We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, expensive resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, expensive resort”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at the Ritz in May and had a fabulous time! As others have mentioned, the resort spans a large area, so one can stay on the beach side or the lagoon side. It's really not that far of a walk to the beach, but if you have difficulty walking, it is something to keep in mind. The pool on the lagoon side is actually less crowded and calmer, but you really can't beat the chairs on the beach, which is gorgeous! Food and drinks at the pool (and elsewhere) are quite expensive, but typical for both Grand Cayman and for a pricey hotel. There is both a liquor store and grocery store nearby, but the fridge in the room is not large enough to accommodate much.


The rooms are large and comfortable. Free bottles of water and turn down service nightly, which is a nice touch. I was somewhat disappointed that there is no full length mirror in the room. Minor issue, for sure, but puzzling.

We received consistently good service. Everyone was polite, professional, helpful, etc.

A few tips:
You can use the spa for free- nice showers, hot tub, sauna, etc. Free La Prarie products in the dressing rooms.
Snorkeling gear and other water sports are free.
Go to the Sunshine grill right down the street for breakfast or lunch. Crowded, but so worth it for painkillers and fish tacos.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind the cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,221
    432
    172
    52
    32
See reviews for
940
1,234
46
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

With a setting of Seven Mile Beach, it wasn't going to be hard to put a good hotel together but this place really does exceed. A huge complex with 4 or 5 excellent restaurants, the decor is calm and classy and the service is impeccable. Not cheap by any means but you do get what you pay for.

For an extra tip, try the blackened tuna at Seven restaurant. Best meal of the holiday

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank toronado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

In many business leadership classes one hears about how they perform at Ritz Carlton--- ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. Our trip lived up to the hype. We were greeted with rum punch and fresh baked cookies, every time we asked for directions someone would walk us all the way to the destination, the room service was outstanding, and everyone was very polite and friendly. I am looking forward to other stays at Ritz properties.

Room Tip: Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I just returned from a week long trip and wish I could go back! Everything about this resort was top notch. All the staff members provided impeccable service and the resort is the best in the Caymans. The beach is unreal! I've traveled to numerous Caribbean islands and I think the water is the bluest and clearest of them all. Do yourself a favor and book it now! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leoprincess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The property is pretty large and there are two pool options. Both are very nice, with one being more low-key and away from the beach. The highlight is setting up shop on a beach chair where a Ritz staff member is always around to get you situated. Then you can have drinks and food at your leisure as you relax on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The food on the beach, however, is average to below average. It's basic "hotel foodservice" quality.

One major issue I have with this property is the service. When you stay at the Ritz and hotels of this caliber, you expect great service. In my opinion, the service here is very forced and superficial. Yes, they'll greet you with a nice drink upon check-in and offer to carry your bags, etc. You know, window dressing type of service. However, when you have basic requests and questions, the staff seems confused and disinterested. It took 20 minutes of me standing at the front desk to get a response on a late check-in request.

This is a Ritz property, so it's beautiful. The location is ideal. The service could use some polishing if they want to be up to par with other properties under the Ritz banner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoffeeBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear CoffeeBuyer,
Our Ladies and Gentlemen are committed to sharing a warm, genuine service experience with our guests and I am disappointed this was not reflected in your visit with us. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail. If you can afford the time, I invite you to contact me personally at +1 (345) 815-6006. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The Ritz brand always delivers impeccable hospitality. But this resort is the most beautiful resort I've ever stayed in. Their recent room renovations are exceptional. The pool and beach services are second to none. If I could afford to stay here for two weeks, I would. Paradise.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDre939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just got back from 5 days of relaxation for our 2nd Wedding Anniversary. I cannot say enough about this gorgeous property, great location, and superb customer service. Everyone made it a point to greet us by name, wish us happy anniversary, and ask if there was anything else they could possibly do to make our stay better. Florin, Hudson, Emilio, Scott (Concierge) and the rest of the staff were just wonderful. They made the best suggestions for acitivites, dinner reservations, and shopping destinations. We cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to their Blue Tip Suite and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_un0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing