We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!”
Review of Cayman Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cayman Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

VRBO Listing #123821 Homeowners are great to work with. Great snorkeling right off beach. Great restaurants in area. Clean well kept home. Grocery store and Georgetown very close. Nice shops across street. Love this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 2Canoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just stayed in unit #29. The unit is beautiful with every amenity you would need. The ocean view is incredible. So much to do and see around 7 mile beach within walking distance of the resort. We would highly recommend visiting Cayman Reef Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jovicich4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked a 3BR unit in room #29 with Marc. We found this to be the most reasonably priced 3BR unit in all of Grand Cayman and it was Oceanfront! Very few families on the beach, we basically have had the beach with 2-3 other families. We were a bit surprised to see only 5-6 umbrellas in front of the property, however since there were not many other guests it wasn't too big of problem. We had an umbrella in our unit, which we used. Cayman Reef also has rafts and other floats to use on the beach which are placed directly in front of the buildings. The beach was amazing and had decent snorkeling with some coral and lots of fish around, even a stingray or 2. The location was great, we had a Wendys, Subway, Pizza Hut and gas station directly across the road. Also walking distance from great restaurants for dinner such as Cimboco, Chicken, Chicken, the Reef Grill, and the Restaurants and shops at the Marriott.
We also recommend renting snorkel gear across the road at Divers Supply. They only charge $10 and allow you to return it the following evening by 9pm, so basically you get an extra day. Great deal 2 days for $10 for snorkel gear.
The pool and grounds were very clean and well maintained. The property next door was a bit of an eye sore as it was tore down, but other than that no complaints. Tennis Court was also alot of fun, we played almost every evening since their were lights, and we had rackets and balls in our room.
Overall we would highly recommend booking through caymanreefresortvacationrentals.com with Marc
One small negative is loud music on Friday night from Reef Grill, other than that very please with #29 at cayman reef resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lobaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just got back from spending a week in unit #36 (VRBO #496852) and can't wait to go back.

The complex is in a perfect location on seven mile beach. The beach is just amazing, you literally walk 15 steps and you are on the white soft sand. The complex is between several of the expensive resorts. We walked to the Ritz/Marriott and their beach was tightly packed with chairs and people. We couldn't wait to get back to our beach at the Cayman Reef were we always had beach chairs and privacy. Across the street there are several spots to grab food and there is also a restaurant on the beach next door. You will not have to go far to find good food. Food is a little more expensive in Grand Cayman so just be prepared for that. You can also catch the buses on the street and go to town or the grocery store. Across the street is a high end shopping complex with a movie theatre, restaurants, stores, gym ect. We enjoyed going over there to eat and look around.

As far as the unit, we couldn't ask for more. It has a beach view from the patio, super clean, good AC, flat screen TVs, comfy bed, nice furniture, stocked kitchen (pans, glasses, tea, coffee, salt, oil ect), washer/dryer, and a BBQ. They even lend you a cell phone so you can make local calls. We arrived to a nice bottle of wine, chips and rum cake. With the high food prices we defiantly used the kitchen and it had everything that we needed. The owner is onsite and very easy to reach.

If you are trying to decide between one of the resorts and a condo I would go with a condo. You get so much more for your money and you can't beat having a kitchen. When we go back we will be staying at Cayman Reef again. Grand Cayman is a very friendly island and super clean. You are not harassed while you are relaxing on the beach or when you go to town to shop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bettegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just spent a wonderful vacation at the resort with my family. #46 is owned and operated by Vanessa who is the best to work with - easy and very professional.

The Pros:
*Unit itself is exactly as the pictures showed. Living area is large and open with partial views of beach area. Three bedrooms with two baths - perfect for families. All very neat and clean.
Right next to pool area and yards away from beach which was great for going back and forth for drinks or snacks.
*Beautifully kept grounds
*Wonderful beach, close to lots of activity, enough umbrellas for shade during our stay and an extra one in unit just in case (we did not need).
*Spectacular sunsets!!!
*Walking distance to many restaurants and a short drive to grocery store.
*Office in complex very helpful, good suggestions for restaurants and area activities some with discounts. However, must keep in mind the office is only open Monday-Friday.

Cons:
*The showers in both bathrooms had water temperature issues. Water ran extremely hot or cool. Could not regulate properly. Was not too much of an issue with us but others may find this a problem.

*At least one night a week (Wednesday in our case) nearby Royal Palms hosts a " DJ night" which goes pretty late so if you are early to bed people that could be a bother.

In ending, we had a fabulous vacation, were very happy with our time at Cayman Reef Resort and definitely would return to Unit #46.

Room Tip: Units towards beach much better than those near main road for obvious reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1spg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at CRR unit #40 for a week, in early April, 2014. The unit itself is beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could want. It was supplied with everything we needed, lots of beach towels, bath towels, kitchen and bath supplies, and was very clean upon arrival. It has fantastic views right onto the beach. You can hear the sound of the surf inside the condo! It is very spacious with plenty of room for 6 persons. The beach is the best on 7 mile. We have stayed at numerous other condos and on different parts of the island, but we think CRR is the best on 7 mile. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the pool is set between the units with a view of the beach, great location! The resort is close to all shops and restaurants, so you wouldn't need a car. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. All in all, we rate this resort/unit #40 EXCELLENT! We will definitely be back! The owner also is very friendly and accommodating! It was a wonderful vacation here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were debating between the Marriott and VRBO, similar prices for our family of 4. Boy were we happy with our VRBO choice #36 with Trinda at Cayman Reef (508335 on VRBO).

Location...perfectly situated on SMB within walking distance of grocery stores, restaurants, rental cars, plenty of snorkeling spots, the beach.

Views... The format of Cayman Reef gives lots of units patios with views to the water and beautifully landscaped courtyard. We found the beach in early April to be nearly empty, as compared with the beach in front of the Marriott, which was a zoo. We spent a ton of our time on our screened in porch because we could see the water and the nice landscaping. It could use a ceiling fan as an improvement, but we loved eating our breakfasts and lunches as well as reading and playing cards out here (where I'm writing now :). ).

Amenities... kitchen, nice hide-a-bed, nice linens in the bedroom, some beach towels. Wifi, and a super nice touch...a cell phone with 60 free minutes to call for reservations. The pool was clean and lovely for the kids to play in. We didn't find any spare tennis rackets, but there is a tennis racket.

Logistics...no problems paying, a nice welcome letter with orientation and recommendations, and some initial "imperfections" taken care of swiftly.

Activities nearby...We really enjoyed walking the beach to various restaurants...Luca's, The Wharf, Hemingway's. The bus was easy to pick up outside the condo, and many activities would pick us up. We loved the snorkeling out in front of Plantation Village...walk south on the beach and enter the water when you get to the stone wall. Go out to the buoy for some gorgeous colorful reef.

Noise...we were parts of most days. Mostly quiet and able to hear the water most of the time. Only one day did we hear construction at the resort next door. In the evenings, we never heard Royal Palms noise once we went inside.

Great place!!

Room Tip: Number 36 can see the water and landscaping from the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Carleton_Alumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.3 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#8 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
93 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Reef Resort

Address: West Bay Rd, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £239 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Cayman Reef Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Cayman Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing