We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, just across street from the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, just across street from the beach.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We haven't been to GCM for 6 years and decided it was time. We are avid snorkelers so although being on the water is always nice, it's usually dark when we're in the room anyway. 7 Mile beach is right across the street. We took advantage of the "grab and go" breakfast 6 of 8 mornings. It's convenient and free! The Sunshine Grill, a restaurant onsite has the best shrimp or fish tacos I've ever had! Our room was clean but a little small. It had all the extras we needed (a full size refrigerator and a coffee maker). The grounds are perfectly manicured and the staff is very friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    517
    112
    24
    25
See reviews for
435
806
98
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NewJersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked this vacation 1 week before we left and this is exactly what we were hoping it would be. The hotel itself is well kept, clean and near the beach. I was traveling with my 2 daughters and one has severe food allergies so the kitchen in the room was a big draw. The kitchen itself was equipped with the basics which worked well for us. We walked to the grocery store and stocked up on water and snacks. I've read the reviews that there is no ice maker at the hotel but it had ice cube trays and we just made ice. I didn't find it a problem at all. Check in was a breeze, everyone was so friendly and nice every time I stopped in. The room had 2 ceiling fans which really helped keep the room cool. I did have to call down 2 times. The first time was the evening of our arrival when we realized the sofa bed did not have sheets. The second time was when the smoke alarm was beeping for no reason. Someone was at our room both times within 5 minutes. Excellent response! There are plenty of beach chairs by the pool which you just pick up and take with you (nice touch). I saw one beach umbrella but it was gone the next morning. I would like to see more umbrellas as there is no shade at all on the beach and in August it's a bit much. The walk to the beach is short, about 5 minutes. It's not the most scenic walk as you go between the Westin hotel and another. I found myself going around the walk thru to the parking lot of the Westin because there was always an employee of the Westin smoking in the walk thru. Just a bit odd but still a short walk to get to a gorgeous beach.
The Sunrise grill was so good! We ate there at least once everyday. They accommodated my daughters allergy and the food was wonderful. I loved the fish & shrimp tacos and the shrimp quesadillas. We found if you have a late lunch or early dinner (around 3pm) there is no wait time otherwise for lunch and dinner there is always a 20-30 minute wait. We always had leftovers to have as a snack later. The grab and go free breakfast was fine. There was very good coffee, juice, cereal, baked goods, fruit and some days hard boiled eggs. I realize people have complained that they cut the muffins in half but I have no problem with that. Try it, if you like it take another half, it's better than wasting food. I made pancakes in the room for my daughter with things we purchased at the grocery store so it worked out well for all.
The pool was very nice and the water was warm (I loved it). There is a bus stop on the main road and we took it to Georgetown for $2.50 US per person. Very convenient. The free shuttle bus to the Turtle Farm stops by twice a day. They have free Wii-fi but it was out our first day and the password was changed mid week, but they did call at some point to let us know (i had already stopped in to reception). Most of the time I would say it worked very well.

All in all this was a very relaxing, beautiful vacation. I would definitely stay at the Sunshine Suites again!

Room Tip: We were in the building closest to the beach on the second floor. There is no elevator but I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful service, rooms were great, excellent location! The hotel is perfect for the casual traveler:) I highly recommend this place for anyone who wants a nice place to rest and be close to the beaches, restaurants and the airport!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I just spent the past 5 days here at the Sunshine Suites and it was absolutely wonderful. Check in was a breeze. Reception was fast and friendly. We stayed in room 309 (which was a suite). We had a full size refrigerator and freezer, microwave along with a 2 burner electric cooktop. The room was very clean and appeared to recently updated. The main office provided beach towels for us. If you wanted to take some beach chairs, they were plentiful and free to use as well. Wifi was free in the rooms, but was spotty during our stay. Housekeeping was good.
The Grill was terrific! The fish tacos are the best, but the red snapper sandwich is a close second. We ate her multiple times and the food and service were excellent! Michael was our bartender on multiple occasions and was very friendly and helpful.
The pool is small...but I'm not complaining. Walk across the street and you are at a beautiful beach! I would not hesitate to stay here the next time I visit the Caymans! It was better than I hoped it would be!!!

Room Tip: Our room did not have much of a view (309) but was very quiet. The restaurant closes early, so unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeshamokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Sunshine Suites are a very short walk away from the stunning Seven mile beach. There are beach chairs to borrow and sometimes you also get a parasol.
The rooms are clean and have enough space, the kitchnette has everything you need, if you want to cook on your own.
The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have spent many vacations at Sunshine Suites including Thanksgivings, we're talking around 15 years! Accommodations are clean and I consider spacious. There are 2 buildings with 3 floors. No elevator is the only downside but help is available to you if needed. A short walk to a beautiful beach with beach chairs provided and beach towels. The sunsets are gorgeous.The water is calm and clear. Kids can have fun in the pool before going to bed. If you don't want to rent a car, local tours will pick you up and the local bus runs every 15 minutes @ 2.50 US pp along 7 Mile. Sundays most stores are closed and the bus does not run so get your shopping done. The food at Sunshine Grille is reasonable and really good. I have my favorite (had the same thing 3 days out of 4) you can't go wrong and servings are plenty to fill you up. Complimentary Breakfast is set up now in a quiet open building with seating inside or out. Plenty of choices for kids and adults too. If you are looking for a "Pamper You to Death" place find somewhere else. If you like doing your "Own Thing" then try Sunshine Suites. I think you will return again and again as we do. The BIG PLUS is it is that we consider Grand Cayman a SAFE Island. Capt. Marvin Stingray City tours is in the little shopping strip nearby. They took us on a trip many years ago and it was so much fun. Nice Island with Great People!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara falls
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here. Great room with kitchen. I loved this place!!! Location is perfect. Just off seven mile beach which is breathtaking. So you have to walk across the road... Big deal.. Groceries are near by, a corner store within 3 min. Walk. $5 taxi rides up and down seven mile beach.. You must see the turtle farm. Cemetery beach is great for snorkeling we rented a car across the street, that was fun. You must do a stingray tour.. A MUST do.. The island is beautiful with a lot of hidden places to see. Don't bother with fine dinning $$$ or just be wise..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
312 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing