We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shhhhhhhhhhh!! Don't tell anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas of the Galleon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Absolutely Amazing! We stayed in #14 and we loved it. IMHO, I think this place blows both the Ritz and the Westin away. Lisa is amazing, the amenities are awesome, and the beds are great. This is the place to stay if you don't want to spend your life savings in the Caymans. We went shopping at Fosters, bought our Liquor etc. at Big Daddy's, and we saved a TON of money.

If you want that "home away from home" feeling, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank need2hitlotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Villas of the Galleon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2010

My husband and I were staying at another resort across the street from the Villas of the Galleon and weren't happy with our accommodations. We spotted the Galleon while strolling on the beach and decided to check it out. I wish we knew about it sooner. The Villas of the Galleon is a tranquil oasis sandwiched between the hoards of people at the Ritz and Westin on beach chairs lined up in rows like cattle on a cruise ship to nowhere.
The beach in front of the Villas is spacious and quiet, but still offers easy access to the restaurants and ammenities of the larger resorts, such as equipment rentals. And, you get not only a room, but a one or two-bedroom condo with full kitchen for less money. Even if you aren't on a budget, it's nice to be able to cook and enjoy some meals in your suite, keep snacks and refreshments, and have lots of extra space. The location is ideal, with Foster's grocery store within walking distance as well as several good restaurants, and a short drive or bus ride to Georgetown. The manager, Lisa, was great. She not only let us check in early, she even came in on her usual day off given our predicament to do so, and gave us a great last-minute deal to boot. There is no swimming pool, but who needs one with 7 mile beach at your front door? I loved it and would not stay anywhere else again in Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank straightscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The Villas are located on the beach between the Ritz Carlton and the Westin. This is the best part of 7 mile beach. There is a great snorkeling reef nearby and its too far down the beach from Georgetown to get any cruise ship types. The Villas are clean and neat with full kitchens and wi-fi. There are no amenities but you can go to either the Ritz or Westin to swim in the pools or eat. There are plenty of beach chairs and trees for shade.You can walk to great restaurants (Eduardos, 7) or the grocery store (Foster's Food Fair). We have stayed at the Villas 5 times in different rooms and found them all to be clean.All have ocean views. Grand Cayman is well run and safe. Everthing works. Yes, its expensive but go to Fosters and buy food for breakfast and lunch, eat your dinner out and its not bad. Skip Georgetown unless you want Cayman Island T-Shirts and shot glasses. It caters to the thousands of cruise ship tourists that visit every day but Sunday. The sunset cruises on Red Sail Sports are great and Captain Marvin does great snorkel trips (Stingray City is is overrated). Skip Hell and the Turtle Farm. The Botanical Gardens are great. This is the warmest and clearest water in the world!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cdmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The Villas of the Galleon was wonderful. Positioned in the middle of the 7 mile beach and a close walk to numerous restaurants, grocery store, coffee shop etc. The condo was very spacious and nicely decorated. The landscaping is wonderful. We will never stay anywhere else as it is the best placed we have staying on Grand Cayman in our numerous visits.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This was my first stay at Villas of the G. since the hurricane severely damaged this property. I'm happy to say it has been rehabbed beautifully. The trees are a little shorter than when I stayed 10 years ago, but still provide nice shade when relaxing on the beach. The view of the water and the quality of the beach is first rate. Daily maid service kept our condo in ship shape order and supplied with plenty of towels. The condo was furnished with a great air conditioner, color tv, dvd and cd player, and a kitchen with blender and microwave. There is free internet but bring a cable to attach to your laptop. We ate every single meal in and took turns preparing our gourmet specialty for our group. We actually brought in a cooler of frozen meat but bought the rest of our groceries at Fosters Food Fair which is five minutes away, a large supermarket.

We rented a vehicle and shore dived at the following places: The Cracked Conch, Eden Rock, Lighthouse Point Condos with Dive Tech the resident dive shop there, Cobalt Coast with Dive Tech the resident dive shop there also, and behind Sunset House which has a small wreck and a mermaid statue. We did boat dives with Cayman Diving School and drove to the east end for more pristine diving with Ocean Frontiers. I enjoyed good service from both. Last day was spent going to Stingray City on a large catamaran with Red Sail Sports. Enjoyed the sail very much on the way back, peaceful, beautiful.

If you wish to see pictures of the condo and the island along with lo rez movies of where I went on the island including the VOG condo, go here and read my report on scubaboard.com:

http://www.scubaboard.com/forums/cayman-islands/294384-grand-cayman-trip-report-7-6-09-a.html


In short, I will return to Grand Cayman again and will stay at Villas of the Galleon again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrycsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We had an excellent stay at the Villas of the Galleon. Their beach was wonderful - even the needles from the Australian Pines were soft to walk on (no complaints here). The Ritz and Westin hotels that border this place are packed with beach chairs - so dense that you can hardly see the sand, where as the Galleon has wide open beach for their guests to enjoy. Will definetly stay here when we return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We went to Grand Cayman and stayed at Villas of the Galleon on Seven Mile Beach from August 9th-16th. We previously visited Grand Cayman on a Royal Carribean cruise, and saw hoe beautiful seven mile beach was. We started looking at hotels, but we decided to go with a villa/vacation rental. We choose Villas of the galleon because it was located on the best part of seven mile beach. It is located between The Ritz Carlton & The Westin Causrina Hotel. This is the best location, beacause there is no tourisim on this end of the beach, as the cruise boats bring their guests to the Beach Club Colony resort. Every morning we woke up and had breakfast, and there was no need to rush out to the beach, because there was plenty of beach chairs. It was also nice to choose whether or not you wanted to be sitting in the sun, or in the shade under the trees. The water was crystal clear, and was not rough. No Waves at the beach =] The condo was decorated very nicely! We stayed in a second floor villa, as we thought would have a nice view from the balcony. The view was unbelivabley gorgeous! But, we wish we had chosen a ground floor villas, as walking up the stairs of the villa became tiresome in the heat. Would have been much easier if you forgot sunscreen or had to go to the bathroom. The villa we stayed at was villa # 27. It was two bedrooms, and had 2 bathrooms. The downstairs bedroom had a queen, and the upstairs bedroom had a king. But the kind bed was luxourious, it was so commfortable. While there, we went to the grocery store and bought some breakfast items and goodies, as we were trying to save some money. We decided we would go out for lunch and dinner, and eat breakfast at the condo. After looking at many reveiws of grand cayman, many people recomeded going to EAT's. So we decided to go and give it a try. The food was very funky and the prices were ok, not too reasonable. Our favorite resturant was Casanova Restuarant, which was italian. Very good food, and pretty reasonable. It was very romantic, as it was situated on the ocean, and there was even a guy who played the harp who to different familes. We only went once, but wanted to go back. I could write so much more, but i can't explain how amazing and relaxing my trip to cayman islands were.

I hope you have a great time =] enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopealexis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas of the Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of the Galleon

Address: 1083 Seven Mile Beach | West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £263 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas of the Galleon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Middle of Seven Mile Beach within walking distance of grocery/liquor stores, a handful of great restaurants and watersports. 1,2, & 3 bedroom villas, all with a view of the Caribbean Sea. Fully equipped with Central AC, free WI FI, on site management, and the units have all been recently renovated, upgraded and are tropically decorated with all of the comforts of your home. Daily housekeeping, shade trees, beach umbrellas, lounge chairs and beach towels provided. What more for a wonderful vacation! We wish you were here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas of the Galleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Of The Galleon Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Villas Of The Galleon Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing