We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property / Mixed Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property / Mixed Service”
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We just returned from this beautiful hotel. The location is perfect. If you do not have an ocean front room, plan on doing a lot of walking to the beach. If you do have an ocean front room, plan on doing a lot of walking to the front desk, spa, fitness center and concierge. The bulk of the hotel is not on the ocean side.

The Garden View rooms are across the street altho there is a lovely walkway that crosses over the street. We did have an ocean front with a balcony which I recommend.

Maid service was not Ritz calibre - have had better service at lesser hotels. The staff is from all over the world which is quite interesting - they try hard but miss on many accounts.

Beach attendants seem to be always busy and not readily available. The food is Ritz quality but costly as you would expect.

The concierges are great - altho not always accurate info as we later found out, i.e. we were told the Turtle Farm closed at 4:30pm on Friday and later found out they are open til 9pm on weekends and you get in free after 4pm. Small annoyances that you just don't expect from a Ritz Carlton.

I recommend this hotel with some hesitation.

  • Liked — Beautifully appointed grounds and hotel.
  • Disliked — Lack of perfection to detail.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KML-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,270
    435
    173
    52
    33
See reviews for
974
1,247
46
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

The Ritz Hotel was more than I expected. It is perfectly situated on the beautiful seven mile beach. The hotel ammenities are great. The room was very nice, with lots of space and a very luxury bathroom.
On mondays the ritz do a carribean night on the beach, really recommend you attend this event, lovely barbecue meal and you get to watch a movie right by the sea. I also recommend the Periwinkle restaurant.
If you are on your honeymoon or you're on a romantic holiday for 2, I really recommend you get the hotel to organise dinner for two in a marquis on the beach with a private butler for a very special evening.
I can't wait to go back and visit the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneWestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This by far is one of the most amazing places to visit. I have traveled to many places and stayed at premium resorts none can compare. From the moment you arrive the Ritz Carlton employees go above and beyond making everything perfect. The Resort is beautiful the food is excellent and the beach is the best.
No other words need to be said except if you can go to the Grand Caymans stay at the Ritz.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cuinmaui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Absolutely Amazing, its just as you would expect it to be. We've stayed at the RC before and its always been flawless. We booked our trip through the American Express Platinum Card Fine Hotels Program. If you are able to get an amex platinum card, its invaluable for travel and the $400 per year fee pays for itself after one stay. We were upgraded, got free breakfast each day and also a $100 credit.

The hotel is spectacular, the best place on the entire island. Its visually stunning, has 900+ employees (we chatted with some of the staff) who are all focused on making you feel like the most important person in the hotel.

here are my highlights and insights we discovered.

-the breakfast buffet had anything you could possibly want and probably more.

-the rooms are large, spacious and have beds you never want to get out of. We had an ocean view room with a balcony.

-the spa and fitness center are great. They offer free classes during the week. Charles, the trainer is great. Take his classes and also the pilates/yoga. It was a great way to start the day.

-after your workout, enjoy the spa showers, jacuzzi and steam rooms. they have everything you need to get ready again (toothbrushes and toothpaste, La Prarie face products) and will give you robes, slippers and a bag to take your sweaty gym clothes back upstairs.

-the tip for doormen, housekeeping and everyone besides spa and meal servers is included in the cost of your room.

-self park if you want, its just a short walk to the parking area

-they have a great lounge type party each friday, pretty good dj too.

-periwinkle has these amazing truffle fries you must try

-you can get kayaks and snorkel gear free from the watersports guys. if you swim out a bit there are actually really cool reefs and fish to see. almost like going scuba diving

-7 en fuego is their steak and lobster buffet, which is amazing. Again, they have anything you could want. They were making bananas foster to order the night we were there.

-blue is an amazing dining experience, we had the tasting menu. A bit expensive, but so tasty. I liked the tasting menu as the brasserie better (you must go here if you are in Grand Cayman)

-restaurants, in order of preference 1)the brasserie 2) seven 3)blue 4) alfresco (lunch) 5) calypso grill

-if you dive, go with wall to wall diving, such good guys, and the nicest boats we saw, max 8 people.

-the hotel is great for kids with outdoor movies each night, and also adult couples.

-sure, its a bit pricey, but honestly, with all the goodies you get, it balances out. if you can, i would do it.

feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank matthewloranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I continue to be under-impressed by the Ritz Carlton properties. My main issues with my stay in Grand Cayman:

1. The food is really expensive and not that great. Our best meal was at Blue - it was amazing! However, all of our other meals were just mediocre. I highly recommend walking to the nearby grocery store for lunch and snacks - they have a great salad bar with lots of fresh fruit.

2. They were painting throughout the entire hotel. We brought our four month old along and I was really worried about all of the paint fumes.

3. The pool side staff was hit or miss. Some days they were really attentive and other days it took forever to get assistance. I usually had to get up to get my own water.

4. I was really disappointed with the housekeeping. They never replenished the soaps or other toiletries. It seemed like they cleaned the room in five minutes.

Although, I probably won't go back, it is a family-friendly hotel. The pool was full of kids and there seemed to be lots of activities for children.

  • Liked — Family friendly
  • Disliked — Expensive, mediocre food
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 658darae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We just got back from 4 days at the Grand Cayman Ritz and I would rate it a 4 and 1/2 stars. We try to stay at only the best properties, dont have or like being around small kids and are kind of picky so here goes....
We stayed in an ocean front room on the 5th floor that we paid approx $735 us for so we expected it to be good. The first room that they tried to give us was on the 3rd floor and had a view of the beach that was obstructed by trees, sort of a courtyard view at ocean view price! Not acceptable! So they moved u to a 5th floor middle of the hotel room. This room shuffle that we often have to go through when arriving at the hotel after paying the full rate is pretty much the only issue that kept this review from a 5 star.
The room was clean and well appointed, no complaints.
The beach is great, warm water, white sands and round discs in the ocean that you can float in. The hotel is located on a great section of the beach for walking and admiring the beach sites.
The pools where well kept and lounges were non a problem. There is a quiet pool and since we don't like the sound etc of little kids we went there most days. One issue is that the quiet pool is not on the ocean but near the golf course and so the setting is not as good as the main pool. Really the kid sounds at the main pool were not that bad, mostly well behaved kids and less parents acting in rediculous "child friendly" was than you find at many resorts.
Food....We love to eat good food and since we were not there for that many days we did not leave the resort. We ate at the 2 casual pool restaruants and both were decent (although the food at the Ritz in Cancun which we were at a few months ago was better). The prices were expensive but when you stay at the Ritz you should expect it and not complain. The sushi bar restrnt was very good and we are sushi fans. The 7 steak restnt was good and semi reasonablly priced. The last night we ate at Blue and the food was good but rich and the bill was $420 for 2 with only 2 glasses of wine. After they give the ladies a rose and the men a bag of salt, i'm not sure of the significance of the salt?
The staff is very nice and friendly and helpful and made our stay special.
The spa was wonderful and I highly recommend geting a message.
We took a taxi from the airport and it was easy and $25 each way.
Check out was smooth, they do charge a $30/day resort fee which is just another way of getting money and could bother some people.
All and all I think we would go back and that is what really matters in reading one of these review, which we always do before deciding on a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil-from-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

My husband and I just returned from the Ritz. We were there on a free reward trip from my company. The hotel is beautiful - it really lives up to the Ritz name. First the positives - our room was perfect and the service standard was very high. We loved all the little extras in the room (nice toiletries, maid service 2x/day, etc.). We really like the food at 7 (great lunch buffet and very nice Thursday night steak and lobster menu), and also at Periwinkle (outside by the "quiet" pool). Best food I've ever had at a hotel restaurant, for sure. The La Prairie spa was a very special experience. Highly recommend it!

On the less positive side, the hotel is a bit difficult to navigate b/c it is very big. The hotel stretches across a very large piece of land, so there is an enclosed bridge on the third level (looks like a long hallway/art gallery) that will get you across the street that divides the property. The bridge, while convenient, is not sufficiently air conditioned, so you feel like you are walking through an oven while moving from one side of the hotel to the other.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel with a perfect beach location
  • Disliked — Big and confusing layout
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Searchgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing