We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Christopher Columbus Condos
Certificate of Excellence
winnipeg, manitoba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked unit #1, a two bedroom garden suite through the condo owner. She was wonderful, providing me with very helpful information before our trip about Grand Cayman including, restaurants, shopping, points of interest etc.

On this trip my husband and I travelled with our daughter, son-in-law and 19 month grandson. A crib and high chair were provided as requested.

Our condo was very well stocked. The owner's thought of everything, from a large variety of spices, cooking oils, first aid, coolers, icepacks etc. There are two T.V.'s in the condo, one in the living room and one in the master bedroom. They also provide free WIFI. The condo was comfortable and very quiet which was great for our grandson's afternoon naps.

Within the entrance door to each bedroom it had it's own bathroom. This door could be closed and separated from the main living area. You felt like you still had your own privacy within the condo itself. The daily maid service (except Sundays and holidays) was a real plus. Just around the corner from our unit was the laundry room with coin operated machines. The office can provide you with the coins. Next to the laundry room is the towel room where you can exchange your beach towels that are also included.

Christopher Columbus is located in the quieter north end of Seven Mile Beach. The grounds are beautifully manicured with pretty flowers throughout the property. Free parking is provided in front of the complex. There is a very nice beachfront pool for those who do not like going into the ocean with plenty of loungers. For the young children there is a kiddy pool and a storage box full of toys they can play with. For those who enjoy lying on the beach there are a number of papala's for shade. There is pretty good snorkelling with easy shore access in front of the condo's. I found that the most fish I saw were to the right (if you are facing the ocean). Some of the sea life species included cowfish, lizard fish, flounder, angel fish, file fish, squid, lobster and barracuda. For a change of pace and nice walk down the beach you have Cemetery Reef. Here I was thrilled to see a giant green moray hanging out with a couple of groupers and just a short distance away, a lion fish. It is definitely worth checking out.

Our morning ritual was sitting on the patio enjoying our morning coffee. Right next door is the manager's suite. She has a cute little garden of exotic flowers and plants which attracts birds, butterflies and lizards. Half way down the path to the beach you will find kettle drum barbecues for your use. Our condo was stocked with briquettes and lighter fluid.

There is a Foster's Food Fair a short drive away which was very convenient. If you would like more gourmet foods there is a Kirk Market in Georgetown with a extensive selection including organic, gluten-free and vegan products. Their salad bar and prepared hot food bar was excellent. If you shop on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday and if you spend over a certain amount Kirk Market will give you a coupon "Kirk Kurrency" redeemable on your next visit. You have to go to customer service for this. Tip: remember to bring your own grocery bags.

We spent many evenings sitting on the pool deck facing the ocean, listening to the waves, enjoying the peacefulness, the night sky full of stars. It was heaven!

Christopher Columbus is a wonderful place to stay for families, groups or couples. The staff were always helpful and friendly. We would return in a heartbeat. Our memories will last forever.

Tip: Stay away from Georgetown when there are a lot of cruise ships. The shops hours do cater to cruise ship passengers so check ahead for opening hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank northernexposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
189
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

You can't beat Grand Cayman for snorkeling, diving, modern conveniences, and a safe environment for your family. We have been back once or twice a year for fifteen years. Seven Mile Beach is the area and Christopher Columbus Condos is the place. Snorkeling from the beach is excellent! The staff is superior and totally worthy of your trust and respect. The grounds are well kept as is the beautiful large pool, deck, and kiddy pool. Many thatch roofed cabanas let you stay out of the sun on the beach and you will never have to fight for a chaise or chair on the deck or beach. Charcoal grills are cleaned daily and are there for your use. Kitchens are well appointed, beds great and flat screens abundant if you have a reason to use them.

We enjoy being up..our favorite unit is penthouse #27. There are only four penthouse units in the complex. All of the three bedroom units face the ocean and look to the west for the sunset views. The side units are two bedroom units and only the second and third floor side units have partial ocean views. We feel that the beautiful views from the extra large veranda is worth the climb of three flights. Unit #27 has a kitchen that is more complete than that of our own home. The L shaped living/dining room has a 50 inch TV and floor to ceiling windows/sliding glass doors overlooking the ocean. Non of the units have laundry facilities but there are coin operated washers and driers near the office. Car rental is advised as CCC is a few miles from Georgetown (which we feel is a big plus to be away from the cruise ship traffic)

We cannot recommend and condominium complex more highly than Christopher Columbus and although all of the units are clean and comfortable, we recommend unit #27. We will be back there next year!

Room Tip: Get an ocean front unit if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Thrilled with CCC. Ideal location- footsteps from a beautiful beach with excellent snorkeling right there. Grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained. Beach huts (recent addition) provide shade on the beach. Beach was very quite, never more than a smattering of people (even though the parking lot was full every night, so occupancy must have been pretty high). Lisa H. (Manager) and Georgette were extremely helpful and housekeeping was excellent. We had not expected that level of service from a condo (normally we have to buy our own dish detergent, paper towels, sponges, etc.), but those amenities were already included as well as salt & pepper and two Weber grills with lighter fluid provided. Housekeeping cleaned daily which was also a surprise for a condo. The only downside was lack of laundry in the units but they provided beach towels (nice not to have to pack them) and there is a coin laundry if you need it. We would love to go back to CCC.

Tips:
-rent the smallest vehicle possible (parking spots are small all around the island)
-EVERYTHING except restaurants is closed on Sundays
- Excellent reefs for snorkeling just off the CCC beach - swim at a 45 degree angle to the right from CCC for about 200 yards or so and you will see some great fish
- Cemetery reef is one of the best spots on the island (walking distance North of CCC). To find the reef, look for a house just to the right of the Cemetery beach entrance with 3 arches - swim straight out from there for about 200+ yards
- Wednesday farmers' market at Camana Bay is worth a visit
- Wreck of the Cali was GREAT snorkeling - enter just to the right of the dive shop next to Casanova restaurant (65 N. Church Street), just South of Rackham's Bar & Grill

Room Tip: spend the extra $ for a beach view (game-changer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

A perfect place for our family vacation. The staff is very friendly and helpful. the office stayed open for our late arrival. Housekeeping was outstanding. The condo was well stocked. Décor was beautiful. Steps for one of the best beaches on Seven Mile. Great snorkeling right in front. I could have spent every day out on the beach. If you stay here and want to explore get a rental car. Remember stay left and look right and give way in the roundabouts. It's a short drive to all the Seven Mile, Georgetown & West Bay attractions and restaurants. The sunsets on the beach each night cant be beat. The owner of unit #01 was fantastic with communication and advice for a great time on Cayman. I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Christopher Columbus condo is ideal. Its location can't be beat. It has shade, ocean and the seven mile beach. We were able to swim, jog and snorkle. Most important the staff was very accomodating as we arrived late for our reservation and they were very considerate and understanding. The condo was clean and had everything we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimosa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was our second stay at CC (and we have stayed other places on Grand Cayman). This was perfect for our family of 4; spacious, right on a soft, sandy beach (which is NOT always the case for Grand Cayman condos), and with a perfect location. CC is a 10-15 minute drive to both West Bay and Georgetown restaurants, but out past where the cruise ship passengers are bused to the beach. The result is that even of a "5 ship day" in town, the CC beach area is not crowded, and pristine. There are plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and at the pool, and plenty of thatched huts to get some shade. CC provides beach towels. We were in unit 29--very well equipped with a great view of the ocean. There is daily maid service, a very responsive front desk, and a spacious laundry if you need one. A short drive to nice markets (think Harris Teeter), if you like to have breakfast and lunch in. Love th eisland and love CC. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WMW22182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle,wa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This condo is a great place to stay in the Caymans. It's not in the main area, but everything is a very short drive away. There is a grocery store that is just minutes away and some restaurants. George Town is about a 15 minute drive away and other restaurants are just 5-10 minutes away. This condo offers everything you need to relax on an amazing beach. There is fantastic snorkeling right off the beach to the right and to the left is a nice sandy entry into the warm water. You may even spot some sea turtles off the shore as they come to this area to lay their eggs. The condo is bit older, but everything was in great working condition. The living area and balcony are spacious and the kitchen has everything you need to cook. The staff was very helpful and even let us check out a bit late because our flight didn't leave until the evening. There are thatched roof covered areas on the beach and plenty of beach chairs. The grounds are well kept and the pool area is nice as well. I definitely recommend this place. It's quiet, calm, serene, beautiful and there's plenty of snorkeling!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seetheworld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Columbus Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Columbus Condos

Property: Christopher Columbus Condos
Address: 2013 W. Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Better than a hotel, different from a resort, and ideally situated, the Christopher Columbus Condo is an intimate 30-unit beachfront condominium, offering beautifully appointed two and three bedroom condo rental units with either oceanfront or garden views. All condominium rental units offer central air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, telephones, and maid service. Other amenities offered include private lighted tennis courts, barbeque grills, laundry facilities, and a full concierge service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christopher Columbus Condos Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Christopher Columbus Condos Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing