We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant resort”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for 15 nights in February and the resort was world class. It occupies arguably the nicest stretch of seven mile beach with lots of beach amenities but also a short walk to other less busy parts. The F&B options were really good especially the Italian restaurant and the Sunday brunch at Seven. The cocktails in the bar were good too. The rooms are decorated very tastefully and have been recently refurbished so still feel very new and clean. One small glitch is for some reason there was quite a large gap under the door which let light in from the outside corridor at night time so it was never really that dark but I am nit-picking. Service from start to finish was first class and the whole place has a special feel. Staff are very friendly without being overbearing or fake. Treatments at the spa were very good albeit not quite up to the standards you would get in this price resort in other parts of the world such as Asia. The golf course was beautifully maintained if a little straightforward. Overall I'd return readily.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    422
    171
    50
    31
See reviews for
881
1,174
44
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a seven night stay at this property. This was our first stay and a Ritz-Carlton property and we weren't disappointed. Seven Mile beach is beautiful and clean with turquoise water. The property is located close to many restaurants (we liked Sunshine Grill and Lauren for breakfast) and it's an easy bus ride to town if you don't have a car. The ocean view rooms are fabulous and worth the expense. And, we want to say thanks to Jason Ellis for taking such good care of us and making our visit a memorable one!

Room Tip: Ocean view all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a top-notch hotel that certainly lives up to the "Ritz" reputation. From the moment you walk in and are greeted by friendly attentive service, fruit punch and cookies, the service is impeccable. The concierge, Howard, was so helpful arranging private Scuba lessons for us and contacting our home diving office for the proper documents to be forwarded. They were helpful with absolutely everything. The buffet breakfast is very nice, but a little expensive. There are also lots of great menu items to select separately as well. They have a fairly new Sushi restaurant that is wonderful.

The beach is gorgeous. The beach service is wonderful. The watersports are plentiful and again, the staff is so friendly and helpful. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms on the ocean side for access and convenience to the main pool and the ocean, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The staff are a credit to the organization that they represent. The natural friendliness of the island flows through in abundance. Happy greetings and wonderful service is everywhere. THe hotel is standard RC. Well appointed and cared for. Its very large and spans a road but the distance between its parts is minimized by the artwork on display as you move between buildings. Ritz Carlton stays are expensive and that is to be expected. For example the undoubtedly delicious breakfast buffet will set you back $90 USD for two. Also the US visitor should be prepared for prices being quoted in KY (Cayman) Dollars and to add 25% as a conversion rate. So an $18 glass of wine is $22.50 USD. Except that's not the case. This property pursues what in my opinion is a particularly annoying habit of adding 15% gratuity to EVERY item. So the $18 KY wine actually costs you $25.87 USD! I'm open to debate but this automatic gratuity leads me to NOT add anymore except in exceptional circumstances. I really, really hope that this gratuity pool is shared amongst all employees but my personal preference is to tip as I see fit - I bet I would have tipped higher overall if it was left to me. This gratuity policy seems to be prevalent on the island so perhaps its just the way it is. Either way - the exchange rate is in reality 1.44 if you want to know exactly what you will be spending in USD.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Paul F,
Thank you very much for visiting with us and sharing your comments about our resort experience. Your compliments about our Ladies and Gentlemen are wonderful to read and I look forward to sharing your kind words. I would also be glad, if you can afford the time, to discuss with you in further detail the concerns you expressed about service charges. You may reach me personally at +1 (345) 815-6006. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman with our toddler and several other members of our extended family (we booked 3 rooms total). Make no mistake, this is a top-notch resort on one of the most beautiful stretches of beach in the world.

We stayed in a Garden View King Room with our daughter, who slept in a crib. The guestrooms are newly-renovated and spacious with a decent-sized balcony. The bathrooms are very large and up there with the best we've seen in a hotel. The HVAC system is quiet, works excellently and the guestrooms all have ceiling fans. The shower could have been slightly larger with better water pressure, and the crib was a bit small for a 2-year-old, but those are both minor complaints.

Yes, the Garden and Resort View Rooms are across a road from the main pool and beach. Anyone who complains about this is ridiculous. It's - at most - a 5-minute walk through an enclosed, air-conditioned corridor that is lined with beautiful local artwork (of which my mother-in-law purchased a piece). There are several pros to staying back in the Garden or Resort rooms anyway: you are much closer to the complimentary morning coffee bar, the spa, the fitness center (where my wife took a free yoga class), the club room, a secondary pool which is shaded in the afternoon, the lobby bar and three restaurants: Blue, Taikun (sushi) and Periwinkle. We don't spend hours sitting inside our room on vacation so the view doesn't matter much to us.

The main pool and beach facilities have excellent lounge chairs (so comfortable in fact that my daughter actually took her nap on the beach every day!). The sea is perfectly smooth, crystal clear and quite warm (I'd estimate it to be about 80 degrees in May), and the sand is soft and powdery. There are awesome, large rafts and free use of kayaks, paddleboards, snorkel equipment and a water tricycle. Food from Barjack is delicious, can be delivered anywhere and is reasonably priced. It was a huge benefit for us that kids 5 and under eat free just about anywhere on the property. (Otherwise, the kids meals are $15CI = $18US). The drinks will run you about $17US a pop - but again, this is an expensive resort.

The overall price of this resort comes with perks: My daughter is a bit picky about fruit, and even though cantaloupe was not on the breakfast buffet or the kids menu, the staff went out of their way to get it for us on several occasions. You're greeted with rum punch when you check in. Every afternoon, there is a free icy treat at the pool, usually sno-cones or freeze pops. We also saw the beach staff passing out cold, fresh juices, rum punch and fresh fruit. There is always plenty of fruit-infused water at the pool and beach. My in-laws had the breakfast buffet at Seven included in their rate (we did not). If you can get it included, it's a good deal because it's large (everything from an omelet station, pastries, lots of fruit, a juice bar, eggs, french toast, pancakes, etc) and is served until 11a. It will set you back $90 for 2, but the day my wife and I purchased it, we skipped lunch. Thursday night the hotel staff hosted a complimentary cocktail hour from 5:30 to 6:30 at Seven where we had the chance to chat with many employees, including the General Manager. We also had a great dinner at Seven on Thursday night, where they offer steak frites for a reduced price ($28CI for flat iron or $38CI for filet). They are also building a large splash park for kids by the resort-side pool.

Now for a few minor complaints: the resort does not provide beach toys for kids. It's tough to travel on an airplane with a sand bucket and shovel, and we've stayed at other Ritz-Carltons where that has been provided. It would be welcome here. Instead, we purchased one for $12.50. The front desk check in was a bit slow. Tired from the airplane ride, we ate at Periwinkle the first night, which is al fresco dining. This restaurant overlooks the hotel's lagoon and they show kids' movies on a large screen under the stars. Seems like a great idea, except the mosquitoes were pretty terrible. I'd avoid it in the future.

Yes, this resort is expensive, but all-in-all, we had a great vacation and would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elahnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Grand Cayman and our 2nd visit to the Ritz Carlton Hotel. What a wonderful place to come and stay - top service, great food, and wonderful/helpful staff!!!! On this trip we had my daughter, her fiance, and my sister-in-law. I told them they would love it here at this property - they had such a wonderful time they can't wait to return next year. We were celebrating Mothers Day, our 45th wedding anniversary, and our daughter's engagement. Closer to the time of your stay the concierge contacts you to help you make dining reservations and to see what attractions you would like to try. Do not miss swimming with the stingrays!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the ocean front room (not the resort view) - the view from your balcony is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear triciadc,
It was wonderful to celebrate with you and welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman. I am thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed this most recent visit with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon. Celebrating all these delightful occasions is a real treat for our Ladies and Gentlemen. We thank you for sharing that experience with us.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently celebrated our 40th Wedding anniversary at this Ritz Carlton property and had a wonderful experience. We knew it was a very expensive hotel (as is the entire Island) but for a special occasion we thought it was well worth the cost. The service is the best we have ever experienced, there is something to be said for being greeted by your name by almost every staff member. We had an oceanfront room/view from which I counted 11 shades of blue water on 7 mile beach. There are several excellent restaurants on the property but we mostly frequented "Seven". Local dishes were delicious. The pool staff was great and helped us find lounge chairs in the shade and moved the umbrellas as the sun moved.
Overall, an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront view, above the 5th fl toward the middle of the hotel. Best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waldrjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear waldrjc,
Our Ladies and Gentlemen were delighted to celebrate with you and I am excited to share your compliments. Seven Mile Beach offers such breathtaking views with wondrous shades of blue - a memory we hope you'll treasure forever. We look forward to creating more memories with you soon. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing