We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,945)
Filter reviews
1,945 results
Traveller rating
1,196
573
124
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
573
124
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillacross the streetbeach chairsfish tacosyogurtgrand caymanwestin hotelcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsstove topsmall kitchensister propertyliquor storeminute walkfull size fridgeon site restaurantone bedroom suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,655 - 1,660 of 1,945 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I travelled to run the Cayman Island Half Marathon. The Sunshine Suites was truly a wonderful surprise. The staff was excellent and could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Everything you need is there and was in superb working order, television, internet, air conditioning, kitchenette appliances. The bed, linens and pillows were top notch. The bathroom amenities and linens were way above the star rating of this hotel. The hammock strung between two palm trees outside our room was the perfect touch. The bar/restaurant is unparalleled for service and friendliness. The complimentary breakfast was truly a treat every morning. Supper menu was excellent featuring two of the Island's top rated meals, Kingston Burger and Fish Tacos. Do not leave until you try both. This hotel is better than home, great service and daily linen changes are services not provided in my home. We plan to return in April, just for fun.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We just spend 5 days on Grand Cayman at the Sunshine Suite Resort. I had read all the reviews beforehand and they were pretty much accurate.
The hotel is very clean and our room was spotless. I loved the fact that it had a full kitchen (toaster, microwave, stovetop, and all utensils). The beds were very comfortable. We were in the middle of the resort and could not hear the roads at all. In fact I pitied the people that booked one of the more expensive hotels because of the enormous road that passed by them.
The beach was in very close walking distance - literally takes a minute from the hotel. We always had beach chairs available to us as well as towels (the yellow ones are the big ones - so ask for those as opposed to the smaller blue ones).
The breakfast was good. Not fancy but all that you need - bagels, toast, waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, tea). We usually had breakfast around 8 am and there was plenty of food.
The greatest part of the hotel is that is in walking distance to several restaurants (we loved Edoardo's) and two enormous grocery stores. The area is safe and we walked around at night. There are always plenty of people around.
We recommed going on the snorkeling/Stingray city tour with Marvin (his shop is around the corner from the hotel).
The staff at the hotel is very accomodating and super friendly. They are from all over the world and really are a lovely bunch. They were helpful in planning day trips and in finding restaurants.
We will return to this hotel for sure. It truly holds what it promises.
Nobody's fault that the weather was TERRIBLE....!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florida899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Went down with a friend to do some scuba. Had a great time, everything you would want in a small hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Clauswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We spent 2 weeks at the Sunshine Suites and absolutly loved every minute of it. Check in was friendly, fast and efficient. The front desk staff are excellent and answered any questions we had, made dinner reservations and recommendations and helped with directions.
The hotel is located across the street from the beach just behind the Westin with a walkway path for guests to access the beach. It was a short walk over and the beach area was nice. The location of the hotel is good if you don't plan on renting a car as you can walk to several resturaunts in the area, a grocery store, liquor store and bus service on the main road. We rented a car for our entire stay and enjoyed the freedom to explore the entire island.
We had a 1 bdrm, suite on the ground floor next to the pool. The room itself was spacious with a livingroom area, kitchenette and bedroom with a comfy king size bed with 2 t.v's, wireless internet and a fresh clean decor. The bathroom was alot smaller than we are used to but it was nicely updated with granite countertops and stocked daily with personal hygeine products. The majority of the time our room was cleaned to perfection but do leave a tip and maybe abit more if you would like them to wash your dishes.
The grounds are fabulous and meticulously kept up. We loved all the palm trees, shrubs and green space of the resort. The pool was always clean and refreshing with loungers and a covered gazebo on one side and tables with umbrellas for dinning on the other side. It was quite a lovely area.
The Sunshine grill offfers a breakfast every morning that was really tasty and offered a good selection. We ate several lunches and dinners here and each time we were very satisfied with the quality and selection of foods. The wait staff were always cheery and friendly. It's a busy place with good service and great food.
We ate out at many other resteraunts and spent time in other areas and had a wonderful 2 week vacation. We would defiantly return to the Sunshine Suites for it's quality, value, location, ammenities and overall tropical charm :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4_the_record
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

My fiancee and I stayed at Sunshine Suites for a few days while we were planning our wedding. The hotel is small but very charming. It is in a great location on seven-mile beach, very central to everything that we needed to get done. The staff at Sunshine Suites were so friendly! They were also very knowledgeable - we got some really great tips and advice from Nadia, the sales director. We would also definitely recommend the Sunshine Grill for dinner. The food there is absolutely delicious! And again, the staff was so courteous and genuine.
We would definitely recommend the Sunshine Suites to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, well situated hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjh260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews