We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach and pool area, best on Grand Cayman”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Christopher Columbus Condos
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and pool area, best on Grand Cayman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

i have been to Cayman many times and always enjoy the diving and the restaurants in this little island of paradise. Christopher Columbus is now by far my favorite condo location and is located on a fantastic area of the beach. It was very wide and very low density. Prior to arriving after reading the earlier review about the beach being rocky, i was apprehensive about this area of the beach. This was not what i found. the beach area is wide and full of sand in the water with no rocks. in speaking to the staff, he said only after a big storm does the sand in the water temporarily change some and this happens all up and down Seven Mile Beach. so normally it is like it was during our visit, very sandy and wide enough to play Bocce ball on the beach with our friends. the water was flat calm like a lake and we all snorkeled and relaxed on floats in the water. the visibility was outstanding. i love seeing my feet in the water. lots of fish and we saw turtles and even an octopus. Their pool and pool area are all new and were great. the beach huts are a great thing for keeping out of the sun. they were adding a new one when i was there since these are popular with all the guests. it is so easy to read a book, nap, and sit for hours under one of these beach huts.
our unit was on the second floor overlooking the beach, not on the pool side. we had stunning views up and down Seven Mile Beach from our balcony where we enjoyed our morning coffee everyday. #21 had a new kitchen that was beautiful and well equipped and we had friends staying in other condos and they were all nicely decorated and were all up to date. no one was disappointed at all in the accommodations. we gathered each evening on the beach to watch the sunset and met many of the other guests that were doing the same thing, taking photos of the beautiful sunsets.
You will need to drive to the restaurants but everything is very close by and this end of the beach is so uncrowded, it is worth the very short drive to the grocery stores and restaurants to not be in the middle of all the crowds of the cruise ships and other properties with more condos and more people. We loved trying Heritage Kitchen at the Four Way Stop in West Bay and the Coconut Grouper was amazingly good.
All in all, i cannot imagine a better place to spend a vacation than at Christopher Columbus and on Grand Cayman. All the staff and Lisa, the manager, did everything to make our stay great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
189
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

First of all let me say that this was my 8th trip to Grand Cayman, and the 5th time I have rented a condo. I am in the travel industry so I tend to be a pick more picky than most travelers.

The pool area is beautiful, There are only 28 units so most of the time you feel like it's your own private pool.

The condo is located on Seven Mile Beach, and I would definitely recommend getting a unit on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a beautiful view. If you have never been to Grand Cayman or have traveled to other Mexico or Caribbean beaches you will not be disappointed with the beach.. SMB is my favorite beach. However, If you have been there as often as I have you may be a bit disappointed. The beach and ocean are a bit rocky compared to other parts of SMB, I think after this trip I will definitely go back to staying in the central area of SMB for the softest sand and the calmest water. I will mention if you go out about 30 yards from the beach - the snorkeling is amazing, unfortunately we didn't realize it until the last day. If you are looking for a private beach this would be it, I'm not sure we saw anyone on this area of the beach other than guests of the condo.

The unit was nice, no WOW factor, but my guess is that the condos are a bit older. We had a 3 bedroom unit, with 2 baths, the fact that the 2nd bathroom is actually in the main bedroom makes it a little odd if you are sharing the unit with other adults. Whoever is in the Master bedroom basically gets a bathroom to themselves, and everyone else has to share the other one. There was 7 of us in the condo, so 5 adults shared the main bathroom. The unit was well stocked in the kitchen, can't imagine anything that wasn't there. This was the first condo I rented that there were not washer and dryers in the unit themselves. And the laundry facilities (located near the office) require Cayman coins to operate them. I have no problem drinking the water in Cayman, but if you want bottled water you could buy it from the office.

I would definitely recommend renting a car if you are staying here, because nothing is within walking distance.

While in the process of making the reservation Lisa was extremely nice and helpful. I only encountered one other person in the office and she was nice, professional, but not overly friendly or welcoming, or informative. The office is not open on Sundays or Holidays so if you are departing on one of those days, so it's kind of a guess on what to do with the keys. There's not a drop box or anything. We just left them in the unit and locked the door behind us.
Not sure what happens if you are arriving on a Sunday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank workingbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Loved our stay at the Christopher Columbus in May 2012. It really warms my heart to think back to it and dream about many returned trips to Cayman. Thank you for the Christopher Columbus' Condo board and Manager Lisa Hernandez for their ongoing support of the efforts of the Cayman Islands Diabetes Charitable Trust to make a difference in life's of the Diabetic community living on the island!

As for your stay: Everything was absolutely perfect, and truly memorable even for a season traveler to Cayman that has stayed in many properties on Seven Miles beach. Accommodations were stylish and cozy, though nothing beat our gourmet kitchen and unbelievable view of the ocean from our Ocean front balcony, that we have used for everything including morning coffee and few romantic dinners. Just us and the ocean :).
Lisa the manager and her staff keep the condo's spotless and really make the stay just as comfortable as staying in the hotel, though much more preferred going forward! BBQ grills set up outside, water sports equipment and laundry on premises made it hassle free while keeping us pretty busy, while away from the water. Which was absolutely amazing. Warm, Clear and So Welcoming.....
If you are looking for the beautiful beach, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff and overall experience that you will cherish. Do check out Christopher Columbus! You will be so glad you did :).

Room Tip: Ocean Front Condo's are the best at the Christopher Columbus. Though all the properties are so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olga y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is our fifth stay at the Christopher Columbus and we couldn't find a better place to stay on Grand Cayman. Privacy, cleanliness, beautiful environment without being overwhelmed and feeling like we are staying in a rain forest. Our dream is to own a unit here, until then..........thank you to the owners and management who share paradise with us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloriana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

19 years ago, my wife and I honeymooned at the Caribbean Club on Grand Cayman. Back then, it was a quaint group of pink bungalows in the heart of a quiet stretch of 7-mile Beach. Today, it's a multi-story condo complex. So, when we wanted to return for Spring Break with our boys, we looked for a reasonably-priced, small complex on a quiet stretch of beach.

We found it at the Christopher Columbus, Unit 4. Our flight arrived around noon, and we were at the complex on the North End of 7 Mile Beach by 1:00. Check-in was 2:00, but the friendly staff let us throw our bags in the condo while they finished cleaning and we went shopping at the grocery store down the street.

Our unit was absolutely perfect. It has been updated extremely well with tropical furnishings and two flat screen TVs. There was a good selection of books in the unit. Because we were on the first floor, the view was not great and we were directly in front of the pool. We enjoyed the ability to walk directly out of our door and out to the beach. Second and Third floors will have better views, but you have to walk around the building to use the stairs.

The pool has been recently re-done and it is great. We made some great memories with night-time swims with the boys as the lights in the pool changed colors. There's also a great kiddie/wading pool with a fountain in the middle.

Snorkeling directly in front of the complex is incredible. We took the short walk to Cemetery Beach one day and found the snorkeling no better than directly in front of our place. There are some sea urchins in the area, and I would advise water shoes or sandals. Perhaps 20 yards down to the left is a good stretch of sandy ocean bottom, but right in front of the complex, the coral starts fairly quickly.

There are only two very small downsides to this complex. First, they have great covered cabanas and umbrellas on the beach. But, because the complex was close to capacity, those went very quickly every morning. If you sleep in, you are in the sun all day. Second, they don't supply shampoo. Luckily, I saw this raised on another review, so we packed the Head N' Shoulders.

They do have beach towels that can be replaced every day, and our unit had a hair dryer.

To me, the location is great. It is at the North End of 7 Mile Beach, and our stretch of beach was not very busy. Looking back towards Georgetown, you could see some busy stretches of beach.

7 Mile Beach Road is extremely busy. You have to cross the road to get to the tennis courts, which are in good shape. Small kids should be kept close at hand.

In reading the guest book in our condo, some visitors noted that they had stayed in other units prior to arriving at Unit 4. They noted that those units were not as nice, so I suggest doing your homework if you are looking at another unit.

Finally, there are no restaurants within easy walking distance. We found some great places to eat, but we were in the car to get to them.

We will definitely be back, and highly recommend this unit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fly_FisherSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We returned to the Christopher Columbus for the second year and stayed in unit #16 again. The unit is well stocked, clean, and has a wonderful view of the Caribbean. Wifi is also provided free of charge. We were pleasantly surprised to find the pool deck redone along with the pool and a small splash pool for children added. The thatch roofs were redone and the beach easy to access. The staff are very accomodating and even provided a local bbq for guests one evening. It was fun and the food was delicious. You can snorkel right off the beach and there is some excellent viewing right off the reef not far out. We are tentatively booked to return to #16 for a third year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misslucy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHKOSH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have visited Grand Cayman on a few occasions, but this was our 1st time staying at Christopher Columbus. Our stay was from 12/31/11 - 1/7/12. Overall we enjoyed the property and would recommend this to others. We stayed on the upper 3rd level on the back side closest to the street. Keep in mind there is no elevator so all luggage, dive equipment and groceries get carried up the stairs. Being on the street side we did have some traffic noise which can start pretty early so this may be something to consider. Our unit had all the necessary amenties, the beach & pool areas were nice and had plenty of chairs & thatched huts for shade. Close to shopping, restaurants & pick up for diving ( we dove with DNS diving). We would most likely stay here again, but would get a unit on a lower level & away from the street as much as possible.

Room Tip: Facility is close to road so ask which units provide the least amount of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LunrLandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,920 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Columbus Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Columbus Condos

Property: Christopher Columbus Condos
Address: 2013 W. Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Better than a hotel, different from a resort, and ideally situated, the Christopher Columbus Condo is an intimate 30-unit beachfront condominium, offering beautifully appointed two and three bedroom condo rental units with either oceanfront or garden views. All condominium rental units offer central air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, telephones, and maid service. Other amenities offered include private lighted tennis courts, barbeque grills, laundry facilities, and a full concierge service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christopher Columbus Condos Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Christopher Columbus Condos Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing