We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Fault it ... actually I can...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
sao paolo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Can't Fault it ... actually I can...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's a near faultless place. The only problem was my CV wasn't icy cool but actually that didn't really bother me as I tend to turn it off anyway. It gives me a cold.

The onsite restaurant is very, very good - turn up early. Even the slightly rubbish free breakfast is nice because there's lot of coffee and you don't have to wait for a waiter. The rooms are BIG. If I had a flat this size in a major world city I would be happy.

You're not on the beach but you're close enough not to notice. And it's great value compared to the other insanely expensive places on the island.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    514
    111
    24
    25
See reviews for
431
803
97
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Sunshine Suites Resort and was not disappointed- the staff was extremely friendly, our room was very clean and they have a great grill located on site. As soon as my friend and I arrived by noon, our room was already ready - waiting until 3pm for check-in. The rooms are quite spacious- along with our suitcases we also had our scuba equipment. They even have a fresh water tank to rinse your dive equipment. The free WiFi was quite reliable - it didn't drop at all. The resort is literally across the street from the beach and they provide you with complimentary towels and beach chairs- you can even refresh your beach towels as many times as you want which was nice. The resort is only a short 15min cab ride from the airport and is centrally located. My friend and I either walked or took the bus to wherever we wanted to go. Best part is they have a complimentary hospitality shower to use after you check out if you want to go to the beach before your departure flight. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the Sunshine Suites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It is hard to tell something new after >1000 of reviews. but here are my 2 cents.
Noise is not really a problem. Yes, Sunshine has motel layout with doors facing outside, but the building is concrete, so I could not tell if there were any neighbors at all. My room was at the noisiest area, closest to highway and canteen shack, but the only noise which I heard was from rare bikers. Ask for a room in western building, it is more quiet and closer to everything. Wi-Fi was probably upgraded, at my place (most distant from the reception) it was quite stable (ping to Speedtest about 100ms, 3-4Mb DL/1-2 Mb UL).
All other good things said about this hotel are all true. Seven miles beach is accessible to public all along it's 7 miles, but only within 6 m from the water, so if you do not want to mess with Westin equipment and people, go 70-100m to the north where public area is wide and quiet.
Room air conditioner is slightly noisy bur VERY powerful. The kitchen is well equipped, just take a good knife with you, they have 3-4 serrated steak knives and a couple of plastic food containers.

Room Tip: Western block, away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MorseIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We chose the Sunshine Suites based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. It was just what we expected. All of the front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We arrived early around 11:00 a.m. and our room was ready so we were able to check in early. There are plenty of beach chairs to take to the beach. No need to worry about not getting one. The beach is right across the street. Very convenient. There is a beer/liquor store right on the corner at the hotel, which is very convenient. We also walked to Fosters IGA, which was down the street, and picked up groceries. The only thing that you should watch out for is if the maid comes by to clean your room and you do not leave and let her in at that time, she does not come back later. We found this out on our first day there. So, when the maids come by, be sure to leave and let them clean your room at that time. I highly recommend this hotel. You cannot beat the price and the location. It is very charming.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. There are no elevators, so if you have problems walking the stairs, you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We chose Sunshine Suites based on the excellent reviews and price, and we were not disappointed. Every staff member we encountered acted like they loved their job and were thrilled to help us. They cheerfully answered every question we had, from what time to call a cab for the airport to good restaurant recommendations.

The room was what you'd expect for a reasonably priced hotel. Nothing over the top but just about everything we needed. The kitchenette is nice for preparing your own meals or just keeping a few snacks and drinks close at hand. It included a few basic dishes and utensils. The room was clean and well-maintained. At one point our AC stopped working and a repairman had it fixed within an hour. The room was very quiet despite being near one of the main roads. My only suggestion would be to have more hooks in the bathroom or more hangers in the closet. We quickly ran out of places to hang our swimsuits and towels after visiting the beach, and things take a long time to dry. We were on the ground floor so did not have a railing, which many guests used to hang towels to dry.

The grounds are beautifully maintained with Adirondack chairs and hammocks available for relaxing. The pool is small but a nice place to hang out and enjoy drinks from the restaurant next to it. The restaurant was great and we ate there several times. Many people not staying at the hotel also eat there, and we were even referred there by a local who didn't know we were guests at the hotel. The free breakfast is decent. It was pretty much the same thing every one of the 5 days we stayed but really can't complain as it was free.

The resort is a quick walk from the beach. Chairs and small beach towels are provided to take with you. There are a handful of shops and restaurants within walking distance, but once you've tried all those places, be prepared to take a cab, bus or rent a car to get anywhere else.

We did not bring kids but the resort is very family-friendly. Overall a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B00kMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights at the sunshine suites. It was a great price for the Cayman Islands...the restaurant--sunshine grill was excellent!!! Couldn't stop ordering food--loved the fish tacos!!

Pros:
-Friendly staff
-Clean rooms
-Relaxing landscape with hammocks and chairs
-free basic breakfast

Cons:
-no view of ocean
-you have to walk to the beach (however they give you free chairs and towels but you will need an umbrella!!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There's nothing finer than staying at this small boutique hotel along the best beach in the universe! The staff bends over backwards to make sure your stay is the ultimate experience in Cayman. They are extremely hospitable and each employee greets you with a smile. Special kudos go to Darren, the Food & Beverage Manager. He made my husband's birthday the best ever with his special birthday table touches. Every employee, from check in, housekeeping, restaurant (the food is the BEST at Sunshine Grill), pool, to Paco the Cat, made our stay a real gem. We'll be back. If you're planning a trip to Grand Cayman, this special hotel should be #1 on your list. Beautiful 7-Mile Beach is across the street, chairs and towels are provided every day for a slice of heaven. The grounds are manicured and immaculate, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the entire Sunshine Suite experience is one not to be missed! Great for couples and families with children, the pool is awesome! Oh, did we mention the Sunshine Grill? We'll be back, that's for sure! Thank you, Sunshine Suites, you made us happy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing