We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
London House Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

July 10-17 2013 This was our first trip to Grand Cayman

We just wanted to add a quick review and pictures of Unit 8 at The London House. Check in was a breeze. Both Allison and Dominique were there and very friendly and efficient. We were traveling with another couple and we both checked in in less than 10 min. We were given our keys and pertinent information about the resort and we were off to explore. Andy's car rental only gave us one car key so we went to Kirks Hardware Store and had a extra room and car key made. ( about $5 USD for both) That way our friends could use the car without having to come find us and get the car key.
When we got in our room I was concerned that the AC was not going to be cold enough, but it took about 6 hours and the room had cooled down to a nice 70. They do not run the air when the rooms are not occupied. Unit 8, or better known as the Honeymoon Suite, is facing the beach and you get NO road noise or noise from other units. It is on the end with no unit above it. The other couple we traveled with had unit 14 on the 2nd floor and heard some road noise and noise next door, but not enough to bother them. We really loved unit 8 but be aware it is the smallest 1 bedroom at London House. It is a charming place with a cozy feel. One interesting thing we did find was a guest book signed by those who had stayed there. The comments by the guests gave wonderful suggestions on things to do and places to eat. Adorning the walls are many lovely works by the owner's daughter who is a wonderful artist. We ended up buying one of her prints. The bathroom and kitchen are very small, but adequate. The kinged sized bed was very comfortable and the couch is a pullout. However anymore than 2 people would be too crowded. The family/dining area is fairly large. The kitchen was stocked with lots of pots, pans and utensils for cooking. The only thing I would bring for the kitchen is your favorite spices. They did have salt and pepper; soap for the dishwasher was included but not laundry soap. You can get ANYTHING you need at either Fosters or Kirks both within about 5 min from London House. We rented a car for the week and drove around the island one day & to Georgetown just about every day; sometimes twice a day; we used about $50 USD in gas. The view is what makes Unit 8 great! We would have coffee out there every morning. You are just a few steps away from the most beautiful beach on the island. The one thing about London House is that there are no umbrellas on the beach. The reason is that you don't need them. If you don't want to be in the sun you just pull your lounge chair up on the beach and under one of the many trees that provide shade. The single hammock right off the patio of Unit 8 is a great place to escape the sun. We also enjoyed the grills located on the grounds next to the pool. There are 2 gas grills and 2 charcoal grills. We cooked 3 meals on the them and they worked great. Do note that many other guests used them as well but we never had to wait. There are tables out by the pool where you can eat. Next to the pool and grill area there is a "Hammock Hut" with numerous hammocks to enjoy. A great place to read a book or take a quick nap.
We had such a good time we booked the Penthouse for Easter 2014 only 10 days after we got home. We are looking forward to another great and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Off2GCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the London House from Aug 5-12th, 2013. It is the Grand Cayman slow season. Rates were half price and unbeatable. We had some trouble with WIFI the first 2 days, but found out they had just had a few hiccups in upgrading to fiber. Perfect once fixed and we had WIFI to the waterline!

London House is a smaller older property, but it has been beautifully remodeled. The rates were unbeatable, AND London House has the most beautiful and perfect piece of 7 mile beach- no crowds, no fighting for chairs or hammocks, ample shade trees if you want shade, and endless sunshine! Allison was wonderful to work with and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

We've been to Grand Cayman before during high season, and will now only go back in August, since it was just a couple hundred extra in hurricane insurance, but SO worth the more competitive rates and the lack of crowds. The kids came with us this time, and they LOVED it! Best vacation EVER! Highlight of the trip was a 9PM walk on the beach we took one evening, only to stumble upon an enormous wild Green Sea Turtle laying her eggs on the beach- just 1/4 mile from London House. No one else was around anywhere- it's like she did that just for the four of us- a once in a lifetime!

We loved London House and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

No need to go to Australia just come to GC and stay at the London House! Honestly if it wasn't for the road (all seven mile beach condos/hotels are on the road) this would come close. If you have never been to the island seven mile beach is a must stay and you have to stay ON the beach. It makes a big difference. The London House is so nice, small and quiet and it is right on the beach. We stayed in a garden/ocean view but for the money I wouldn't pay for the better view as we were never in the room really. All the rooms (very big condos I should say) are steps from the beach too. Here is a tip, set up breakfast for your spouce ON the beach one morning. Big points! As for restaurants within walking distance we walked (wife 2 kids 10, 12) every night to either the Tiki or the restaurant next door. A very doable walk and very nice. Here is another tip - eat in the condo and just go there for drinks and deserts. The properties next door are private so the beach is very quiet. The snorkeling in front of the condo has no reef (mostly sand which is really nice to not worry about walking on) but every time I went out maybe 100 yards I would see something worth taking a picture of. I would snorkel around and find something interesting and then call the kids out to see it while they were playing on the beach. Turtles, rays, weird fish every day almost. octopus one day. Near shore there are lots of little fish the kids can look at on their own, next door to the left they built a pile of coral shaped in a circle with lots of fish. Domonique the office manager got us a paddle board for 24 hours for the almost the same price the cruise company places charge for a hour. My pet peeve in hotels is the AC. No problem here, make it as cold as u want. Cool place.

Room Tip: save the money and stay in 9, 10, 11 not a great ocean view but you don't need it just walk outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chitownfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

One of my favorite places to stay in Grand Cayman. I have been visiting the Caymans since 1991 and this place is an ideal location to be away from the bustle from the south and the tourists coming in off the boats. It's peaceful and quiet with very pleasant staff. Dominique is over the top handling any questions or needs and we felt at home in paradise. We are snorkelers/divers and found we could snorkel all up and down the area here without much trouble (wave runners, water skiing...the activities that can put snorkelers in danger) on a beautiful, smooth, clear beach. This beach is one of my favorite in the world. The London House has a hammock cabana, where you can read and relax during the random rain showers. Most prepare many meals here so the outdoor grills are a plus. There are on-demand water heaters in each condo, so hot water is never a problem. The London House is one of the best on the island!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ReneeYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After a rocky start due to arriving later than expected on a Sunday night and finding the managers phone out of service, we were greeted by other guests and helped to contact Dominique using their phone. The first night we stayed in Unit 2 on the ground level and found it quite acceptable. The next morning we were given the opportunity to check out a second floor unit with balcony. My grandkids were immediately sold on the idea of switching units and we all loved the views from our balcony. ( The views from unit 2 were also good we would have been quite happy to stay there.)
The beach at London House is one of the best sections of 7mile beach and has an abundance of shade when you need a break from the sun.
Even though the calm, crystal clear ocean was a huge draw for the family, we also managed to fit in other activities. Swimming with the dolphins at Dolphin cove, playing with the sea turtles at the turtle farm and scuba diving at Cobalt Coast were just a few of our favorite adventures just a short drive from London House. Captain Marvin's also picked us up at our door for a great afternoon trip to Stingray City to swim with the rays. My grandkids loved the closeup experience of playing with the stingrays and snorkeling the reef and coral gardens.
Had a great dinner at the Wharf and then joined in the feeding of the Tarpons.
Also recommend the Sunshine Grill for great burgers and Fish tacos.
No dining experience this trip topped the meals had at the Cracked Conch last time in Cayman.
Condo's unit had great kitchen and all amenities. Washer/dryer were a great plus for us.
Definitely will come back to London House.........Thanks to all there. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: All units have views of the beach/ocean/pool. I would probably request units 17-21 on future trips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had the most amazing time in Cayman Island. We were there 10 days and we stayed at the London House. I rented two condos next to each other and they were beautiful and the staff was amazing. Dominique and Allison were very accommodating and everyone was so nice. The beach was crystal clear and the water was so calm that our 5yr. old Grandson could swim in it with no problem. The condos and beach were very well maintained and every morning the staff was working very hard to make sure our trip was wonderful.
We went swimming with the stingrays which was awesome and an experience I will never forget. we rented a private boat called the Happy Hooker which was amazing the captain and the first mate were super nice and I highly recommend this adventure.
We also went to the turtle farm and we had so much fun it was such a beautiful experience. The turtles are amazing and our Grandson got to pick the up which was awesome!
The Island is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen and the people are all so wonderful.
I highly recommend going to Cayman Island and even more to stay at the London House.
Thank you so much Dominique, Allison and staff for making our trip one of the best vacation we ever had. You guys are AMAZING!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and 5 right on the beach both are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in #16. 2 bedroom 2 bath on 2 floors. Lots of space, everything was good. newer bathrooms, kitchen and appliances are newer also. decor is a bit dated, but fine. TV and internet were a bit spotty. Beach is very nice, lots of chairs and hammocks, small pool but nice. charcoal stone BBQs on site a nice feature if you like to grill (they have propane ones also). we snorkelled out front and saw some rays and turtles and small fish. Overall i would say this place is a great value for the location and i would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ludge999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,803 reviews
2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
618 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,378 reviews
3.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#7 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Condominiums

Address: 1907 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1206, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £141 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the very pinnacle of serenity and bliss at the London House in Grand Cayman. Capturing the beauty and essence of the perfect island retreat, each luxury condo at the London House welcome guests with exceptional ocean views from your private balcony or patio. What's more? First-rate accommodations, unmatched service, pristine grounds and 200 feet of silky soft, pure white sand. Stake out your ideal space on our private stretch of Seven Mile Beach for an entire day and worship in the sun. Dip your toes into the crystal blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. And come day's end, settle in for an awe-inspiring sunset that will truly take your breath away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
London House Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
London House Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing