We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas of the Galleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas of the Galleon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in a ground floor apartment (no 32), it was just what we wanted. Plenty of room, nice and quiet when you want it but near many bars and restaurants. Eating out was very good, but quite pricey. We ate at The Cracked Conch, The Wharf, Luca and Winedown. All very good and no more than 10 minutes drive away.
We hired the apartment directly from the owner, who was a pleasure to deal with. Each apartment had their own portable BBQ's so you could cook on your patio or move to the beach, which was about 50 yards away and watch the lovely sunsets.
We hired a car from Andy's, who are the cheapest on the island and very good.
Played golf a few times at North Sound Club, 5 minutes away. Can be pricey but enjoyable, they have just dropped the afternoon tee off price to 90USD, including a cart, which is good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
100
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

I was very impressed by the villas and especially the price. The villas are located in between the Ritz Carlton & The Westin both of which are known to be the best resorts on the island and even more so because they're on the best part of the seven mile beach.

The villa I stayed in was a 2 story villas that had 2 rooms, full kitchen, living room, 2 full bathrooms, balcony facing the ocean and a grill to bbq. Definitely what you want if you're coming for a long stay.

I didn't make use of everything as I stayed here for only 1 night while on a business trip. I usually stay at the Marriott but all rooms were sold out as it was spring break. As there is no restaurant on site I walked over to the Ritz for breakfast. There are also several restaurants in front of the property and in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

we returned for our second time, march 13th for two nights (because we had to head over to Little Cayman). our stay at villas of the galleon was again perfect from the cleanliness to the comfort. the condos are so roomy , sit right on the white sand and all have a view of the blue water. you can walk to everything. the supermarket is close by with excellent quality groceries. we love their fresh squeezed o.j. the condos sit right next to the Ritz carlton, so while on the quiet beach of the villas, you can walk over to the outside bar at the Ritz and get a frozen drink. it's just beautiful. we will be back again for our third visit next year. rent a car, it's actually not much at all. a convertible car was only $200 for the 2 1/2 days and it allows you to go explore other places to snorkel and try different restaurants. Lisa, who runs the Villas is also extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beffyEssexFells_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I went with my family in Grand Cayman for 10 days in the first week of january. we had booked an appartment in the condo Villa of the Galleon following the very good reviews of trip advisor.
To summarize my experience I would say that everything was perfect !

The appartement was on the ground floor directly on the beach.it has beewn recently refurbished and there was absolutely no musty smell . The kitchen was full of electrical appliances that made cooking very easy. High speed internet access both wired and WiFi was available free of charge.
Reasonably priced food shops where within a short walk as well as excellent restaurants. Low cost pubblic transportation was available at the hotel door for george town or west bay.
The beach was wide sandy and shady thank to beautiful casuarina trees . The people density was very low and you had the impression of having your own private beach..
The sea was crystalline clear and reasonably warm with few reefs and colored fishes at30 meter from the beach.Well organised snorkeling tours to the beatiful coral reefs around the island were available from Captain Marvin shop just across the street .
What can you ask more ?
May be a pedestrian crossing on west bay road in front of the condo...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MilanoSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

This place is the perfect location for your family bunch. The Villas are wedged between the Westin and the Ritz Carlton so there is no shortage of water sports and pool side drinks. You have your own private beach out front with shade from the Casurina trees. My family has vactioned at this particular spot for years and we keep coming back!

The Villas have to be one of the best places on Seven Mile Beach, and the staff has always been accomodating and friendly.

If you are a diver you don't have to go any further than to the beach to pick up your dive boat and at the end of the dive day you get dropped off back at the condo beach. If you need groceries you can literally walk down the street. Everything is very close for conveniences.

Thanks to The Villias of the Galleon for giving us so many beautiful family memories :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbbaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

I stayed here with my family - wife and 2 kids ages 8 and 10. We rented a 2 bedroom condo on the ground floor with somewhat of an ocean view. We were only about 100 yards from the water. With kids, I found the ground floor unit very convenient as we often had to run back to pick up something we forgot. Also, there are charcoal grills available on the ground floor patios that you can use. The condo had plenty of room; with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a den, a breakfast table and a dining area. We loved that we could cook our own food, and host dinners there with other members of my family that were staying down the beach. Speaking of the beach, it's awesome. The beach in front of the Villas is one of the widest along all of 7 mile beach, and, unlike the crowded Ritz beach right next door, there is plenty of room. We felt like it was our own beach. There are plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas and tables available. At the time we went (Thanksgiving week), this was by far the best value we could find on 7MB. One tip - I found cheaper rates by going through VRBO, or other 'by owner' rental web sites than straight though the Villas of the Galleon web site. Be sure to visit the parking lot around 9:30 or 10am to see the local iguana population sunning themselves. If there are any 'downsides' at all, they are: no pool (which we didn't miss), the kitchen was a little cramped, and this place would be boring for singles or young couples looking to socialize - too quiet. I would highly recommend this place for families, or any group that wants to be near it all without being stuck in the middle of it all. Nice snorkeling right off the beach as well, and easy walks or swims to neighboring reefs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelPeteGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Amazing condos just as the other reviewers have written. Save money by stocking your fridge at Fosters and even "CostULess" its a wholesale club a walking distance. The rooms are immaculate and we feel like we're home away from home esp with 2 young children. Lisa is very accomodating...soo happy we found this place...and the beach...its a dream.............

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas of the Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of the Galleon

Property: Villas of the Galleon
Address: 1083 Seven Mile Beach | West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas of the Galleon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Middle of Seven Mile Beach within walking distance of grocery/liquor stores, a handful of great restaurants and watersports. 1,2, & 3 bedroom villas, all with a view of the Caribbean Sea. Fully equipped with Central AC, free WI FI, on site management, and the units have all been recently renovated, upgraded and are tropically decorated with all of the comforts of your home. Daily housekeeping, shade trees, beach umbrellas, lounge chairs and beach towels provided. What more for a wonderful vacation! We wish you were here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas of the Galleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Of The Galleon Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Villas Of The Galleon Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing