We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$310
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
US$721
US$611
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$706
US$643
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,226
US$1,106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,209)
Filter reviews
3,209 results
Traveller rating
2,460
465
189
60
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,460
465
189
60
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar jackthe ritzclub levelbeach sideresort viewgrand caymanocean frontsushi restauranttasting menusteam roomresort feefour seasonsfront rowrum punchpaddle boardsfitness centerbeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,917 - 1,922 of 3,209 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year wedding anniversary at the grand Caymans Ritz-Carlton resort from October 12-20, 2013, we originally had an ocean front suite booked (no package\$15k) but due to the government shutdown we decided to be financially responsible and downgrade to an ocean front room (room 828) (comfort you package\$6k+). The ocean front room was very nice and spacious. Let me first start by saying we would recommend this resort if coming to the grand Caymans. There are 2 pools the main one by the beach and a smaller quitter pool on the other side of the resort; we frequented this pool a lot because for some odd reason there were a lot of kids here which is weird considering the time of the year. Complaint – there is no one at the smaller quitter pool to provide you with drinks\food. Another complaint – due to this being there slow season their signature restaurant was closed (blue) that sucked considering we were looking forward to eating there. There steak restaurant (7\seven) was open and it is good not the best steaks I ever had but they were good we would recommend this restaurant. Breakfast was also served at (7\seven) the buffet was included in our package and we found it to be average at best no variety at ALL, it was the same items every day… the spa and the gym was great! We had 2 couples’ massages while on our vacation. The food at the bar jack is really good as well; if you are in need of a taxi cab ask for Kelsey he is nice and honest we used him the entire trip! The Ritz really tried to make this trip special by giving us little cakes that said “happy anniversary” the spa gave us roses, chocolate covered strawberries, and champagne for our anniversary. Hopefully the Ritz-Carlton management team reads this and praises the following staff:
• Henry (Bar Jack)
• Trisha (Bar Jack)
• Milan (Spa)
• David (Spa)
• Ferdaine (Spa)
• Prakash (Spa)
• Johaan (Chef)
The staff above went above and beyond to make our trip great!!! The dinner wait staff in restaurant 7 was great (Orlando & who waited on us 10/19/2013), the engineer who fixed our remote and fan.
Over all a good trip, if we came back to this island we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have visited this property too many times to remember, since it first opened in mid-2000 (shortly after Hurricane Ivan). What started out great has been on a steady decline. We usually stay in the Residences, but the troubles run throughout the property. We will try to highlight some here, as well as the remaining small glimmers of hope. The first thing you notice is that the service is not Ritz level. The staff has been thinned and rotated, but all for the worse. There is a serious training issue at this property as new staff takes way too long to learn the meaning of Ritz service. As we thought about this experience, we recalled the experience at the Westin 10 years ago before the Ritz opened. If it were not for Grand Cayman's beaches and weather, one might start to question the value. That is sad because just a few years ago this was not the case. We understand the manager has changed twice in the last few years and the jury is out on the newest, but the early anecdotal evidence is not positive. For example, a story is already circulating that the manager met with the Residence owners and announced that the Residence guests were "a bother" to the hotel. "Using services, lounge chairs, etc." If this is true, it is hard to imagine it could be good if people paying upwards of $1-3,000 per night were a "bother." If this is true, it speaks poorly of where this property is headed, because Residence guests and "regular" guests are not distinguishable. Let's turn to basic maintenance. The pool was plain dirty. One area had a moldy growth along the bottom and sides, and the tiles were rife with some sort of eggs attached. Various areas were undergoing maintenance, a good sign, but paint smells abound throughout the hotel. Workers were visible in various places mostly because they seem intent on being as much of a nuisance as possible. They block pathways, make as much noise by the pool as humanly imaginable, and are the most obtrusive we have seen at a premium property. The food, interestingly, was better. Although we visited at low season, and the place was likely at 10% most of the time, the food quality was maintained for the most part. The lounge chair cushions are old and badly in need of replacement. The fact that this is not underway makes one wonder if anyone is watching. This would seem a higher priority than painting the entrance doors new colors, which was in process. The gym and spa are definitely in need of attention. The gym has fewer pieces of equipment, spaced to take up the same amount of room (kind of a "maybe they won't notice" effect). The spa has seen some replacement pieces, but it was incomplete. Hopefully, that will be completed.
For those unaware, this property, which is independently owned and managed by Ritz, was taken back by the funding parties and recently came out of that receivership, sold to a NY financial group. The recent change "should" result in positive changes, assuming the new owners invest appropriately. The residences suffered the worst from this process. There is a real tension between the hotel management and residences (as alluded to in the rumor reported above), and this must be mended. The residences are a real attraction for families on a family friendly island, but the residence halls and common areas need a lot of work. Many of the residences also need work. Overall, Grand Cayman being as wonderful an escape for families as it is, this is the best the island has to offer right now. It needs some TLC and service improvement to keep it that way or the next premium competitor will quickly take it over.

Room Tip: You will pay more, but the ocean front is worth the difference (unless you're on a short stay). The secret here, if you don't mind not seeing the ocean, is that the pool on the island side is much less populated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warmweatherlovers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Everything you would expect from Ritz.. The restaurants were incredible... Really everything was perfect.. You will not want to leave the resort for other restaurants, beaches, etc.. Very $, but everything in Grand Cayman is. One key would be to stay beach side, it really makes a difference.. It's family friendly and their are tons of kids...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERTLOUISSTEVENSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This property was the best place I have ever stayed. The service was great. The staff really seemed to care about you and knew your name. We were greeted with complementary rum punch when we arrived and were given a tour of the property. We went during the off season and the we felt like we had the place to ourselves. The staff was very accommodating to all our request and provided an amazing experience for our whole group. They have equipment you can get on the beach for no charge for water activities and they have a great location on seven mile beach. They have two turndown services daily and the facilities are kept in great shape. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Grand Cayman this is it! Impeccable!

Room Tip: Go during the off season and save on rooms and get an oceanview. Well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkp426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Grand Cayman of many more in the future. After staying at the Ritz, we won't go anywhere else on the island. Perfect beach location, best pool and beach area. Sushi was so fresh, frozen drinks were tasty. Friendly staff all around. We noticed families as well as couples enjoying their stay. Breakfast was good, but pricey. October 3rd is slow time, which we enjoyed having great weather and any beach chair we wanted. Sunsets are amazing from any seat! Room 727 is renovated and overlooking the pool and beach, great room!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MamaMiaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews