We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great place to stay for family and couples, two minutes walk to the seven mile beach.
Free continental breakfast,(can be improve, more varieties) free wifi from room and outside, and free beach chair and umbrella.

Great staff!! house keeping, receptionist, bar grills and Paco the cat. The place is very clean.

Definitely recommended!!! Staff from the sunshine grill, she is from Romania,
We called her Miss Romania :) smart and cheeky very girl!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoktar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    512
    111
    24
    25
See reviews for
430
802
97
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

For the price - it is excellent! Clean grounds and rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is right across the street from the beach between the Westin and Ritz but a third (if not quarter) the price. Not sure why anyone would pay their prices unless you just have money to blow. They have a free grab and go breakfast, and rooms have kitchenettes! What more do you need?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dpp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place is situated close to the beach & local shops. Very affordable & it has a kitchenette, so you can actually go buy some food & save money. The room was always clean &they even do the dishes for you. Best bang for your bucks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toula Moua E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I got a good deal for this hotel thru Jetblue Vacation Getaways. Although the hotel is not on beachfront property, the proximity is close enough (5 min walk). When we looked into the the hotels on the beach, the price difference was substantial and not really worth it. Grand Cayman in itself is pricey, so anywhere you can save a few dollars is a good thing. The onsite restaurant, Sunshine Grill, has delicious food as well as, according to locals, some of the best burgers on the island. I had the Angus sliders and I have to agree. My fiancé had the fish tacos and loved them. The front desk staff was quite knowledgeable and always directed us towards good restaurants and where we could get good deals. They will also contact any local business to set up tours and reservations. Thank you to Renoir, Jenna, and Shawna Kay and everyone else for helping us during our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My dad (age 72) and I stayed there for a week in July. After researching many hotels, we decided on the Sunshine Suites Resort. While it is not the Ritz or the Westin, it is a nice, clean, comfortable and very affordable hotel. Very family friendly. Respectful and friendly staff. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. If you want beach front, don't stay here. However, if you can walk a couple hundred yards, the beach is right there.

Room Tip: There are 3 floors and no elevator, so if you are an older traveler or have someone in your group wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blameitonstthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one week while attending a conference at another hotel. I chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Even though there are over a thousand reviews on here, here's my version. Most of the good things said about this hotel are true.
PROS: Clean and spacious rooms
Good mattresses and towels
Polite and friendly staff
Excellent wi-fi connection
The continental breakfast was better than at most places, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits (bananas & oranges), cold and hot cereals, pastries, excellent coffee. The walk to the beach across the street not a big deal.
CONS: They do not provide you with an ice bucket for the room, the ice machine is locked 24/7, you have to buy ice (about $3.60/bag).
The bed sheets were not changed until day six of the seven day stay, and that was probably because it was a different housekeeper.
As to the island itself, beach is very nice indeed, people are friendly, everything is extremely overpriced, good place if you like to go to bed early every night, there is NOTHING to do at night, no good bars, no casinos, nothing.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room in the western building, far from the highway noise, closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWoodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For the price difference of other hotels in the area it is worth it. The front staff was extremely nice and helpful. The wifi was strong and everything was clean and well taken care of. I was extremely happy with our room. There were a few things that really could improve such as the hotel restaurant allowing take out for hotel guests. It is so busy and they do not allow take out when they are busy. I didn't feel safe walking past the group of guys hanging out behind the liquor store by myself (they made lude comments the one time I did)so that was very inconvenient. The one time I went for ice cream the machine was broken and when I asked for ice I was told they didn't have enough. Also, the cleaning personnel showed up at our door within 5 minutes of us returning 2 days in a row and then asked if we wanted them to come back even though we were gone from 7 am to 2 -3pm, the one time I asked just for some towels she said "OK then you are taking the service" and had me sign something.... another time I was in the middle of getting undressed and told her that and she still pushed the clipboard through the door and wanted me to sign refusing the service...odd stuff but we did manage to get the room cleaned once during our stay. After a while we just left the do not disturb sign in the door at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovemymares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing