could have been better but each room has a ceiling fan that helps on humid nights. There is a small mini mart plus liquor store and a frozen yogurt place right at corner 2 mins from Sunshine suites also there is Cost-u-less supermarket about a 5-10 mins walk from hotel great for stocking up on basic needs ..juice, water, eggs etc .... they have everything you could possibly need Cayman is an expensive island so we bought some eggs and bacon from Cost u less to make breakfast in mornings the room was equiped with utensils but we brought a small frying pan with us. The hotel is right across the street from the westin resort and we have beach access right beside the Westin not far or difficult to get to at all. Crossing the street was not an issue cars stop for you to cross most of the time if not always. Sunshine suites was all that we were expecting and more we have no complaints and we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for six nights and was impressed with the well kept surroundings and comfortable rooms. Quiet and well located on the road across from seven mile beach. Nice to have the beach chairs available and the beach is spectacular. Had an excellent snorkel reef with a good variety of species. Not a hotel issue but unfortunately people feed the reef fish and they can be a nuisance and my wife had a number of fish bites. The hotel staff were very friendly, professional and helpful with arranging activities. The room was clean and cooking facilities were well maintained. The full sized refrigerator was a bonus. In room safes would be a great addition.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back of the property adds a fair amount of distance to walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequent-Traveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sunshine Suites with a friend for a dive weekend in early June. The room was large, clean and had a full size fridge which was useful. The bed was comfortable. The room, however, was in need of updating as the room feels a little tired.

The weather when we were there was very rainy (no fault of the hotel); but there is absolutely nothing to do at the Sunshine Suites if the weather doesn't cooperate. I was also surprised that they didn't have any loaner umbrellas at the front desk.

While the hotel is well situated, I would definitely opt for beachfront next time. It's true that the Suites are right across the street from the beach but I underestimated how much of a difference it makes to be on the water -- even at a slightly higher price.

The pool at the Suites is disappointing. While well maintained, it is small and unimpressive. Seating is limited; however, because the weather was particularly stormy, it wasn't overly crowded.

Staff, as noted in prior reviews, was helpful and courteous. The restaurant on site still serves the best fish tacos on the island. The self-serve breakfast was very good for a pre-dive fuel up.

Overall the hotel was fine. It was clean, the rooms were large and the staff was nice. However, the lack of beach, unimpressive pool and need of updating mean that I would be unlikely to stay here again (although I will surely go back to the restaurant).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereItsWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
313 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing