We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, service, and food, but priciest on island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've never been disappointed at the Ritz, except for prices, which can be $1,000 a night here on a holiday weekend after taxes and fees for the cheapest rooms. If you are staying here, prices are probably of little concern.

Upon arrival, we were promptly greeted with a complimentary cocktail and cookies. The concierge was very helpful in recommending a restaurant off the property. The food at the on site restaurants were excellent.

The bartender at the pool bar remembered our name after introducing ourselves once, and always greeted us by name. You can't get much better than that. The house specialty cocktails were all great. Running into Anthony Bourdain, Jose Andres, and Eric Ripert at the pool bar was outstanding as well. The beaches were very nice and you can walk along the beach to a large commercial district where there are lots of shops and even more restaurants.

The free DVD rentals were perfect to fill in some free time when it rained.

The free ipad case and fresh fruit awaiting us in our room were great perks.

Room Tip: It's a very long walk if you don't stay on the ocean side, perhaps 100 yards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillylaw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 3,090 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman and had a wonderful stay. To put this review into perspective, I should say that we have previously stayed in GCM in Nov 2012 at the Grand Cayman Beach Suites (a lovely place by the way if you are looking for a suite/self catering type holiday) and my husband visited the island between 1990 and 1993 a few times. We also appeared to have stayed at the same time as previous posters as we too saw the closures of the pool due to 'sanitary' issues - to be honest, I would rather the Hotel shut the pool and take the effort to clean it thoroughly (if required) than the alternative. What can the Ritz do about this problem? Aside from banning children from entering the Pool, nothing and nor should they. This is a common problem with all hotels & resorts that allow Children into their pools - the difference being that the Ritz take it very seriously and act promptly. Anyone thinking that this is actually a problem, it's not (apparently it was the same child - we did ask) and do not let it put you off from booking. There is after all an award winning beach with an incredibly clear, calm and warm Ocean for swimming in not to mention the second pool on the other side of the hotel.

Beach - For many, us included, this is the main pull to both the location and the island. Seven Mile beach does not disappoint. Snorkelling straight from the beach is good and gets better the further you go out - there are markers that limit the water sport activity to further out, so you feel safe but always best to keep an eye out for paddle boarders or have a snorkel marker (lilo, inflatable flag etc) if you decide to venture further out. In our seven days, we saw loggerhead turtles on three occasions (apparently this is quite rare) and these were actually quite close in, eating in the shallower sea grass areas in front of the Caribbean Club & BeachComber properties about 15 meters ish out from the shore.#

Rooms - There are two sides to the resort in terms of where the rooms are located, Ocean View rooms are on the Ocean side where the main pool, Seven restaurant, Bar Jack and the Ritz Residences are and the Resort View/Garden View rooms are over on the other side of the Hotel where the other restaurants, main reception and second pool are. In between the two sides of the resort is a main road (which cannot be heard whatsoever and only really remembered if you go outside to get a tax), however there is a internal walkway over this and it is still within the air conditioned interior of the Ritz itself - unless you walk slowly or require assistance, it does not take long at all to get from one side to the other. We had an Ocean View room on the fifth floor and to get to the reception and Silver Palms bar on the other side too at most 5 minutes - however as there are many paintings to view (for for sale also) along the route and because we were, after all, on Holiday with no real requirement to do anything quickly, we usually sauntered and took in the ambience, even then a 7 - 10 minute walk is all it took. The rooms are tastefully decorated and from the Nespresso machine to the super beds, they exude the feel of luxury that goes with the Hotel.

Pools
There are two pools and a jacuzzi. The larger pool and the Jacuzzi are located next to the beach on the ocean-side of the property but there is another good size pool on the Resort View & Garden View side of the property. The second pool was often very quiet as most visitors seemed to be drawn to the main pool. The cabanas that surround the second pool are very comfortable and for those needing their fix of sport or the news, several of the cabanas have their own personal flatscreen televisions tastefully affixed to the cabana itself.

Restaurants + Food
We decided to eat at Seven, Periwinkle and Bar Jack during our stay but there is also Taikun (Sushi) and Blue.
Bar Jack - Ocean/Pool side but classy with great burgers, lobster rolls and complimentary Plantain crisps (with Mojito Mayo) and great service.
Seven - A la carte breakfast options for breakfast, or there is a breakfast buffet option which is exceptional and needs to be seen (and tasted) to be fully appreciated. There is a Champagne Brunch on Sundays from 1200 until 1500. Seven is open in the evening and dedicates itself to providing great steaks. We went on a Thursday even when they had a 'Steak Frites' evening and I would highly recommend it - their wine list is exceptional with a Sommelier on hand to assist if required. Note: The mango brioche bread that is given to you as a complimentary side/starter (in keeping with more North American restaurants) is really very very nice.
Periwinkle - Serves more of an Italian menu, we visited twice for Pizza and Pasta. The location is brilliant, right near the dock of the inland waterway. In the evening you will see many tarpon. Near the restaurant, but found tucked away in the bushes is an outside movie theatre which looked great fun even in our old'er' age (we are both early 30s) and is catered for families with children eating earlier in the evening. However, if you do decide to eat earlier, the movie does not put you off at all - you can barely hear it and it is still a lovely atmosphere.

Bars
There is a bar at Seven and also a really good beach bar at Bar Jack, however our favourite was the Silver Palm Lounge, a good looking bar serving great cocktails in the evening (or any time you wish) along with an authentic afternoon tea. We liked this place a lot and the service was incredible and we specifically enjoyed the creativity of the bar staff with cocktails.

Locale
Within a 10 minute walk either direction of the Hotel are a host of restaurants and bars along with Fosters Food Market which sells supermarket produce from both the US and UK. Near to Fosters is a lovely Coffee shop with does light eats, a Tax Free Jewellery shop (Kirk Freeport) and Copper Falls Steakhouse to name only a few places. We have walked into Georgetown from the Ritz area before during the early morning and would take about 30-45 minutes at a casual pace. Having said that, Taxis are frequent and are actually small cream coloured mini-buses - they beep their horn once when driving down the road from behind you in case you need a lift. We did use the taxis but have heard good things.

Service
This is the last section and completely intentional as this was for us, the most overwhelming positive to take away from our holiday; the service was just exceptional and never faltered throughout our stay. Nothing was too difficult and they seem to have thought of everything that a customer could possibly want. All staff we came across were incredibly professional, courteous, knowledgeable and friendly from the front desk/reception staff, to the beach/pool team and restaurant staff. Special mention must go to 'Richard' in the Silver Palm Lounge - his cocktail skills and professionalism were above reproach. We would return just for the service alone - Ritz-Carlton, from the Mitchells from 14.6 to 21.6 on the Fifth Floor, thank you for helping us find our special place.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are fantastic - we stayed on the Fifth Floor which gave us a great view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hello again , My wife and I we able to get away for a few day 6/16 - 6/20. I have to say from the time we step out of the cab to the time we left at 11 am on Friday it was like being royalty I would guess would be the best way to put it . To the all the staff and management of this fine luxurious hotel -- Thank you for a great . It is my only that some day I will get to return .

Room Tip: Some will say the price per night is high - not really once you take away all they give you while yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Markrc_10,
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort! Our Ladies and Gentlemen will be delighted when I share your compliments with them. Providing you with the finest service and creating cherished memories is our passion and we cannot wait to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

There are no words to describe the first class service at amenities at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman at Seven Mile Beach. The rooms have been recently renovated and the details are amazing!!! To the welcome drinks upon arrival, to in room movies that can be checked out during your stay to the resort amenities like catamaran sailing, this hotel is extraordinary!!! The resort is built on both sides of the road so there are ocean front rooms and there are rooms where the golf course is located which are not ocean view but called garden view. Regardless of where you stay, all of the rooms and service is impeccable!!! The General Manager Marc Langevin made us feel at home! His presence was enormous throughout the resort ready to help and assist in any way to ensure we felt welcome! In America, this is a rarity. He mingled among guests and really made us feel like we were at his home and he went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The breakfast buffet was also amazing and the pool was a serene tropical oasis! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to treat themselves to a true home away from home! You will not regret it-it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights on a combination business trip and weekend getaway. Everything about this property is top notch, starting from when you are met at the door with rum punch. Directly on Seven Mile Beach, I think it is one of the nicest properties on the island. Both the beach and pool are as pretty as you would want. There are paddleboards, kayaks, and floating tables available for you (all "free" since you pay an extra resort fee each night) as well as lots of umbrellas and shaded chaise lounges. If that's not enough, the concierge was very helpful – see my other post about a kayak tour to avoid – and can connect you anything you want to do. The restaurants in the hotel are excellent, especially Blue. But we kept coming back to eat dinner at Bar Jack because we like being outside. If you want to get off the property, consider taking a cab to the Cracked Conch and having dinner as the sun sets.

It is important to know the hotel is actually two buildings, and this seems to be the main complaint in other reviews. There is one building on the beach, but the second is across the street (the main entrance and lobby are in the second building). The two buildings are connected by a pretty long corridor and bridge. We had read about this before arriving so we knew to expect it, but we heard other people complaining once they learned this. It did take time to walk from our room to the beach/pool, but it isn't as bad as some make it seem. If you made it through the airport on the way here without needing a wheelchair, then you'll be able to make it to the beach. The beachfront rooms must have fantastic views, but they are ridiculously expensive. If you are in the second building, be sure to ask for a room facing the gardens (rather than the street). The rooms were smaller than I expected for the amount of money you are paying, but they are still well appointed and comfortable.

The warm and friendly staff falls over itself trying to assist you. Two examples stand out. First, you will think you have a personal valet at the pool. The staff is very attentive to making you comfortable, offering water, remembering your name, and bringing you drinks from the bar. It can be hard to find a chaise lounge if you don’t come out early, but the staff will help you find one. Second, at one point I went to the desk and asked to borrow a stapler as I needed to collate and staple forty or fifty handouts for the conference. Two staff members came out from the back office with staplers and insisted on doing it for me.

Of course, you are paying Ritz Carlton rates for all of this, but you will have an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GateE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, friendly helpful staff, reasonable restaurants. However the main pool has been shut for 3 of the last 5 days due to a child defecating in the water. Not ideal, hard for the hotel to control this, but something should be done to avoid this. The main pool is a centerpiece for the resort.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Wemail8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Sitting at the airport waiting to board flight home to the states after 6 days celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary at this beautiful resort. Sorry to have to leave but hope to be back. This resort is top notch. The hotel, food offerings, staff, were all excellent. I would be remiss in not mentioning that the only complaint would be what is with all the kids? I understand that this is not a adults only property, but I was dumbfounded by all of the family's with very young children that chose a Ritz Carlton for their vacation. The beach area is beautiful and large and for the most part quiet. Except when the pool has to be closed for decontaminating due to children's accidents, then the beach gets inundated with loud children. By the way, in our 6 day stay the pool was closed 4 times. They are in the process if building a water park on the other side of the property I would believe to control this situation. All in all, had a great stay. Don't miss sunshine grill and the best fish tacos anywhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BigDpga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Big Dpga,
We are sorry you had to leave as well! We are honored you chose to celebrae your 20th anniversary with us and I am pleased to read you enjoyed our resort. Grand Cayman is a favorite destination for families and couples alike. As you mention, we are currently enhancing our resort experience with an interactive water feature and other amenities to ensure an outstanding and memorable experience for everyone. I look forward to introducing you to these new amenities soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us, your feedback is incredibly valuable.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
618 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,803 reviews
18.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £483 - £1,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing