We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great time at a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

My family and I stayed at Sunshine Suites from 8/3- 8/10 had a great time, the staff was wonderful, the location outstanding. Can not wait to go back, would not stay anywhere else on the Island. Make sure to take a trip to Stringray City with Capt Dexter a really great time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 555666rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    489
    106
    23
    25
See reviews for
408
770
95
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

A perfect hotel for anyone who enjoys a casual, comfortable atmosphere for their vacation accommodations. The rooms are cheerful and comfortable, the poolside restaurant feels like Jimmy Buffet is going to walk in any minute, the food is delicious and reasonable, and the frontdesk staff is top-notch and so friendly and fun. It is within easy walking distance of the beach and some great places to get a bite...."Eats" diner, Soshi's Japanese, and the Westin's Ferdinand's Cafe just to name a few.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

As someone who has traveled to Grand Cayman on business almost a dozen times, I'm pleased to say that this is probably the best value you will find on this lovely island. Situated in the heart of Seven Mile Beach, the hotel is walking distance from a number of restaurants, including the high-end resort restaurants of the Westin and the Ritz Carlton. For the budget-minded, the hotels is just steps from "Eats" -- Cayman's own version of the 1950s diner. Great burgers. Each suite has its own kitchen if you prefer to eat in and the hotel staff is both helpful and friendly. For wishing to travel around Cayman or perhaps go down into George Town, bus service is available right outside the hotel. Given its location, you won't find a better value in Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgant84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed two weeks at this Hotel, and enjoyed it emensly. Staff was helpful and friendly. Exellent restaurant. Rooms very clean, could have had a little more maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilford_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

All the positive reviews that has been written about Sunshine Suites is true! From the moment we checked in, everything and everyone was completely accommodating and pleasant. Here is a summary of our stay:

Rooms/Accomodations: Extremely clean and comfortable. The kitchen is great especially if you are on a budget. We went grocery shopping and only spent money for dinners since continental breakfast (which includes hot eggs, sausage, potatoes) is included with the stay. The grounds at Sunshine Suites are well maintained and just simply beautiful. It is located across the street from the Westin and a short 3 minute walk to a beautiful beach. I was there mid Aug and the most crowded our little beach area got was maybe when there were 4-6 other people there. Most days there were only us and another woman…
Location: Hotel is about 15 minutes away from the airport. 10 minute walk to a shopping plaza which includes a huge supermarket called Fosters, a liquor store, Haagen Daas and a KFC. Across the street or 3 min walk to the beach, 35-40 minutes drive to Rum Point.
Food: We ate most of our dinners at the Sunshine Grill (it’s the restaurant of the hotel) mainly because it was convenient and the food was really good! Unlike traveling to Puerto Rico, DR or Jamaica, we didn’t find a lot of local type cuisine in the Cayman Islands. Seems that jerk chicken/pork are as pretty local as you can get. Lots of restaurants seem to offer “fine dining” which I’m sure can cost a lot more than what we were willing to pay. MUST TRY THE SNAPPER REUBEN! Fish tacos is the winning dish of this restaurant, and it is delicious but for me,the SNAPPER REUBEN is WAY better!
Activities/Excursion: STINGRAY CITY is great experience but make sure you book it with CAPTAIN DEXTER! Ok..here is the low down- most boats that take people on this excursion are packed with tourists. (approx 40-50 ppl on each boat) Captain Dexter has a fairly regular sized catamaran and he doesn’t take more than 20 people at a time. When I went, there were only 11 of us. This means that the tour allows for a much more personal experience. Captn Dexter and Simon (co capt) are so passionate and knowledgeable about the ocean, the sting rays and protecting the reefs. They took the time to talk about them, made sure everyone who wanted to, had the chance to feed the rays and even take a picture holding them. We didn’t have a waterproof camera and Capt Dexter asked if anyone had a camera on the boat so that he could take the rays a little closer to the boat so that we can take a picture. My friend and I took turns getting on and off the boat to take pictures of each other with the sting ray and he patiently waited. A local I met told me that the only person he will recommend is Captn Dexter as he really cares about giving the people a great experience while most companies are just in it to make money. After sting ray sandbar, he also takes you on a snorkeling trip. He offered us complimentary drinks during the ride as well as a Soca/Reggae CD as a souvenir. You wont regret it!
-We rented a car for a day and drove to Rum Point- personally, the beach near the hotel is much nicer and more secluded than Rum Point. Here, the lounge chairs are close together and I would imagine that it can get pretty busy. We went early in the morning and stayed for about an hour so it was still pretty empty. It’s a nice drive and a nice place to take a few pictures so if you have a car, take a ride.
-Snorkel @ Cemetery Beach! (long walk from hotel, 5 minutes drive)
CAR RENTAL: Driving here is fairly easy although it is on the LEFT side. We rented a car from Andy’s (they have a location near the hotel and airport) and we were able to request a steering wheel on the left side this way it wasn’t too confusing. Rentals were btwn 31-35 dollars U.S. for an economy car so totally worth getting even for just a day or two.
“ON A BUDGET” TIPS: -Go to grocery and get snacks, cold cuts and drinks if you’re planning on being on the beach all day. We brought snacks with us and a bunch of small Ziploc bags so we didn’t have to take the entire bag of Cheezits to the beach.
-Bring a portable cooler with you!!
- Bring your own snorkeling gear if you alrdy have one.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiptomyLuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

This resort provides quality accommodations and services at a reasonable price. The suites were well kept with a kitchenette. Maid services were top notch and concierge services were the best. The Sunshine Grill on the resort grounds had great food. Breakfasts were excellent, and lunches/dinners were excellent at a reasonable price. Beach access was easy and the resort provides free towel and chairs for the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infrequenttraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Great place when you are on a budget. The room is very clean and is equiped with a small kitchen area with a microwave and cooker. It exceeded our expectations! The staff are very friendly and happy to help you at anytime. The bed was very comfortable too. The beach is across the street so cross the main street and walk through a pathway to the beach. Felt safe despite having a ground floor room. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Destinology, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing