We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and sparkling clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value and sparkling clean”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We spent a week at the Sunshine suites and found everything far exceeded what we expected. The staff were helpful and knowledgable. The rooms were so clean they looked like they had just been painted, especially for us. The resturant served good food at a reasonable price. The local bus stops close by so you can get to most places on the island. What more can you want from a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    512
    111
    24
    25
See reviews for
430
802
97
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Having a child who lives on Grand Cayman Island, we look for every occasion to visit, especially in the winter months. We have stayed at several Seven Mile Beach hotels and Sunshine Suites has proven by far to offer the best value.
It's clean, extremely well maintained and the staff is eager to help.
The on-site restaurant offers great food and the complimentary breakfast lacks nothing.
Yes, you do have to cross the street to get to the beach but that's a trivial price to pay compared to the value offered.
In my opinion, Grand Cayman is expensive enough and thanks to Sunshine Suites, there's no reason to spend several hundred dollars per night at other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Spent a couple of wonderful days at Sunshine Suites and would have gladly stayed longer. The staff was friendly and attentive, and the studio suite was very comfortable. Not a beachfront property, but the beach is within easy walking distance and the hotel provides portable beach chairs. But the best part was the Sunshine Grill by the pool, where we ate most of our meals. The food there was absolutely delicious and the service top notch.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizona_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

It was such a good feeling to have the Desk Staff welcome us back to Sunshine Suites. Our reservations are always handled in such an efficient manner via email, with never a problem. The Desk Staff are always so friendly and helpful with a smile. The Sunshine Grill is excellent, serving a delicious breakfast (the fresh-made muffins are wonderful !) We love their fresh seafood. The Staff is so friendly and courteous, always smiling. Again, we were welcomed back....such a great feeling....just like coming home. The Seven Mile Beach is the most fantastic beach we have experienced. That's why we keep returning to the Caymans and the Sunshine Suites. We can really relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We enjoyed our one night stay. It was a good location but not right on the beach. The pool was small which was okay except for the fact that if anyone smoked, you smelled it. The room we stayed in was excellent. The staff was excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshafroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed at this property after diving for a week in Little Cayman. It was very easily accessible from the airport. As we arrived early our room was not ready, but the very nice front desk staff upgraded us to a suite that was ready and assisted us with printing our boarding passes for our flight back to the US. The bed was really comfortable and the living room, kitchen and bathroom were great. I hate conditioning shampoos and they provide both a good individual shampoo and conditioner. The pool area was great, and one of the attention to details was the terry cloth covers on the loungers that hooked onto the back rest and covered the whole lounger - nothing more annoying than a pool towel that keeps slipping down your back and is not long enough. There was also a covered area with comfortable couches if you wanted to stay out of the sun. We ate lunch at the poolside restaurant - it was very good with a typical grill menu - burgers, quesadillas etc. We also ate breakfast there the next morning - not a boring continental like so many hotels but a full cooked breakfast buffet with really good potatoes. The hotel is just across the main street from 7 Mile Beach and there was an easy path to follow to get to the beach. Another attention to detail was the free beach chairs that we took to the beach to watch an incredible sunset. There was a liquor store in a strip mall right at the front of the property as well as another restaurant and a Sushi bar. The hotel is a very cost effective alternative to the really expensive places on 7 Mile Beach - we actually were on the beach in front of a Westin. I wish we had stayed for more than a night and been able to relax more on a gorgeous beach after a tiring dive vacation. I would suggest this hotel to anyone going to 7 Mile Beach and who enjoys really pretty landscaping.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jshafroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We have stayed at Sunshine Suites two years in a row now and have enjoyed our stay both times. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and provides beach chairs and towels for its guests to take to the beach. The pool and grounds are beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Great place if you are on a budget with a kitchenette for cooking meals. The Sunshine Grill has great food and drinks if you don't want to eat in your room. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. They will help you schedule tours. Great time!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetDr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing