We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most helpful staff, best value and location was perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most helpful staff, best value and location was perfect!”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Anyone traveling to Grand Cayman should check out this hotel. We had never been before as frankly, stumbled across Sunshine Suites. They have wonderful rooms, immaculate grounds, their continental breakfast was a major hit with us. Also, the front desk service was out of this world. Extremely, helpful about excursions and excellent advice about local stores and attractions. THANK YOU MICHAEL, DARREN and the rest of the Sunshine Suites staff you made our vacation more than memorable. We will see you next year!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnkypzzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    502
    109
    23
    25
See reviews for
415
786
96
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I enjoyed the casual atmosphere and friendly, helpful service. The restaurant on the premises was open-air and had a great selection of island dishes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickih1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Enjoy staying at the Sunshine Suites this is my fourth trip. The staff is awesome and very welcoming. The pool area is very well kept. Grab a beach chair (provided by Sunshine Suites) and a good book and Seven Mile beach is a few steps across the street.
The Sunshine Grill has a great menu and the best fish tacos. You can't beat the prices!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I with friends used this hotel as a stop over on our way to Little Cayman for a dvie trip and on our way back home. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient on both days that we checked in. On learning that we were coming back in one week, they offered to hold our luggage so that we could tour the island. On our return, since rooms were available, we were allowed to check in early.

We ate dinner both nites at the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent. I had the fish with lemon butter and caper sauce both times. The coconut flan was excellent.

We had the king size room. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds in both rooms were comfortable. The room was equipped with a stove, microwave, full sized fridge... essentially a small kitchenette. We did not make use of any of it, but it would be an economical stay should you want to save money on food.

NOTE: the front desk does not open up until 7 Am; so, if you have to leave earlier, you might want to pay your bill the night before. We used Expedia and had prepaid the room, so it wasn't a problem.

In addition, if you are a diver, there are dive lockers and a dive clean up area. I was not able to check the area out, but it was an unexpected amenity.

All in all, I was very satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubanutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Everyone has that something that they think "some day I'm going to do that". For us that "something" was scuba diving and, of course, we always heard that Grand Cayman was the place to go. Never did we REALLY think we'd ever get there; it was too far away and too expensive. Well, let me tell you that there are, indeed, many very expensive places to stay and eat on the island of Grand Cayman. But the Sunshine Suites is NOT one of them.
Lucky for us we had some frequent flyer miles that needed to be used so that solved the gettng there but where would we stay? I researched this trusted site and found the Sunshine Suites and decided to take a chance. This was one of the most lovely places we have ever stayed. It was impeccably kept. The grounds were lush and tropical and gave you the feel of a resort. The rooms were extraordinarily clean. We were upgraded upon our arrival to a one-bedroom suite from a studio suite. We had a sitting area, table and chairs, kitchenette, ample bathroom space and a very comfortable king size bed. The pool area was not huge but had plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. And face it, you're really not here for the pool anyway.
The Sunshine Grill was their on-site restaurant and was, by far, the best value for eats we could find. We didn't have a single thing that wasn't delicious. Included in the room rate is a buffet breakfast which had your typical buffet food items; scrambled eggs, a meat selection, fruit and an assortment of breads and sweets. They provided juice and milk. We ate lunch and dinner here several times and the food and service was wonderful.
The staff in the front office were always pleasant and helpful and did everything possible to make your stay enjoyable including making recommendations, arranging for transportation and making reservations for outings. They also have cell phones available at the front desk and the rate was very reasonable. I think we spent maybe $13-$15 all week which included several calls home.
The only reason I gave it 4 stars for location is that it is across the street from the beach and the street, even though it is small, can be a little busy at times. But the beach was worth it - very beautiful sand, crystal clear water and clean! We snorkeled right from the beach and saw a lot of sea life.
If we get back to the island, which we hope we do, we will definitely return to the Sunshine Suites.
By the way, we did get to scuba dive. We did a Discover Scuba Diving experience at the Lobster Pot Dive Center pretty close to downtown, next to Burger King. Our guide, Ingrid, was the absolute best. She is the one that made our dream of scuba diving in Grand Cayman a reality!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 02BeOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The staff was very nice and helpful, always in a good mood. And the room was very clean at all times.
We had a great honeymoon at the hotel. The walk to the beach was very short and the beach was tidy.
This hotel is money well spent!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I booked a 6 day vacation on line and took a chance because I went solely by the on-line writeups. Sunshine Suites was great. The rooms were CLEAN!! The mini-kitchen was fabulous because food is expensive in GCI and this helped with the cost. The front desk staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The pool is crystal clear and local transportation is incredibly easy. If you like to snorkel, this is a great place. I highly recommend Sunshine Suites.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing