We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,952)
Filter reviews
1,952 results
Traveller rating
1,202
574
124
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,202
574
124
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill across the street beach chairs fish tacos yogurt grand cayman westin hotel continental breakfast hard boiled eggs stove top small kitchen sister property liquor store minute walk full size fridge on site restaurant one bedroom suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,660 - 1,665 of 1,952 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I had a wonderful stay this December 2010 at the Sunshine Suites. The resort is conveniently located from airport, about a $23 dollar cab fare (p.s. don't bother purchasing the airport shuttle from Orbitz or Expedia, etc. it's a rip off).

Online pictures of Sunshine Suites does not do it justice. It's a cute quaint, little gem and only a short walk away from the beach. You have to cross a busy road so I would not suggest senior citizens staying here but everyone who can walk without assistance - this resort is for you!

I stayed in the King 1bedroom suite and it was perfect for 2 people (there is a pull out sofa too for people with children). There is a small kitchen 2 TVs and a nice size living area. The beds are comfortable as well with white linens.

The restaurant at Sunshine Suites is delicious! I would recommend the burgers, fish tacos, margaritas, and chicken tostada salad. Mmm good. You do use paper plates for the hot breakfast buffet (food was OK) but it's not a deal breaker.

Sunshine is also walking distance to several hotels.

Avis is located right across the street at the Westin which is nice, especially on a rainy day.

Sunshine suites is the perfect value!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingtheworld80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Very friendly and capable staff, pristinely clean rooms with very nice wood furniture, a very good restaurant (don't miss the quesadillas!) with fine breakfast buffet. A short walk (5 mins) to the beach is definitely worth the $$ you are saving by not staying at the Westin just across the street. Would definitely go back.
If you are planning to go to the beach, get your beach chairs early, though - the supply is limited.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank MCE1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I travelled to run the Cayman Island Half Marathon. The Sunshine Suites was truly a wonderful surprise. The staff was excellent and could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Everything you need is there and was in superb working order, television, internet, air conditioning, kitchenette appliances. The bed, linens and pillows were top notch. The bathroom amenities and linens were way above the star rating of this hotel. The hammock strung between two palm trees outside our room was the perfect touch. The bar/restaurant is unparalleled for service and friendliness. The complimentary breakfast was truly a treat every morning. Supper menu was excellent featuring two of the Island's top rated meals, Kingston Burger and Fish Tacos. Do not leave until you try both. This hotel is better than home, great service and daily linen changes are services not provided in my home. We plan to return in April, just for fun.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We just spend 5 days on Grand Cayman at the Sunshine Suite Resort. I had read all the reviews beforehand and they were pretty much accurate.
The hotel is very clean and our room was spotless. I loved the fact that it had a full kitchen (toaster, microwave, stovetop, and all utensils). The beds were very comfortable. We were in the middle of the resort and could not hear the roads at all. In fact I pitied the people that booked one of the more expensive hotels because of the enormous road that passed by them.
The beach was in very close walking distance - literally takes a minute from the hotel. We always had beach chairs available to us as well as towels (the yellow ones are the big ones - so ask for those as opposed to the smaller blue ones).
The breakfast was good. Not fancy but all that you need - bagels, toast, waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, tea). We usually had breakfast around 8 am and there was plenty of food.
The greatest part of the hotel is that is in walking distance to several restaurants (we loved Edoardo's) and two enormous grocery stores. The area is safe and we walked around at night. There are always plenty of people around.
We recommed going on the snorkeling/Stingray city tour with Marvin (his shop is around the corner from the hotel).
The staff at the hotel is very accomodating and super friendly. They are from all over the world and really are a lovely bunch. They were helpful in planning day trips and in finding restaurants.
We will return to this hotel for sure. It truly holds what it promises.
Nobody's fault that the weather was TERRIBLE....!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florida899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Went down with a friend to do some scuba. Had a great time, everything you would want in a small hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Clauswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews