We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Under impressed”
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I continue to be under-impressed by the Ritz Carlton properties. My main issues with my stay in Grand Cayman:

1. The food is really expensive and not that great. Our best meal was at Blue - it was amazing! However, all of our other meals were just mediocre. I highly recommend walking to the nearby grocery store for lunch and snacks - they have a great salad bar with lots of fresh fruit.

2. They were painting throughout the entire hotel. We brought our four month old along and I was really worried about all of the paint fumes.

3. The pool side staff was hit or miss. Some days they were really attentive and other days it took forever to get assistance. I usually had to get up to get my own water.

4. I was really disappointed with the housekeeping. They never replenished the soaps or other toiletries. It seemed like they cleaned the room in five minutes.

Although, I probably won't go back, it is a family-friendly hotel. The pool was full of kids and there seemed to be lots of activities for children.

  • Liked — Family friendly
  • Disliked — Expensive, mediocre food
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 658darae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    431
    172
    52
    32
See reviews for
935
1,232
46
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We just got back from 4 days at the Grand Cayman Ritz and I would rate it a 4 and 1/2 stars. We try to stay at only the best properties, dont have or like being around small kids and are kind of picky so here goes....
We stayed in an ocean front room on the 5th floor that we paid approx $735 us for so we expected it to be good. The first room that they tried to give us was on the 3rd floor and had a view of the beach that was obstructed by trees, sort of a courtyard view at ocean view price! Not acceptable! So they moved u to a 5th floor middle of the hotel room. This room shuffle that we often have to go through when arriving at the hotel after paying the full rate is pretty much the only issue that kept this review from a 5 star.
The room was clean and well appointed, no complaints.
The beach is great, warm water, white sands and round discs in the ocean that you can float in. The hotel is located on a great section of the beach for walking and admiring the beach sites.
The pools where well kept and lounges were non a problem. There is a quiet pool and since we don't like the sound etc of little kids we went there most days. One issue is that the quiet pool is not on the ocean but near the golf course and so the setting is not as good as the main pool. Really the kid sounds at the main pool were not that bad, mostly well behaved kids and less parents acting in rediculous "child friendly" was than you find at many resorts.
Food....We love to eat good food and since we were not there for that many days we did not leave the resort. We ate at the 2 casual pool restaruants and both were decent (although the food at the Ritz in Cancun which we were at a few months ago was better). The prices were expensive but when you stay at the Ritz you should expect it and not complain. The sushi bar restrnt was very good and we are sushi fans. The 7 steak restnt was good and semi reasonablly priced. The last night we ate at Blue and the food was good but rich and the bill was $420 for 2 with only 2 glasses of wine. After they give the ladies a rose and the men a bag of salt, i'm not sure of the significance of the salt?
The staff is very nice and friendly and helpful and made our stay special.
The spa was wonderful and I highly recommend geting a message.
We took a taxi from the airport and it was easy and $25 each way.
Check out was smooth, they do charge a $30/day resort fee which is just another way of getting money and could bother some people.
All and all I think we would go back and that is what really matters in reading one of these review, which we always do before deciding on a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil-from-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

My husband and I just returned from the Ritz. We were there on a free reward trip from my company. The hotel is beautiful - it really lives up to the Ritz name. First the positives - our room was perfect and the service standard was very high. We loved all the little extras in the room (nice toiletries, maid service 2x/day, etc.). We really like the food at 7 (great lunch buffet and very nice Thursday night steak and lobster menu), and also at Periwinkle (outside by the "quiet" pool). Best food I've ever had at a hotel restaurant, for sure. The La Prairie spa was a very special experience. Highly recommend it!

On the less positive side, the hotel is a bit difficult to navigate b/c it is very big. The hotel stretches across a very large piece of land, so there is an enclosed bridge on the third level (looks like a long hallway/art gallery) that will get you across the street that divides the property. The bridge, while convenient, is not sufficiently air conditioned, so you feel like you are walking through an oven while moving from one side of the hotel to the other.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel with a perfect beach location
  • Disliked — Big and confusing layout
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Searchgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We just came back from the Ritz in Grand Cayman and we had a great time. We were there for my husband's company trip. I only gave it a 4 because there was some stuff they don't tell you about and we had to find out for ourselves, like the water bottles in the room with the Ritz paper are free. If
you are staying there with kids make sure you ask about kids prices for dining. Children 5 and under eat for free with a paying adult even if your ordering at the pool. We didn't discover this until a day before we left.
My kids were practically always in the pool and we order pizza's to feed everyone ( which isn't on the menu, either) because we didn't know they're food was free.
Other than that it was a great place, just make sure you get a room on the beach side of the hotel because the place is so HUGE that they're are two parts of the hotel one side is on the street that has the beach and the other is ACROSS the street with non beach access and you have to cross the street through the hotel bridge to get to the other side that has the beach!
They're spa was awesome!!
* Sting ray city was a must see***
Copperfalls steakhouse was awesome and try a local hangout called Champion House 2 for great food w/o tourist price. We got steak and lobster for $19, it was great!

  • Liked — The bed. The sheets and goose down comforter were amazing!
  • Disliked — lack of communication of activities and the resort ammenities
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cnplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

My wife & I spent one week at this magnificent hotel in May 2008.From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out everything was excellent. The hotel and grounds are beautifal and the beach is one of the best anywhere.The staff treated everyone wondefully nad seemed as if they couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nekkoleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Our stay was fantastic. The property is great at a great location, but for me, it was the staff that made our stay so wonderful. From the email I received from Guest Relations two and one half weeks before our arrival to the early morning of our departure, the staff at the hotel could not have been more wonderful. No request was too small or too large for them to deal with - always with and smile and pleasant nature. We were two couples and we stayed in a two bedroom suite in The Reserve - magnificant. Our every wish was their command at this hotel. When meeting staff members, we were often called by name. The cold towels, fruit and virgin daquiries at the pool and the beach were a nice touch. The fitness centre has top notch equipment and both pools and the beach were wonderful. An insurance company was having a fair size conference while we were there, and there was still plenty of room for everyone. No problem getting seats for four at the beach and/or pools.
We shall be returning same time next year!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leaseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

My husband and I spent 5 days at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman. We have stayed at many Ritz Carltons, Four Seasons and other top boutique hotels in the past. I will have to say the service was the best I have ever experienced. I would only come back for the hotel. Having been to much of the Caribean, I would not put the Caymans at the top of my list. The US dollar does not go far, at the Ritz or elsewhere on the island. The hotels ammenties are impeccable and there is little reason to leave. The Silver Rain spa is fantastic and many services come with the $30 resort fee. The restuarants are top-notch as well as all the of the other programs offered at the hotel. If you are planning to stay in the Caymans I must insist on the Ritz Carlton.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank LILD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing