We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little place...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour View Apartments and Studios
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Last minute trip planning. Booked flight then looked at accommodations and was a bit disheartened to see resort after resort after resort. This place was a gem! Clean, relaxing, friendly people and small enough that you can have a nice rapport with the other guests. The kitchen had what I needed, grocery store close by, and easy to catch the mini buses which greatly cuts down on costs. Always good to end the day with a nice little snorkel and sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chips007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

Loved it! We spent a week in an Ocean View Apartment with a private balcony. It was SO spacious with full kitchen (microwave, blender, coffee maker), and there's a barbeque on the beach. With Kirk's across the street, having the kitchen really cut down on food costs.

The King Bed was more comfortable than my bed back home! The bathroom is off of the bedroom, so if you wanted to have a third-fourth guest on the fold-out couch, you should be aware that they would have to walk through the bedroom to go the bathroom.

There is a sandy beach with beach chairs/picnic tables (no umbrellas) that leads to a rocky shore. There is a dock with a ladder to get into the water. Snorkeling behind the property is good. We even saw an Octopus snorkeling at night with a dive light!

The cruise ships park right outside of the hotel. We really enjoyed watching them come and go each day. And the property faces west, so everyone would gather every night to watch the sunset (waiting for the green flash!).

Bus is easy to catch (right in front), and downtown is an easy walk. Route 1 or 2 takes you up SMB and then goes all the way up to Turtle Farm and/or Hell. It's $2.50 American per ride.

Our favorite restaurant nearby was Myrtle's (turn left and walk 1/2 mile) which has local food, American food, and a bar. There's also Papa John's, Thai, and an Irish Pub near Myrtle's. Across the street is an Indian Restaurant and KFC.

Only thing that might bother some people is that the property is next to a cemetery. Rose and Dudley (who live on site) said only once did a guest had an issue with the cemetery, and that most of their guests are calm, quiet people. There was no partying when we stayed, except for a couple nights of fireworks off of the beach.

Also, you should bring your own beach towels.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have an ocean view with a door that opens to the beach, but the "Ocean Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veganmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Every local we meet eyes us with respect and tells us what a great place we've chosen. Most of them have a story of staying here, or having their family stay here. One of the other guests is staying here because he's rented his house. So obviously this place is doing something right.

What it isn't: perfect sandy beach, full service fancy hotel, there's no banana boat. It looks a little sketchy, and the rooms are serviceable but definitely not fancy. The view has cruise ships in it (maybe everywhere on 7 mile does, though).

What it has: amazing snorkeling, and a fridge and small kitchen. Can't say enough good about it!

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have a view. Check to be sure if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odoketa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed with Miss Rose years ealier and had fond memories of the place...they say you can never go home...but thats exactly what it felt like. I was fortunate enough to have the studio on the second floor with an amazing sunset view...no matter where I was on the island I kept the sunset appointment there...Clean comfortable and the other guests most friendly..Kitchen was well equipped allowing for a nice dinner prepared there of Fabulous fish from the near by market. Did I mention a blender...very nice and WiFI..the newest improvement.
Not a sand beach but access is very close to the magnificent 7 Mile...10 minute walk in to town..and wake up to new cruise ships in the harbour every morning. Snorkel from the Dock...my absolute favorite. on both sides you will see enough to make the trip worth it..venture our farther beyond the yellow buoy and before the red one and a whole new world opens up with amazing depths /stingrays/tarpon/and one Grand Barracuda that I know personally. Bring your water shoes if just swimming the iron shore is just that.
Welcoming /friendly /bright/spacious/beautiful/well located/walk to nightlife if you hear the music from the wharf... and great breezes..little need for AC..although its there ...and more importantly controllable. A perfect place...and my only destination in CI. ...

Room Tip: pay a bit more for the studios with the ocean view. and private balconys.larger and worth it..just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioSugarSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Sometimes I like to not let everyone know great little gems like this when traveling in fear of it becoming too popular or booked up always After looking at all the reviews and options in Grand Cayman I decided to book the Harbour View apartments. I called the owner Rose and she told me it was available for our stay. It was easy to book and I followed up with a e-mail and she replied with confirmation.

It is the best deal - and glad I found it.

It is about a 20 min drive from the airport, maybe a $30 cab ride with tip and all. We drove there from directions from the car rental company and it was super easy to find. It is located right in between 7 mile beach and Georgetown - below 7 mile beach and above Georgetown. You have across the street a gas station -with beer and mini mart, a KFC, a HSBC Bank and ATM and a grocery store. Either Georgetown or 7 mile beach is a 5 min walk. Great location.

The main purpose of my trip to Grand Cayman was to dive - so did not want anything to expensive or fancy. Harbor View Apts was perfect. I had apt 8, it was very clean - with a couch - full king bed with a super comfortable mattress and bed. There is a kitchenette with microwave, , full size frig, - and electric stove for cooking. We did go to the store and mostly cooked breakfasts, and got sandwiches at the store for lunch.

The kitchen is stacked with silverware - plates and glasses and all other items of a kitchen. It even had dish washing liquid / and scrubber and drying towel.

There was daily maid service. and ice clean fresh towels in the bathroom.

No smoking is ever allowed in the rooms so never any old smoke smell. However ash trays all outside for smoking and cigars.

We rented a car and there was always ample parking spots available.

The places are quite private and were quiet with great AC. There are Weber BBQ so you can BBQ. One night we had a BBQ / potluck with everyone staying there and that was fun.

There is a small sandy area in front of the apts with chairs - and picnic tables. It leads to a volcanic rock and a pier. The pier is one of the only ones I saw in the area - great for sitting at sunset and also at night. If you want the best full beach 7 mile is just a short walk/ and even shorter of a drive.

Right off the pier is an ok snorkeling - mostly around the pier and around the rock.

Free wifi as everyone indicated and most the service is great - but found greater speed outside - and more closer to the office and location of the router.

I was traveling with a friend - and think it is great for divers and couples, friends and solo.

While there I dove with Deep Blue Divers - and highly recommend. They pick up/ drop off you there at the hotel every morning.

Hope you find all this helpful - I was really happy with our apartment and our decision to stay there.

Room Tip: Studios and end units have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I've stayed here for many years and can't say enough good things about this lovely place. It's perfect for one person, or a family. If you're looking for fancy this is not the place. However, if you are looking for clean, affordable accommodation this is the place. Miss Rose and Mr. Dudley, the owners and managers, treat guests like family and that's why people are constantly returning to this gem.

While there is no beach access, there is a pier for water access. Snorkelling is awesome and if it's the beach you want, it's only a 10 minute walk away. A grocery store is across the street and it's about a 10-15 minute walk into central George Town. There are BBQs for the guests' use as well. All rooms have cooking facilities in addition to the BBQs.

Room Tip: Depending on the number in your group and your budget I would go for the apartments or the deluxe oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is a small, family run apartment complex.

Clean, basic accomodation, free wifi, oceanfront, small beach, grocery 5 minute walk, 7 mile beach hotels 10 minute walk. Awesome Indian restaurant across the street
I would highly recommend for:
1. Divers: space to dry out gear -- much better location than sunset house, etc.
2. Longer stays where you want to cook, keep house a bit, etc.
3. Not the place if you want fancy, a pool, room service, bar, etc.
4. Good for layovers (I stayed enroute to Cuba, as flights do not connect)

this place is low key, personable...with more a family feel

Rose the Manager, her family and the housekeeper are super nice and they apparently have guests come year after year.

She even gave me a ride to the airport.

So I say thumbs up if this suits you. I'll be back!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for -- there are larger ocean facing units and smaller units that have a porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pelicanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
0.0 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartments and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartments and Studios

Address: P.O. Box 176 GT, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour View Apartments is family owned and operated and has been in operation since 1990. With beautiful views and friendly staff, it's your “home away from home”. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartments And Studios Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Harbour View Apartments And Studios Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing