We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wished we could stay longer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Christopher Columbus Condos
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wished we could stay longer”
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This was our first visit to Grand Cayman, so not wanting to rely on just our own research, we used a travel agency (Caradonna- thanks Shelley!) and after considering a few other options along Seven Mile Beach, we decided on these condos, and are very pleased we did so. This place is perfect for a family, especially those who prefer a stay at the quieter part of SMB. In addition to the gorgeous beach, there is a nice pool. The sea is teeming with life, you can see fish just as soon as you wade in. There are several cabanas on the beach and plenty of chairs and lounge chairs. The units and grounds are kept very clean and nice. The kitchen has all the pots and pans and utensils you might need to prepare full meals. We enjoyed the daily visits by the maid, not that lots of cleaning was needed but because our daughter loved chatting with her. The manager, Lisa, was very nice and helpful. We were also lucky to have a beach bbq happening on one of the nights during our stay- it was lovely hanging out at the beach all evening, having some nice locally made food, taking a zillion pictures of the sunset, and watching our daughter doze off on the hammock at the beach. Being usually happy to walk or take public transportation everywhere, and underestimating the intensity of the heat, I had initially thought we could walk to the food store (what was I thinking?) But one does need a car to do grocery shopping. We did not need a car every day, just rented it for the days we wanted to do excursions and shopping, and the days we did rent, Andy's Car Rental picked us up and dropped us off. Other businesses (Soto's Stingray City Cruise, for example, and some dive ops) also do pick ups, so keep this in mind if you'd rather not drive to everything. Also there's a public bus stop just outside the Condos, and they seem to be pretty frequent, so for 4 or 2 Cayman dollars, you can get to West Bay or Georgetown (and if you tell the driver where you want to go they'll drop you off just at the right spot). We had a wonderful time at the CCC and wished we could've stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
199
42
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Verona, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed in unit 20. Incredible view from the balcony. Roomy, comfortable bedrooms. Very serviceable kitchen. Stayed 7 nights, and having this as a home base helped make it the trip of a lifetime. The staff was very friendly; the pool was fantastic; using the cabanas daily was useful; the beach area and snorkeling just off it was the best for miles around. The water was warm, and the drinks were cold- both appreciated, as we are from Wisconsin.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auburnlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at the Christopher Columbus Condos Aug 1-6, and can do nothing but rave about the wonderful experience we had. We stayed in Unit 21 which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. It was a 3 bedroom-2nd floor- which accommodated our family with plenty of space--we had all 3 adult children with us ages 26, 23, and 19 (which hasn't happened in several years so we really wanted everything to be perfect). The view from the room was spectacular and the beach was magnificent. We found the best snorkeling right in front of the hotel and just north by Cemetary Reef. The thatched huts on the beach were great, and there were plenty of chairs.

We did rent a car which is a necessity--we got the best deal from Budget. Dinners are expensive--but we were prepared for this. Lunch is much more reasonable. We had lunch out at Casanova's (highly recommened) and the Tiki Bar at the Cracked Conch, which had a good variety lunch menu and a wonderful view. Our best dinner was at Restaurante Pappagallo. We also brought dinner in to the condo a few nights including Chicken Chicken and Papa John's Pizza.

We visited the Turtle Farm and enjoyed it. We all had fun holding the turtles. I would recommend it once just to have the experience. Be aware of the cruise ship schedules as Georgetown can get crowded when the ships are docked. We went shopping on a day with only one cruse ship, so the crowds were not bad. All you really want to do is get back to that beautiful beach. We snorkeled, we read, we relaxed, we napped--it was great. The sunsets were so beautiful.

We are home now and are yearning for our cereal breakfasts on our balcony, taking in that spectacular view. We highly recommend the Christopher Columbus to anyone visiting the island just looking for some peaceful time away.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2009

What we were looking for was a beautiful location that was not overrun by people, and did this place ever fit the bill. We met so many friendly folks and their families, but at no time did it ever seem crowded. When we headed out to the beach or the pool in the morning, it felt like we had the place to ourselves.
The condo itself (#27) was nicely appointed, featuring all of the comforts of home. The three big bedrooms (two with a King-sized bed) accomodated us perfectly (two adults and a child), but could easily have handled more people.
We split our time by the pool and on the beach, with going into George Town and just touring the island. Even if you are not a snorkeler, you would still have a ball just relaxing by water, which was calm and bluer than blue.
Activities in town included some excellent shopping and a semi-submersible submarine (Atlantis), which allowed you to view a reef and the local sealife. Perfect for kids and adults.
Chicken Chicken was a nice (and low-cost) choice for a meal. It is located about 2 miles away (a rental car is not just convenient, but necessary).
The staff at the CC were friendly and helpful. It does feel like a big family. So sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This was perfect for us! Calm beach, pool, not crowded. Factor into your price a rental car though. Nearest food is a little over 1/2 mile and that is a long 1/2 mile walk in the heat. Exploring this island is worthwhile - follow the coral road after the castle, park somewhere, and check out those cliffs. We thought Rum Point was overrated, but we hate crowds! We enjoyed the public beach of Cayman Kai (had it all to ourself). Also there are other little beaches sort of hidden along side the road ... stop at them!! They didn't pay any attention to us at the Turtle Farm, so I wouldn't recommend it for the price. Stingray City is very cool, 7 year old daughter LOVED this. Skip the snorkeling parts of this excursion though ... you see close to this at Cemetary Reef 1/2 mile from condo, as well as some spots in front of the condo too. The Pirate Caves are "cheezy", but the kids enjoyed their very little zoo.

EATS is a great family friendly restaurant that has soup to nuts at very reasonable prices for Cayman. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food/ambiance at the Cracked Conch is good, but it's very pricey and not great for kids. Calico Jacks is great beach food. Foster's IGA has every item we have in the states. Some prices are higher, some are the same, some are lower.

Our 7 and 8 year olds had no problem snorkeling at the Christopher Columbus. The place is immaculate and the staff is super-friendly. Noticed that most of the guests return year after year.

I could keep writing and writing here. I was sad to leave. We would go back if there weren't so many places in the world to see.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theblues5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This is a well kept condo with the perfect location. With the beach right behind you, it's easy to get up in the mornings and head out for a little sand and surf. I really anjoyed all the space in the condo, it was clean and roomy. I wish I owned it! :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowgurl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Our family of four (me, my husband and his two teenage daughters) were in Grand Cayman from July 13th thru the 22nd. We rented a condo at Christopher Columbus Condos at the north end of Seven Mile beach. We were in unit 16 on the 2nd floor (3 bedroom, 2 bath unit). We paid the extra for a second-story ocean view room and it was definitely worth it. The balcony overlooked the ocean and we ate dinner on our balcony table most nights. (2 of the 3 bedrooms also overlooked the ocean). It was quiet and you couldn't hear noise from the neighbors. Unit 16 is right by the stairs and the bedroom I slept in (to get away from my husband's snoring!) was the one next to the stairs. I'm a very light sleeper so I needed to use earplugs. No one else had any problems sleeping. Mattresses and pillows were all great.

The condo was clean, maid service was excellent and we had a great beach. There was generally a shaded area available for us to use (although the last day of the vacation, 7 of the 9 shaded areas had towels but no people at them for most of the afternoon). The beach was a great place to lounge at and the ocean was a good stretch that you could swim in. The pool was very clean although the kids said the water was too warm for them (their preference is to swim in slightly cooler water).

The condo had pretty much everything you'd need (hairdryer, blender, tons of cooking equipment, PlayStation, books, 2 TVs with cable, free wi-fi, etc.). There were some beach toys by the pool that people could use. Someone on Trip Advisor mentioned there were kayaks -- we asked about these. They are privately owned and not available for use by guests (the front desk indicated that you could rent kayaks down by the public beach). There were 2 grills available for people to use. The condo had matches but we needed to buy charcoal and lighter fluid at the grocery store.

The location was great for us but it is removed from the main part of seven mile beach. The parasailing boat picked us up from our beach -- but otherwise it's about a 5-15 minute drive to the Westin or other places for activities (or food). You would definitely need a car to stay here (we had one rented the entire time). All in all, we enjoyed the condos and would recommend them to people who want a relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
414 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,205 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,967 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Columbus Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Columbus Condos

Property: Christopher Columbus Condos
Address: 2013 West Bay Road | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1102, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Better than a hotel, different from a resort, and ideally situated, the Christopher Columbus Condo is an intimate 30-unit beachfront condominium, offering beautifully appointed two and three bedroom condo rental units with either oceanfront or garden views. All condominium rental units offer central air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, telephones, and maid service. Other amenities offered include private lighted tennis courts, barbeque grills, laundry facilities, and a full concierge service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christopher Columbus Condos Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Christopher Columbus Condos Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing