We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beachfront condo with great friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchorage Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage for five wonderful days in Feb 2013. Mom and two adult daughters - birthday trip! It was a great choice. Perfect location, nice accommodations (we stayed in unit 5, one of the first level beachfront rooms ) very pleased with space,cleanliness of rooms and the whole property,attention to detail, nice small touches, felt very safe. The condo is well furnished, not fancy, great staff. Very good beach with no rocks. Nice cabanas, hammocks and plenty of chairs. Lovely pool. Would definitely return and hope to soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nebraskatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

This was our 5th or 6th trip to GC and we always stay on Seven Mile Beach. The Anchorage unit we stayed in was on the ground floor opening directly to the beach from a screened in porch. The unit was very clean and had been recently updated. We had a great time and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nkentiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely beachfront condo on the relatively quiet west end of 7 mile beach. The grounds are kept up meticulously and housekeeping was responsive, dud a great job keeping the unit tidy. Well appointed and well priced!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kscherm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have stayed at The Anchorage many times, but this is the first time we've stayed in #16. What a delightful haven from the hustle and bustle of Grand Cayman. The unit is decorated very tastefully and comfortably. The kitchen is well-stocked with everything one might need. The bathrooms are beautiful. The master bathroom is spacious and has a full tub/shower as well as a shower. There is ample closet space, and the master bedroom is very comfortable. This unit has a washer and dryer in it as well, making it very convenient to bring a smaller suitcase and then return home with clean clothes.

The best part about unit 16 is that it is located at The Anchorage! The management and housekeeping staff are all very friendly and attentive. We are part of the family when we're staying there, and even if we aren't staying there. We have friends on the island and sometimes stay with them, but we always stop in to say hi to our friends at The Anchorage. It feels great to be greeted with hugs and inquiries about our kids, even when we aren't staying there.

I should also mention that the location of The Anchorage is on one of the most beautiful spots along Seven Mile Beach. If you want to lie shoulder to shoulder with several hundred other people in a confined space, this is not the place for you. The Anchorage only has 15 units (no unit #13), so it's quiet and uncrowded. It's the perfect place for couples of for families. You can swim, snorkel, walk, read, or take a nap and not be disturbed, except by perhaps an iguana scampering across your path on the sidewalk. This is the perfect spot to be at the end of the day for something of a national sport: sunset watching. We like to make frozen daiquiris in our kitchen and bring them down to the beach to see what Mother Nature has planned for us each night of our visits to The Anchorage.

Since condos are the way to go on Grand Cayman (food in restaurants for a week will cost a fortune), you can't go wrong with this wonderful home away from home.

Room Tip: We like #12 and 16 because they have a washer and dryer. I believe that at least one other unit has...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubalovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed at Anchorage three times in two years. We like the unit # 14 on the top floor with an amazing view of the ocean. It is a great unit, kept very clean. Also, the manager, Judy, is very helpful, professional and a very nice lady overall. Last time we were there was in October 2012, stayed for a week and we’ll be back. No need to look further, you get a very nice and spacious unit on a spectacular beach for a very good value. And did I mention that you basically get all the beach for yourself? Just amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Great place- no need to look around. We debated where to stay on our October vacation for months and I can say for certain we made a good choice. We stayed in unit 16 Garden A it’s a 2 bedroom 2 bath. We asked about possibly upgrading once we arrived so we could have an ocean view- but were very happy with this choice! We booked early and got a great promotion. You will be too!
I’ll start with the negatives-- which honestly were few and I actually had to think about it.
For one it has no view of the water, which I expected with a garden view-just want to make that clear. You can slightly see the water from the balcony but not really.
The water in the unit was bad in a couple ways- tastes awful, it never got hot enough to take a comfortable bath or cold enough to drink. Problem solved with bottled water and a warm ocean.
The toilets had a very difficult time flushing but it could be a plumbing issue in general. We didn’t love the manager- which perhaps was more surprising since I noted lots of great comments from other reviewers. Found it just to be an irritant overall. Sometimes persons need to note its as much how you say something is what you say perhaps. I have to say though housekeeping was amazing so it works out.
Lastly the we debated on buying towels…there were several in the unit but they were as close to the feeling of sandpaper as you can get. They provide separate beach towels and they were very old and didn’t ever look clean.
That’s about the negatives.
The goods are long: I will start with each aspect
Beach- is fantastic! Its has a slight shelf as you enter and the smallest row of shells or rocks but then its clear sand. it’s the most crystal blue I’d ever seen. When we stayed it was late October and we had the beach to ourselves everyday. The early part of our trip the weather was amazing. The water is extremely calm to the point you might have to make an effort NOT to float. It would be amazing and safe beach for kids for sure. During the last of our trip- although we were fortunate not to be effected- Hurricane Sandy hit the East coast and brought large waves in and wind. Even then the water was swim able however the small shelf made entering and leaving a bit more challenging. There is excellent snorkeling very close.
There is a nice size pool but no hot tub. There are 2 stations to rinse the sand off and a shower. More beach chairs than I can ever see them needing. There are several covered cabanas, chairs and umbrellas on the beach itself. The pool area has 2 tables and 2 BBQ’s but they are charcoal.
Room: Impeccably clean and I am a but of a germ-a-phobe. Housekeeping did a great job and I have to say it never once effected our day- as though she was watching for the best time. She also restocked items like TP, paper towels, soap, dish detergent…sometimes we have stayed in condos you have to purchase those items for yourself after a couple days.
We found the kitchen to be very well stocked. We ate in almost 5 nights and found we had everything needed for cooking and BBQ. The unit is very spacious, large bedroom and bath. The 1st bedroom has 2 twin beds but its own TV/DVD closet and dresser. There is a bathroom off the bedroom-not connected- with a large walk in shower.
The master is very large, with a Queen bed, 2 nightstands and a large closet and tall dresser. The bathroom is attached to the bedroom and has a separate walk in shower as well as a bathtub/shower combo.
There is plenty of seating with a full couch, and 3 chairs, large TV in main area and dining. The couch is also a sleeper for more persons as needed.
The best part…I believe it’s the only unit to have a washer dryer. We LOVED that! Just being able to not come home with dirty laundry and rewear clothes or ‘iron’ them in the dryer is fantastic!!! There is coin op facilities in the office area.
I like the little things sometimes- like there are 2 laundry hampers, and there was even a toothbrush holder in the bathroom.
Its on the 2nd floor. There are easy stairs but no elevator. Again it doesn’t face the ocean, the balcony faces the walkway to the beach and the road. Its also screened it which is nice at night to keep the bugs away (although we didn’t notice that to be a problem either) I noticed others said it was loud but we didn’t have a problem at all. They placed ‘white noise’ machines to help but we didn’t feel we needed it at all.
The air conditioner works great. While we were there it was nearly 90 each day and humid. Sometimes we have stayed at places where it never seems to get cool enough. This was great There are also several ceiling fans in every room and the bathrooms have a fan/vent which helps a lot!
While we were there I am not sure there was even 1 other couple, so it was defiantly off season. I can see the small parking lot getting rather cramped if it was full.
Everything in the unit worked great except what we found the water temp. No maintenance issues. Each day we saw persons working caring for the grounds, pool plumbing etc.
Great location-
Besides the unbeatable beach its close to great places to eat, grocery stores, the airport, and the turtle farm.
This was really a great find! We were very happy with our stay, miss it already and will plan to be back for sure!!

Room Tip: This has a W/D for me that was worth not seeing the ocean
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlwaysMissinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Cayman can be affordable, even on Seven Mile Beach. We have stayed at this property 3 times. First time we stayed in #10 (an ocean front) on the second floor. Nicely done unit, very comfortable for 3 adults and could have accommodated another person with the closable tv room w/very comfortable trundle (afternoon naps). We switched from Christoher Columbus property next door to stay at this property due to the larger space and screened in decks with ceiling fans. The following year we stayed in #14 (our favorite sue ro the king size bed n master, twin beds in second bedroom, and used den for office/dive equipment, etc) which is in the 3rd floor (deluxe oceanfront) which has unobstructive views by the building walls. Well worth the additional small additional price - especially in the low season April. The pool is a nice and beach kept clean. The kitchen in #14 has granite counters, stainless steel frig, dishwasher and garbage disposal. The manager, Judy is helpful with unit reservations. Beach location and pool are definitely quieter which is nice when reading a book on the beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe oceanfront is the unit categories with direct unobstructed views (only 6). Note garden rooms...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mrsmcdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,264 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Condominiums

Address: 1989 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1204, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £137 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 story condo complex is located on Seven Mile Beach. It is a small complex - 15 condos. The Anchorage is known for having one of the most fabulous beaches on Seven Mile Beach - Cayman Islands. Beach front condos are 2 bedroom, 2 bath and den or 3 bedroom condos. The Garden A and Garden B condos have 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. All condos have central A/C, free wireless internet, cable TV, ceiling fans and a complete kitchen. All condos have either a screened balcony or patio. Amenities: Fresh water pool, beach cabanas, beach umbrellas, plenty of beach furniture for all to enjoy, outdoor shower, barbecue grills, tennis court and daily maid service everyday except Sundays and some public holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
The Anchorage Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing