We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Gourmet Sushi!”
Review of Taikun

Taikun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely Gourmet Sushi!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is certainly the best sushi we have ever had. We had dinner with some friends and they too loved it! Will visit frequently as we love sushi and this is the best in Grand Cayman.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SabinaJCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were lucky enough to eat here and had amazing sushi and we were able to have a romantic dinner here one night while staying at the property. The servers were great and very attentive. Truly a must try while on the island!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pkp426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Major disappointment”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had great memories of Taikun from previous visits, but this one was one to forget. Upon arrival I had to remind the hostess that I am allergic to shell fish and my husband to offal. Not a problem she said. Our waiter came over, we ordered and then he promptly argued with me that the chef's special could not be changed to suit my allergies. Having had this option before, I know that it can be. I don't appreciate being argued with by a waiter. He then ignored my husband's comment about his allergies and produced food that he could not have. The Maitre D came over and we explained and he took our waiter to one side. Still he argued that the chef's special could not be changed. When the sushi did come out, it was tired, dry and gross and felt mass produced. A major disappointment for what is meant to be a "top" sushi restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzyblonde267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always special”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Taikun is a special restaurant. Recently renovated and located at the Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman, the service is first class and the Omakase does not disappoint. It is the chefs choice five course meal. Prepared to perfection and beautifully presented it is a highlight of our yearly fall trek to Grand Cayman. There was no better way to celebrate our 32nd anniversary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank summerbreeze2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic dinner at Taikun. We had the tasting menu, everything was very well prepared. The restaurant is beautiful and the servers were very attentive. First time we have had freshly ground wasabi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lakmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taikun also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Taikun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing