We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condos on a quite stretch of SMB”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantana Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Condos on a quite stretch of SMB”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just got back from Plantana Condos ( unit 46) and would go back again and again. A very well stocked condo, spotless clean with great views of the ocean and pool.
The beach is very quite and you never have a problem in finding a sun lounger any time of the day.
Unlike the Westin and Ritz which is a 10 stroll down the beach..you are packed in like sardines no joke !!!!
Walking distance to a few restaurants but I would recommend a car if you want to try some of the excellent restaurants on the island ( Calypso Grill is excellent !!! A 6/7 min drive away )
If you enjoy a spacious condo, a beautiful uncrowded beach and fantastic sunsets you can not go wrong... EXCELLENT CHOICE

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LorraineEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Plantana for many years, and each year gets better than the one before. Sitting under the casuarina pines, snorkeling just offshore, walking Seven Mile Beach...this is heaven. No crowds, total relaxation, but nice people if you want to chat. Plenty of space if you want solitude.
Condos are wonerfully equipped, mamagement is excellent, atmosphere is relaxed. Restaurant choices are abundant. It was difficult to return to snow!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TownsendDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, CO
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at Unit #1 for 10 days. It was excellent. The kitchen was furnished very well, with plenty of pots, utensils. Hot water maker, coffee maker, blender, good range. If you like to cook (which we do), you'll like cooking here.

The unit is located in the corner of the property, pretty private. You can see the ocean if you look just the right way, but it wasn't so important -- the beach is a 30 second walk away, and the view of the greenery and the sky was great.

Decorations are nice, practical and not so fancy that they get in your way. Would be a good choice for a very young child as there isn't a lot to pull down and break.

From the negatives, the bathroom in the master bedroom has a privacy glass window. At night it's not private at all, so we showered before it got dark. And at night it lets a ton of light in from the security lights, so we kept the door closed. Not a big problem -- but that was the one negative.

We chose this place because we wanted to have easy beach access with our 6 y/o boy. There is nice snorkeling right in front of the condos, and much better if you walk 150 yards south and swim out to Governor's Reef. Walk another 2-3 minutes to get to Red Sail Sports to rent SUPs and Hobie Cats. The Plantana pool is nice as well, and we spent plenty of time moving between it and the sea.

Our trip was great, Plantana was an excellent spot, and we'll definitely consider returning here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank river.trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa B, General Manager at Plantana Condominiums, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your Plantana experience with others and thank you especially for your feedback on the lack of privacy at night in the master bathroom. We do ask for and genuinely value our guests' comments as it is the most direct means of learning what's important to our guests and how we can improve in meaningful ways. You did leave your guest comment card with us and we immediately installed a blind to the that frosted bathroom window which was done before the next guest arrived the next afternoon after you departed - again, thank you. I'm only sorry that it was not brought to my attention during your stay because we are truly prepared to immediately respond to our guests needs without any significant disturbance or interruption to your rest and relaxation. We hope to see you back at Plantana and while we try to anticipate all that would make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, we do hope that you will let us know if there is a detail we overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our second stay with Planatana, but have been on the islnd seven times. Plantana, (unit 27) is and has been by far the most elegant, well furnished, clean, & wonderful complex we have stayed at. The staff at Plantana is beyond reproach. They were always available if needed, but stayed in the backlground so they did not disturb guests. The only thing to be said about the Planatana grounds & facility is.................Impeccible. We will forever stay at Plantana on our future visits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in unit 21 center view right in the middle of the property with ocean view felt like ocean front beach steps away from unit. Unit appeared to he brand new granite tile ect. Great bedding and furniture was comfortable. Very clean. Beautiful pool with excellent beach and pool furniture towels provided. We visited for five days and literally were the only ones on the beach. Properties on both sides of plantana are also high end three story Condos that looked deserted doesn't appear either offer weekly rentals like plantana did . The staff worked with our dates and were very accommodating. Walking distance to several restaurants.. Eats for breakfast ... Eguardos for Italian ... Osatique in Camana bay was very good ... Also ate at dukes a block away ... Calico jacks was a lot of fun beach bar short walk down the beach ti the right go after 3 cruise ship crowds gone and meet some great people. Speaking of crowds walked the beach to the left to Weston and ritz Carlton and the crowds were ridiculous in front of the ritz, fifty plus beach chairs lined up and no kidding ten deep it looked comical seeing all these people packed on that small area if beach very very crowded. So if your looking for a quiet classy place with a beautiful beach with shade if you want it, plantana was a great place. Also take the bus, well vans first night we were looking for buses but they use vans with round numbers on the back tailgate it's two dollars to get on person put up to 350 if your going ti west end. They pass every ten min in front of the condo. Beautiful place

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank somedaycame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Normally we go to Hawaii for our winter vacation. This year we decided to do something different and decided on visiting the Caribbean and more specifically Grand Cayman. And are we glad we did! This was also our first time staying in a condo rather a resort hotel. Again, what an eye opening experience.

The Plantana and their staff made this the most enjoyable vacation we have had in a long time. The condo experience has spoiled us I fear for good. We splurged and stayed in an ocean front unit (number 27) and so happy we did (flying to Grand Cayman costs about half as much as flying to Hawaii so we used that savings for the splurge). The view of the white beach and multi colored waters were delightful to wake up to every morning. The screened in front patio/deck accommodated five easily every morning for breakfast. There was even a rack provided for wet bathing suits and such on the deck. The condo kitchen was very well stocked with every appliance, pot, pan, and utensil needed to prepare a meal (including paper towels and fresh dish towels when needed). The washer and dryer also came in handy. The only downside of the caymans is that it is a little more (no a lot more) humid than Hawaii and it's easy to go through several shirts a day. It can take a couple of days for a bathing suit to dry on the deck rack!

Plantana is conveniently located in a very quiet stretch of the beach, but as mentioned several times, very close to several restaurants, bars, stores, etc. We liked Eats due to the extensive menu for B,L, & D (south 1/4 mile) and Dukes (north 1/4 mile or so) for their laid back accommodations and modest prices (yes food costs are much higher than the U.S. including Hawaii, but there are more reasonable prices if you look around). Both are very easy to walk to. There's also several beach bars about a half mile up the beach and fancier restaurants in the Westin just down the beach.

We love to snorkel and didn't have to go far from Plantana to enjoys ourselves. If you're not a snorkel lover or strong swimmer, but still want to see the fish try this. Get a mask or some swim goggles and something cheap to float on (there's a toy box by the pool that occasionally has an inflatable raft in it). At the very north end of the beach in front of Plantana there is a big tree. Float out from that tree 25 or so yards. There is a pile of rock and cinder block (man made reef?) in about 8 to 10 feet of water that swarms with all kinds of small fish. For the more adventurous, the reef in front of the Governor's residence (100 yards south of Plantana) is great for beginners. There's a green buoy about a hundred yards out that marks the reef location. There's also a shy but large (5 to 6') Barracuda that "hangs" motionless above the deeper sand bottomed areas between the beach and the reef. We saw him everyday. We also saw several sting rays out by the reef. There's also a nice reef off of Cemetery Beach about one mile north of Plantana. I also highly recommend Eden Rock, The wreck of the Cali, and Smith Cove, but these are down by Georgetown and would only go on days of few or no cruise ships. Naturally we went out to Sting Ray City. I suggest using one of the smaller dive operations as they take out smaller groups of people usually in the afternoon. We used Ambassador Divers (dive shop is in Comfort Suites close to Georgetown) and did their three stop tour (City, and two reef locations). Ambassador Divers keeps their snorkeling boat at the Grand Cayman Yacht Club which is less than a ten minute drive N.E. from Plantana (a lot easier than driving down to their shop). I also suggest checking the cruise ship schedule and going when the least number of ships are in port, or better yet, on a Sunday when there's usually no ships in port. This is what we did and we had the sand bar all to ourselves and a couple of dozen rays that act like starving puppy dogs. This is a must do and non-swimmers can participate as well as the water is only waist deep.

All and all we had a great time. It was hard to leave! Our accommodations were perfect! Thank you Plantana and Grand Cayman!

Room Tip: Any room in Plantana is probably good, but if you can swing it, go for an ocean front room, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gary8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This condo is gorgeous. Brand new everything, furnished in an Ethan Allen style, not castoffs from the set of the 'Golden Girls'. The kitchen will make a real cook happy, and it has little things most condos lack: eg. veggie steamer basket, BBQ utensils, Tupperware. The location is perfect, because it's away from the large hotels and public beaches. With lots of shade trees, there's nobody "reserving" chairs with towels and stuff. Nice staff, pretty grounds, and on the softest, rock-free stretch of SMB.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantana Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantana Condominiums

Property: Plantana Condominiums
Address: West Bay | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantana is on the finest section of Grand Cayman's renowned Seven Mile Beach. Pristine white sand creates a wide and extensive beachfront and then extends right out into the ocean to form a lovely, rippled floor. Our area of low-rise, low-density properties presents you with that rare phenomenon: plenty of beach and swimming space to call your own. Plantana's mature plantings - colorful blooming shrubs, lofty arching palms and expansive lawns - graciously wrap our plantation style architecture to offer beauty, pleasure and tranquility that is now almost impossible to find elsewhere. Make your vacation home here at Plantana in a one, two or three bedroom condo. You'll agree: Plantana is beyond compare! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantana Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Plantana Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing