We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in unit #7 at The Anchorage for Christmas and New Years. We had a group of 20 and we rented 4 units in the building. We had a fantastic time! The condo was clean and neat and provided all the necessities we needed. Marilyn came in every day (except Sunday and holidays...a much needed break I'm sure!) and Judy, the manager was so helpful and accomodating. Even though the condo is not in the very front of the building, the view of the ocean was still great. The air conditioning was definitely needed and appreciated! Seven Mile Beach is a fantastic place to stay and The Anchorage is situated in a very quiet location. The beach is the best we've seen in our travels and it is not busy. There are private cabanas and beach umbrellas provided for the condos which gave us a shady place for sitting outside for the day. My only complaint would be with the people who "saved" the cabanas with their beach towels and then never sat in them all day. You could snorkel right off the beach and see plenty of fish. Also, Cemetary beach, which is great for snorkelling, is only a 10 minute walk down the beach. We highly recommend a day trip out to Sting Ray City and if you are looking to order food, Chicken Chicken is amazing!!!! There is a grocery store very close by to buy all the items to stock your kitchen...just don't run over the chickens! There is a bus stop across the street so you can bus it into George Town instead of driving. Overall I would highly recommend this location. Best beach holiday ever!!!

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms have a great view. The deluxe rooms are even better for view than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jillagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

My family and I have stayed at the Anchorage a bunch of times now and have loved it every time to date. The staff, all around from Judi at the front desk, to the daily housekeeping to the grounds keeping are all genuinely super friendly and helpful. The spot has a nice private feeling when you are on the beach which is what I love. It's in walking distance from a grocery store and they have a tennis court right across the street. Fresh water pool and grills too! My favourite grand cayman condo rental complex by far on Seven Mile Beach!

Room Tip: I like the units on the 3rd floor. Even the two bedrooms have a den that is perfect as a 3rd, spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraSophia-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Loved this place. Staff is great, condos are clean and spacious. Beach is magical. Close to the hotel is very nice reef for snorkeling.We did rent a car and would suggest that to anyone staying at the Anchorage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GordanaN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We rented unit 16, a two bed condo with lots of space, two lovely bathrooms and a big kitchen. It was slightly cheaper as it doesn't look out over the beach but this didn't bother us at all. The condo itself was clean modern and spacious with good wifi and a well equipped kitchen (could do with a sharp knife and chopping board though). We bought food from the grocery store which was a convenient 10 min walk away. The only little gripes I would have is that the road was quite noisy at times (solved with ear plugs) and the mattress too soft to be comfortable for us.

The pool area was clean with plenty of loungers and a shower and there are also shady shelters and loungers on the beach directly by the building. The sea is clean and gorgeously warm.

The buses that run all along 7 mile stop right outside and cost $2 CI for any distance so it's easy to get to George Town or anywhere really. We rented a car for a day which I would definitely recommend to see the island and drive up to Rumpoint. Andy cars is further down 7 mile, next to Coconut Joe's and does the cheapest rental on the island- you can also drop the car off at the airport which saved us a very expensive $30 taxi on our last day.

The best thing about these condos is the couple who run them. We were met by a helpful smiling face. After 16 hours of travelling we were utterly jet lagged and shattered and so deeply grateful for the lift that Bob gave us to the grocery store, thank you!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed (extended family of 6) at the Anchorage this past July, 2013. It was perfect! We were in the #3 unit, ground floor, 2 bedrooms plus den bedroom with water view, 3 bathrooms. It was furnished by the owner just as one would like, full kitchen with everything we needed. Grounds were immaculate, beautiful pool, we loved it!

Room Tip: Nice location on seven mile beach! Loved unit #3, it was ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oclrk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at The Anchorage and we could not be more please with our experience. This was our first trip abroad with our 9 month old daughter, so I had spent a lot of time researching to find a place that would suit our needs. The Anchorage met and exceeded all our expectations and we will most certainly be returning.

First off, the beach is gorgeous at the Anchorage. To the left and right there are sea grass patches and rocks that make for great snorkeling and beautiful shades of blue in the water. The water directly in front of the Anchorage is turquoise blue, soft sand, and perfect for swimming. On a few days that we were there, there was a bit of a steep incline to get in and out of the water but most days it wasn’t bad at all. Actually, the water was basically like glass – flat and clear with just a few lapping waves. It is not an iron shoreline like a lot of other condos in the area. It is a nice sandy beach perfect for families and young children. We really enjoyed the snorkeling outside the condos. I would suggest heading right towards the Christopher Columbus condos.

The location was excellent! Close to SMB and Georgetown but out of the way enough to be nice and quiet. We actually enjoyed the West Bay area and so it was nice to be so close. One tip I would give though is to go grocery shopping at Fosters at The Strand instead of the one at West Bay which is a bit closer. The one at West Bay was very crowded and had less of a selection than the one at The Strand.
One of the best features of The Anchorage is that it’s so small. I can’t ever imagine feeling crowded on the beach or at the pool. When we were there, there were never more than 2 or 3 people out on the beach with us.

Unit 2 itself was nicely renovated and the décor was very nice. The best part of Unit 2 is that it walks right out to the beach! Our baby monitor even reached to the cabana in front of our unit right on the beach so we were able to relax while our baby napped (we also had a sitter from AAA Caregivers and would HIGHLY recommend. Feel free to message me if you’d like more info about this). This unit is perfect for families. It has 3 bedrooms, 2 beautiful bathrooms, and you just can’t beat being able to go in and out to the beach so easily. The screened in porch is a great feature because the mosquitoes are bad in the morning and at dusk. The maid service was excellent – so sweet to our daughter and accommodating to our schedule. The unit was always clean and towels were replaced everyday. They also keep the beach manicured and the staff would refill our footbath and sweep our pathway every day. I was a little worried about it not having a washer and dryer, but the unit is close to the office and we took advantage of the laundry facilities there for $4 wash/dry (tip: bring a few tide pods and dryer sheets from home).

We had a wonderful vacation at The Anchorage and felt that it was an excellent value, especially with the stay 4 nights get the 5th free discount. We’ll probably try and stay 10 days next year instead of 7. You could continue to look around at all the other condos but I guarantee you that the Anchorage is the best value on the island!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is the only place we would ever stay on Grand Cayman. Directly on Seven Mile Beach, this small condominium complex is on the quieter northern end of the beach, well away from Georgetown and the cruise ship crush, and the massive resorts and their crowds and tiki bars. It is closer to West Bay than to Georgetown. The units are spacious and well-appointed, with very good baths, kitchens, and other features. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and always seem to be available. The complex includes a laundry room (there are none in the units). The pool is just off the beach, and is small but more than adequate for this small complex. Coral reefs lie just yards off the beach, easy to reach by snorklers. There are frequent turtle sightings and nests in this area. This is a place to consider if you want privacy, peace and quiet on Seven Mile Beach. Grand Cayman is getting pretty developed, but The Anchorage and the West Bay area still give you the feel of the good old days.

Room Tip: All of the beach side units have a good view, but the second and third floor units, of course, offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
623 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#6 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
257 reviews
3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Condominiums

Address: 1989 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1204, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £133 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 story condo complex is located on Seven Mile Beach. It is a small complex - 15 condos. The Anchorage is known for having one of the most fabulous beaches on Seven Mile Beach - Cayman Islands. Beach front condos are 2 bedroom, 2 bath and den or 3 bedroom condos. The Garden A and Garden B condos have 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. All condos have central A/C, free wireless internet, cable TV, ceiling fans and a complete kitchen. All condos have either a screened balcony or patio. Amenities: Fresh water pool, beach cabanas, beach umbrellas, plenty of beach furniture for all to enjoy, outdoor shower, barbecue grills, tennis court and daily maid service everyday except Sundays and some public holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
The Anchorage Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing