We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pricey but gorgeous”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Loved staying at The Ritz, but glad someone else was paying for it!!! Hence why I put value as average. Pretty property and staff was top notch. We were lucky to be staying in the portion of the hotel which was beach side, but there was a whole other part of the hotel on the opposite side of the street. If you wanted to eat on property, you had to wait for a table and don't expect to pay less than $75 for 2 lunch. We stay in Turks and Caicos often which we like better.....Grand Cayman is VERY commercialized and beach is not as pretty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEJ-MWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,209
    431
    172
    51
    32
See reviews for
932
1,229
46
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at excellent resorts which is somewhat connected to the Ritz as we were able to use all their amenities. It's a beautiful resort. Pool, beach, fitness center, bar, etc. Everything was spot on and awesome.

Great beach chairs and the staff was friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just arrived home from a week at the Ritz in Grand Cayman!!

It is a very nice property and the staff tries very hard to do everything right, some of them are fantastic and others are still trying to get there. Here is what you need to know: Due to a mandatory $60 daily "resort fee" and a mandatory $59.35 daily "tourism tax" and a mandatory daily $45.65 "service room fee" your room will cost you $165.00 more than you expect.

Everyone loves the beach side of the hotel (which has access to a lovely beach) you will need to get to the beach by 8:00-8:30 to reserve a front row lounge chair. There are personal cabanas available from $225 - $700 and they seem to get the best service.. we are use to Four Seasons beach service and the beach service here is not nearly as good. When you are spending $20 for a frozen drink, you expect to have an easy time finding someone to order one from.

The resort side pool is quiet and relaxing and has excellent cabanas and the cabanas on that side are free to use!! Just reserve them a day in advance. It was a great place for the family to watch the world cup.

If you are going to take an excursion to see the stingrays (and you definitely should) make sure to book through the hotel with Red Sail and request the new 22 passenger boat. It is not as romantic compared to the sail boat... but it is state of the art and top of the line. very fast, quiet, clean and smooth. Do not worry about motion sickness at all. And the crew is excellent the experience was personal and above expectations.

Food.. there are many very good restaurants on site, but also try the lobby bar for a quick casual dinner or evening cocktail. they will bring food from other restaurants as well. All food and beverage prices are listed in Cayman $ on the menus but billed in USD when the check arrives and every check has a mandatory 15% gratuity added to it.

Spa and Gym: the spa is nice but expensive $225 for a basic massage with a mandatory 20% tip included. The gym is adequate and you have full access to the saunas.

Over all it was a great trip and I would recommend the hotel.. if they improved the beach service I think they would make more money and have happier customers. You get what you pay for with the room views, more money means better views.. but since you are in Grand Cayman... get out of the room and watch the sunset from the beach!! or better yet... the beach bar (try the Pina Colada)

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great.. but save the money. Just DO NOT get a garden view on the harbor si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay at the hotel was from 6/28--7/2. We have been to several resorts and by far, The Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman is the example of Excellent Service!!! Despite the hiccup with our reservation, Marvia made up for the mistake! It was my parents 45th anniversary n Marvia sent a personal card with chocolates for them! Orlando also was a stand out employee! He took our luggage up and remembered our names just from that short encounter!

Everywhere we went we were greeted and our names were always remembered.

The restaurants are expensive but well worth it!!! Fabulous food AND great service!!

I could go on and on but bottom line...Yes, it's pricey, Yes, they will charge you a resort fee, BUT.... I Could Care Less!! It is ALL Worth It!!

We Will Be Back!!!!! Thanks Ritz!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Resort View building. It is quieter but it is a small hike through the building to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear lizTexas,
Your comments about our resort experience were wonderful to read. I am delighted to read how our Ladies and Gentlemen impressed throughout your visit and I look forward to sharing your compliments with those who you have mentioned. We are excited to welcome you back soon to create more "best vacation!" memories with you.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ritz-Carlton is by far one of the most recognizable and respected brand in the hotel industry. When friends of ours decided on the Ritz in Grand Cayman for their destination wedding my wife and I were instantly counting the days until we arrived. There was a modest wedding group discount and booking was easy, yet not exactly straight forward.

I wasn't aware, and maybe with more research would have been but I always feel if I'm the guest then everything should be easy to access when booking. A majority of the "garden view" rooms are across the street from the oceanfront rooms, pool, and beach. I often opt for garden view when going to a wedding since a majority of the time is at the beach or pool. While the service, facilities, and staff went beyond what most would I was disappointed at times on the length of the walk from our room to the beach. A forgotten pair of sunglasses shouldn't cost you almost 20 minutes of back and forth.

Once I had my sunglasses though I was blown away by the beach and pristine waters. The guests for this wedding were a mix of ages, singles, couples, and families. The Ritz perfectly balances their staffing, amenities, and special touch that one group never feels like the others are putting a crimp in the priceless time away from the real world. I was never bored, and never felt the need to do anything more than relax. Snorkeling equipment, stand up paddle, hobie cats, kayaks, in water tables and rafts were more than accessible throughout our time there.

The food was nothing short of spectacular. From a mahi sandwich on the beach to some of the most intriguing seafood dishes I've ever had at Eric Ripert's Blue, I'll be craving and craving until my next trip there.

Some can argue on how they see value in vacations. While the numbers may be higher than other properties you can't put a number on service that anticipates, meets and exceeds any and all expectations.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are quieter yet further from the beach. They do have their own pool that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Note: BEWARE OF INAPPROPRIATE CHARGES

here's the bottom line - as a family, we stay at Ritz, Four Season, Mandarin Oriental, Amangani hotels all around the world. This Ritz is as good as it gets in the Caribbean outside of St Barths. All good so far.

Here's the bad - the hotel charges multiple undisclosed fees, which is incredibly dishonest. Here are the daily charges per room from a stay in April, 2014: room: $899; "Service fee" per room per night of $81.65; "resort fee" per room per night of $60.00. So they basically add on undisclosed charges of almost $150 / night / room. And I mean undisclosed completely.

I booked through Amex Centurion, and got all of the resort fees and some of the service fees refunded. I suggest you do the same if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just got back from the Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman yesterday (our stay was from 6/23 - 6/28). It was an excellent hotel, and my wife & I agreed that we would definitely return to the Ritz Grand Cayman. I will try to touch on a just a few key items that were important to us:

1. Beach / Resort - the beach is amazing! the water is incredible, and is so clear. the beach chairs were very comfortable, and we liked that each chair came with it's own adjustable umbrella. therefore, we didn't have to rush down to the beach to get a chair under an umbrella like you have to do at some other resorts. the service on the beach is good but it's what you would expect when you are paying the $60/day resort fee. also it's nice that they have a free water dispenser at the beach so you can get up and get as much water as you want to stay hydrated during the day. also, it's great that the wifi works really well at the beach. i could use my e-reader, iphone and ipad at the beach all on wifi.

2. Hotel Room - we had a resort view king room on the 5th floor. it was a nice hotel room. very comfortable bed. the only complaint was that the shower was pretty small, and the shower head wouldn't move.

3. Food - if you can, make sure you try to book a package that includes the breakfast buffet. we booked through whatahotel.com and they included the breakfast buffet with our reservation. the breakfast buffet is absolutely incredible. we loved it! our waiter, Bhim, was incredible. he was so helpful and nice everyday. he would stop and talk with us for a few minutes, and he always brought us an iced coffee at the end of our breakfast to take as a little to go dessert after breakfast. he always went out of his way to make us feel welcome. he exemplifies the type of service and genuine customer care that represent the Ritz-Carlton brand. i thought this was the best breakfast buffet we've ever had. the only buffet that i think would even compare to this was the buffet at the JW Marriott Hong Kong, but even that buffet wasn't better, it just had more stuff. food at the other restaurants was really good. it is expensive, but at least it's good. i'm so tired of paying a lot for food at hotels that isn't any good.

4. taxi / transportation - we took a taxi from grand cayman airport to the ritz - it was $25 USD and was super easy for a 15-20 minute ride. the only downside with the taxi system is that you have to pay $10 USD to take a taxi for 3 minutes to some of the area restaurants that are just a bit too far to walk to. for example, camana bay, a very popular shopping & restaurant area, is only a 3-4 minute drive from the ritz, but it costs $10 USD. you just have to accept this and pay the money.

Overall, my wife & I would highly recommend the Ritz. We've recently stayed at the Grace Bay Club in Turks & Caicos, Intercontinental Thalasso in Bora Bora, Marriott Wailea in Maui, as well as several other Ritz-Carlton's in Florida, and we would recommend staying at the Ritz Grand Cayman to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PAJD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, West Indies, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing