We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The Ritz is truly a 5 star hotel. Every amenity is at your fingertips. If not, just call the concierge! Yes the hotel is pricey, but you are treated like royalty from the entire staff. This is why I gave an excellent rating for value. At the Ritz you get "above & beyond" what you pay for.

We had a garden view room on the 5th floor, didn't really need an ocean view. The ocean is there for the taking anytime you want, along with floating bar/cabana tables & beds on the beach altho' you do have to reserve them (I don't know if there is a charge for this). The beach is pristine, as well as both pools, one on the ocean side & one on the garden side. The hotel is actually split across the main road. To get from one side to the other, you walk thru the "gallery" lined with phenomenal artwork.

The food is incredible no matter where you eat. Whether it's at Periwinkle (garden pool side), Seven (ocean pool side), BarJack (ocean pool side) or Blue, you won't be disappointed. Save Blue for either a special occasion or your last night there. It is very upscale & quite expensive. We did order the 6 course tasting menu with different wines that truly complemented each dish. Periwinkle is great for kids, stuffed pizzas, etc. We had breakfast every day at Seven, which has a buffet menu or a la carte. Ask for Bhim. He is a GREAT server!

In conclusion, if you want to be pampered & totally relax, the Ritz is the place to stay. Yes it's expensive. No it's not "inclusive". Do your research beforehand. The Caymans are affluent islands, no doubt. They are also extremely clean, safe & absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iPodGeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,152
    426
    171
    51
    33
See reviews for
905
1,201
46
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis , MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz for our 22nd wedding anniversary. The staff was helpful, attentive, and everything you would expect from the Ritz. Property was beautiful. We stayed on the resort side and not beach side. We were glad we did because it is much quieter. We especially liked the pool on resort side---quiet and relaxing. Beach was the best from what we could see and experience from walking 7 mile beach. The beach chairs were so comfortable and the water chairs/tables were a added bonus. We ate at the 7 steakhouse and that was equally amazing. Staff was wonderful and the food was top-notch. We also tried the Blue restaurant. It is very trendy. We did the tasting menu and think the food was okay. Tuna tartare was delicious. We did have the most amazing bottle of wine that was recommended by the staff. Overall, I would recommend 7 over Blue. I did a spa experience and it was wonderful. I used the spa facilities almost everyday for the steam room and whirlpool. The Ritz is everything one would expect and more!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMNQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannisberg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Best Hotel to relax and enjoy. Great Food and great staff. Super 7 mile Beach . Best Breakfast ever. The food and winefestival was spectacular. That is the place to be in the Cerribean.....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannisbergRiesling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Great hotel. Service was excellent! However, very expensive. Stay on the beach side. Great snorkeling down the beach just past the Westin next door. Many beach activities included in your resort fee - kayaking, paddle board, snorkeling gear....lots to do.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Went with our two young kids, ages 4 and 8. Took a chance at staying at the Ritz knowing there were no kid activities like other Caribbean hotels may have. I must say that my kids loved the Grand Cayman and the Ritz.. We are definetely going back next year. Also check out whatahotel.com, we booked with them and received 2 free breakfast buffet daily. That will save you $70 a day!
Here are the following things that we loved and pointers and a few dislikes but all and all this place is wonderful:
Pros:
-If you want to have a relaxed, "time goes slow" vacation...stay at the Ritz. If youre looking for nightlife and wild, drunken guests this is not the place!
-The service from the moment we got off the taxi was superb!
-The grounds are beautiful.
-Beach has been the nicest we have visited (and we have been all over the Caribbean). Tranquil and shallow waters so you wont be scared that the kids will be towed away.
-The Ritz is the only hotel that has one of a kind tables and chairs anchored in the ocean...and yes the waitors actually go in the water to take your order and they bring it to you. Spent all day at the beach because of this! They have wonderful beach and pool attendants that fix your chair with a cover and towels. They also walk around to hand out free ice water.
-If you want to save $, stay in the resort view rooms, which is another building attached to the oceanview building. Dont worry many people on tripadvisor complained about the walk...its a 5 minute walk! My kids actually liked running through the indoor bridge (called the gallery). Hey you never know...you might get a room upgrade.
-Ambassadors Kids Program was very pricey...$75 per child for 4 hours but it was nice to spend some quality time with the hubby alone and we felt safe that our kids were being monitored while having fun. They have different activities every day.
-Go to stingray city with Captain Marvins - Spent only $138 for a family of four for 2 snorkling spots and then to Stingray city. Ritz charged $75 per person for the same thing. Captain Marvin's actually picked us up and dropped us off. Wonderful experience...stingrays were gentle!
-Go visit Dolphin Discovery...pricey but so worth it..also you get a free admission to the turtle farm.
-Purchase the $45 a day Ritz kids meal plan. All food and drinks and even ice cream are included. All meals were huge and delicious. Our 4 year old ate very little so I was able to share her lunch and we got a few sodas from using their meal plan.
-Order a kids meal for lunch if you're eating at the Ritz. Portions are perfect! We saved $$ by doing this.
-If you want to go out to eat...the Island is safe to walk around and NOONE bothers you to get your hair braided or visit their store for souvenirs. You all know what Im talking about. :)
-Make all your reservations like Stingray City for the afternoon...cruise ships leave usually at 4 pm so not so many people will be on your excursion.
-Dont worry about bringing towels. Ritz supplies towels at the pool and beach and even gives you towels if youre going on an excursion. Dont bring shampoo/conditioner/soap...Ritz provides complimentary Bvlgari shampoos/conditioners for you.
-Lastly you will love the staff at the Ritz...they are the most professional and sincerest people we have met. The Ritz already charges gratuities but the waitors/busboys/doormen/room service and cleaning staff was so wonderful to our family we gave them extra before we left.
Now for some dislikes:
-We thought the beds were uncomfortable. For the Ritz the beds should be of higher standards.
-You would think that its the Ritz, there should be flatscreen TVs...nope...old regular TV screens.
-Lots of mosquitos after 5 pm, however no need to bring bug spray...the outdoor restaurants has bug spray for you to use but we were eaten alive the first night we went out!
-If you want front row beach seating, go down to the beach attendants by 7:30-8:00 am to reserve your seats. They will hold it for you for 2 hours. So have your complimentary breakfast and go straight to the beach!

And thats it folks...
This is my first time writing on tripadvisor...The Ritz is pricey but you get what you pay for. I hope the above will help some families that is conscious about how they spend their money or trying to decide on what Caribbean Island they should choose. Go to Grand Cayman and stay at the Ritz...you wont regret it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lulubelle402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This was our 3rd stay at the Ritz GC. It really does get better every time. The staff always goes above and beyond the call of duty to make sure their guests feel like royalty.
We were there for a week and just got back yesterday - we're having Ritz withdrawals.
However, we'll be back in January for Cayman Cookout so we won't have to wait too long.

Everything on this resort is top notch - service, food, spa, tennis/golf, pool, and of course the phenomenal beach. It's a world class resort that's only getting better with the extension of the Dragon Bay community. If you haven't been to the Ritz GC, go. It's a one of a kind destination

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Overall we had a great stay at the Ritz Grand Cayman. Highlights include a great pool area which overlooks the exceptionally maintained beach, very impressive spa and fitness center, nice sized rooms, very comfortable bed, prompt and tasty room service, etc. The only real criticism I can offer is that they could update the TVs in the rooms to flat screens and sometimes the renown Ritz Carlton service is a little over the top. As an example, they didn't have self service ice machines in our area of the resort so whenever we wanted ice, we either had to call the front desk or track down someone in the hall to get it for us. I will say that it only took a few days for the staff to figure out that we liked lots of ice and they started proactively leaving a bucket for us. A few things to be aware of when planning your trip...prices are very high, particularly food. The combination of high menu prices and the exchange rate really add up. Once we got established, we found a few local restaurants with great food and more reasonable prices, even with the exchange rate. Also, make sure you understand where the room you book is located. We booked a pool view room on the "resort side"; we didn't realize that the resort is located on both sides of the road and connected by a bridge. So, if you want to be on the beach side of the hotel, make sure that your room is on the ocean side when you book. We were able to upgrade our room to a pool side suite with an ocean view for an additional fee. I would also note that when we were there, the resort side of the property was pretty bare. This likely had a lot to do with being there during their off season, however if you like to be around other vacationers, be sure to book the beach side.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing