We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickeled and Dimed to DEATH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I've stayed at Ritz and Four Seasons properties before. In Lanai, Maui, St. Thomas, Miami etc. I must say, I've never felt so nickeled and dimed to death in my whole life than at the Ritz in Grand Cayman. first off.....breakfast buffet for 2....$80 U.S. dollars. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? for a waffle, a piece of overcooked bacon and watermelon juice. OUTRAGEOUS. I had a better buffet at Marriott down the road where I stayed for the first 3 days of my trip. Next, everyone there was fishing for a tip. From the men that open the doors, to man RUNNING down the hall to take my bag, after I emphatically told him "i can do it myself", yanks the bag out of my hand. Then there was the waiter who brought my drink to the beach... THREE TIMES he told us, I brought you extra hot sauce in case your drink isn't spicy enough. THREE TIMES, hoping for a tip. i heard him the first time. The best part was when I was waiting to check out, one of the door attendees asked me if i had a nice stay. Before I could even respond, he saw another guest wheeling his bag down the hallway and ran to help, without even saying, "excuse me, I'll be right back" and even better, after the gentleman tipped him for helping and there was no other customer in sight, he never even returned to me to hear my answer or say, I'm sorry for cutting you off. I could see his priority was the tip. Additionally, the only day I went to the pool, I kid you not, 3 coackroaches floating dead in the pool near the steps. I put one foot in, and stepped back out. Then wanted to try the jacuzzi b/c the day before no one could go in bc of the temperature. AT 10am already, the entire jacuzzi was covered in sand and the water was ice cold. the attendants don't seem to take very good care of cleaning the water in either place. Never again for the Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moepsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,510 - 2,516 of 3,055 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

My wife and I were looking to relax chill for the week, and the Ritz made it happen. What a fantastic time. Everything was perfect. We have been to some nice places, and this is by far, the best!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewaugusta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We enjoyed a great stay at the Ritz Carlton and I had a wonderful half day treatment at the Silver Rain (La Prairie) Spa. Overall, a great experience but it is very expensive, especially the spa. I'm not sure it is worth the money but the experience is memorable and nice to try.

Enjoy,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is a great hotel, with many amenities. Loved the spa, the service, and the music. It was worth the money, to be sure. The beach, however, can be overcrowed.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank MiguelHOmbremanzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Amazing hotel, room service was reasonable, kids club however a different matter. The only flaw was that the residences have full view of the beach and the hotel doesn't.. Lovely decor...Apparently the best hotel on the Island...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fifitrixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Modern, comfortable rooms,
excellent service, amazing food (the best steak we ever had at 7 restaurant),
great spa and exercise facilities.
The most beautiful beach. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bozena_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This hotel was beautiful and the service was great. The food at the resturants was exceptional and being able to sit at tables in the water while having food and beverages was perfect. Looking foward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CADNEWYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,795 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £523 - £1,806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing