We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Service Oriented”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My family booked for ten days there. I was not happy at all .The receptionist wasnt that friendly and made a big
mistake with the rate. She was so arrogant that i wanted to fight with her. My husband who always travel made a mistake for booking us to this hotel. I told the receptionist that it was our big mistake for paying in advance 10 days n she charged us additional taxes for other taxes. The General Manager was kind and nice enough to apologize for the behaviour of his staff!!She was not efficient and not service oriented at all.

Stayed: June 2008
4  Thank MissTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

The room was great, the room had everything we needed. When we arrived at the front desk the receptionist was very nice .the beach was right there and there was alot to do around the hotel. We would come back here again. Thank You!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aeboi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

I booked my room directly through the hotel and they were not all that friendly. My room smelled like smoke when I checked in.I have stayed in worse hotels all my life without people being rude to me.

People were running all night. I call the front and it finally stopped about 2 hours later. I had 2 call 2 times. The first time no one answered.

No alarm clock in my room and I was told they were out but would get me one out of another room the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank V6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This was our first trip to Grand Cayman, and we spent a short three night break here at the Sunshine Suites.

As we arrived on a late flight, the reception was closed when we arrived, but the security guard was there and was waiting to show us to our room. The next morning we officially checked in and the reception staff were very friendly and efficient.

The hotel room was extremely clean and looked like it had been recently redecorated. We had a room on the ground floor which was great (3 floors and no lifts!) and we were not troubled by any noise from anyone throughout our stay. The rooms have a small kitchen area if you want to eat in too.

The pool area is quite small - we didn't actually use it as were busy doing other things, and there was hardly anyone else using it either so I think it woudn't be a problem to get a lounger. The gardens are lovely and well kept and there was a hammock in the grounds just by our room.

The breakfast was good, usual basics of fruit, cereal, a couple of hot dishes, breads, cakes etc. We also ate one lunch at the hotel which was very good, and reasonable compared to other restaurants, the food was good (in fact they have won awards for their fish tacos) and excellent service - we were looking at a map of the island and one of the waitresses helped point out places to go (including other restaurants to try!)

Having read previous trip advisor comments prior to booking, I was aware that this hotel is not on the beach. This was not a major concern for us as its just a short walk over the road, but if you are expecting a room with ocean views then this isn't the hotel for you. I think it was excellent value for the standard of hotel and will stay there again when we return to the island.

Aside from the hotel, we found that the island is quite an expensive place for eating out etc, but the standards are generally very high. We went to a very good restaurant called The Grand Old House which is just outside Georgetown set on the waterfront - excellent food, drink, service & atmosphere but a meal for two set us back US$250.
I would also recommend that you take a trip to Stingray City to see the rays there, and also to spend some time snorkelling on the reef - a really fun half day for all ages and no experience required!

Finally, car hire is cheap and its very safe and easy to drive round the island - just be careful of the iguanas crossing the roads!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Our flight was cancelled so the airlines put us up in this hotel for the night. The place is very cute and clean. The food is very good, especially the fish tacos. It is a few minutes walk to the beach across the highway and there is no view, but otherwise it was great. The office staff is very nice and helpful. If you are on a tight budget it is a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wholehealth4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We have been recommending Sunshine Suites Resort to everyone! The resort was ideally located, had great access to the beach and water sports, excellent service, clean well- furnished rooms,and delicious fresh baked blueberry muffins with breakfast! We will return.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank pomierski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

As a resident on the island, we were familiar with Sunshine Suites - especially their famously good burgers. We were in transition from one home to another and needed a place to stay in the interim and Sunshine proved to be ideal. The suite is fully equipped and comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, the staff efficient and friendly, and the restaurant offers delicious, top quality food. Now that we've stayed there (for 20 perfect days), it is without hesitation that we can recommend Sunshine Suites to all - best overall value in Cayman!

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank GrandCaymanIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,688 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £179 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing