We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointments abound….” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointments abound….”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a difficult review to write, as it is certainly my desire to praise a popular resort after I have been fortunate to experience the property. This vacation, however, had some glaring omissions, that impacted our vacation very negatively. First for the good news, the staff was, overall,flawless. Every staff member we encountered seemed genuinely interested in making sure our visit was perfect. Whenever a member of the staff asked us if we were enjoying our vacation, they looked directly into our eyes, actually waiting for a reply..as if to be certain that there was nothing more that they could do to make our stay wonderful! So, clearly an A+ for the staff at all levels. (sadly the staff could not "fix" what was wrong…only management do so)
The negative things, unfortunately had a sweeping effect over our entire stay.
First, I will mention music. I have traveled extensively through the caribbean during July and while I realize it is considered "low season", I have never encountered a resort with absolutely NO live music.There was not a steel drum band, nor a person playing piano. There was not a jazz trio, or even a single guitar heard at this resort. Other guests commented on this as well. Some music would surely add a fun feeling of being on vacation.
Secondly, there were almost NO flowers or flowering plants. It was difficult to even find a great area to pose for a photo, because everything was really the same drab tan color. Around the North Side Pool, there are 6-8 large raised flower pots, each sporting tall brown, dead grass-type plant (no flowers). Going down the steps near the "Cupboard", a drab little "tan" fountain, amidst "tan" stone steps…surely a variety of brightly colored flowers could adorn these totally "tan" areas. The main pool..NO flower pots or garden area. The small table in the main lobby contained 3 vases of lovely flowers during our stay, but they so stood out, as there were NO other flowers, nor flowering plants on the entire landscape indoors or outdoors. Hard to think that a place like the Ritz lacks funds for gardeners.
Third, I have to agree with a previous contributor, that the drink prices here were "Abusively Expensive". $25 US, for a Pina Colada or similar is insane. Your resort is in the caribbean and people like to gather around the pool, pool bar and beach area and drink. Every time a couple orders a drink, they have to spend $50??!! Needless to say, we saw very few people drinking. Loosen up a little and allow for a "happy Hour" at Bar Jack…add a bit of music and you would see your guests actually having fun!!
NO Music…NO dancing…..NO flowers, or flowering gardens….Overpriced Drinks…and this vacation, which I planned for months to celebrate a special birthday, really fell flat.
BTW..I learned after the fact, that both my husband and my travel agent had contacted the hotel directly to notify the front desk of my birthday…..but, not even a card was sent to my room. Very disappointing week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lswg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear lswg,
Thank you very much for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman as your vacation destination. Your feedback is important to us and all our Ladies and Gentlemen are eager, empowered and genuinely wish to provide you with the most memorable vacation. I am disappointed and very sorry you were not pleased with your experience. It would be my pleasure to discuss your comments in further detail. I invite you to contact me personally at +1 (345) 815-6006. Thank you for sharing your review and I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,984
    405
    166
    48
    31
See reviews for
817
1,132
41
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Ritz Grand Cayman. Service was top notch just as we have come to expect at Ritz properties. The room was well appointed with a wonderful view. I loved the flower petals in the fountain. The beach was super relaxing. We had no concerns with leaving our belongings in the beach chairs. We enjoyed the use of the snorkeling gear and other equipment. The staff was always ready to help, literally at every point of question, someone would be there to help. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommmanostress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Located on the 7 mile beach with excellent snorkling nearby, sailing, paddle boarding and plain old-fashioned swimming, we had a fantastic experience at the Ritz Carlton, Grand Caymans. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Anything I asked for was provided. Each morning as I approached the beach, it seemed like they knew ahed of time that I was on my way. A beach attendant would greet me, gather towels, then lead me to the best available chaise lounge.
The weather was perfection. Very hot, but often with cloud cover. The ocean water was bathtub warm, clear as could be, and with plenty of salt for body floating. Our pool time was spent at the Waterway building, the one furthest from the beach. It was quiet and relaxing. Once again, the attendant couldn't have been more helpful even allowing us the use of a cabana with a mounted TV so we could watch the British Open. Food at the Ritz was delicious but VERY expensive. Our room, also at the Waterway building, was clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms were definitely the premier place to be, but ours was a pool view, very private tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent a lot of time in the hotel and using the hotel facilities, but actually stayed in one of the condo residences. There are very good reasons for this being one of the top-rated beaches in the world. Magical sand that doesn't burn bare feet, even under a noon sun, fairly uncrowded with folks who have drifted easily into relaxed island time.
And, the service - staff was from around the globe and eager to chat when the guests wanted, but also very careful not to intrude.
Water so clear that it was impossible to guage the distance to the bottom while out on the hotel's loaner Hobie Cats. 2 hours from Houston, 1 1/2 from Miami. It's a fine thing.

Room Tip: Obviously, if possible, go for water-side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Other_Dr_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear The_Other_Dr_J,
It is always a pleasure to read when our guests take full advantage of our beautiful scenery. The soft, white sand of Seven Mile Beach is truly magical and our Ladies and Gentlemen, representing more than 60 diverse nationalities, are dedicated to providing guests with the most memorable vacation experiences. I am truly delighted that your experience exceeded expectations. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here at the recommendation of a friend and had an absolutely lovely stay. We stayed Oceanside Club Level. The only thing I would say is that the club lounge was on the complete other side of the hotel so we found ourselves traveling AWAY from the beach at various times to enjoy the club ... not exactly ideal. There is an overroad hallway decorated with *art* that we were heartily sick of after that ... but I will send a shout out to Monica Davis, one of the concierges in the club lounge because she arranged all of our reservations, etc. via email and it was so nice not to have to deal with anything.

I would also say ... get a cabana ... we got the one that had a bed and chairs ... it comes with a stocked fridge and you get GREAT food and drink service ... every morning is a huge fruit plate and everything else is pretty perfect.

The watersports were fun and mostly included and the beach was LOVELY. The bill was insane, but we weren't watching our budget on this trip. Just FYI, lots of fees.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dora_pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

No surprises here.
Excellent hotel, staff very nice and attentive.
Clean and organized.
Special thanks to Mercedes at the club, she was super attentive, nice and friendly. Many thanks also to Abdul at the club too as well as Joie and many others.
Pool and beach staff were very professional too.
I would recommend some kind of game room or kids activities such as craft or things like that for when the kids need a break from the beach, it would have been a nice extra.
Again, Ritz delivered as expected. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinTexasFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Langevin, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear AustinTexasFamily,
Thank you very much for sharing your compliments with us. I look forward to sharing your kind words with Mercedes, Abdul and Joie; they are truly appreciated. For your next visit, I recommend joining us at the Heritage House on Saturday afternoons where families are invited to enjoy indoor games and activities with Jean-Michel Cousteau’s Ambassadors of the Environment. I also look forward to sharing new resort enhancements, designed especially for families, that are sure to delight. I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort soon.

Sincerely,

Marc Langevin
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Throughout the three days we would always need extra towels and we would always order food and the staff would always bring our requests as soon as possible. By the end of the three days the staff was not only the staff to us they really became our friends and to have an experience like that is very unique. I would also like the say that the concierge was excellent. For every night and day we would ask the concierge which restaurants were the best to go to and every single restaurant was student friendly yet fancy and had terrific food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Destinology, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing