We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hotel. I stayed for a week over Thanksgiving with my husband, our 4 young children and my parents. We had club level rooms with a garden view. The view was lovely, with the resort side pool, palm trees, and the occasional iguana in sight. The food and presentations at the club lounge were amazing, delicious and plentiful. Cappucinos, smoked salmon, pasties, hot oatmeal, for breakfast. Paninis, soup, sandwiches, salad bar, chicken nuggets and french fries for the kids for lunch. In the evening, sushi, spanikopita, meat skewers with spicy peanut sauce, cheese, olives, mixed drinks, champagne, 6 kinds of good wine, sandwiches and macaroni and cheese for the kids...All day there were big jars of fresh cookies and fun candies. It was totally worth the extra money for club level, especially with little kids who are hungry at all times.

The pool and ocean were beautiful. The beach had sand like powdered sugar and the water was the color of seaglass. There were no waves which made it easy for my kids to swim to the fun rafts they had floating in the water. There were also these floating table and chairs with shade covers and a little table....so fun! we could have lounged in them all day. It was so beautiful and peaceful and just pleasant.

The kids club, the Ambassadors for the Environment, was also amazing! My 6 year old took a solar cooking class, and my 8 year old did a class on underwater photography with her grandfather. Another day my 2 oldest kids took an excursion to the botanical garden to learn about the blue iguana recovery program. They also had astronomy classes, submarine rides, shipwreck snorkeling, etc.....the list is amazing. I felt like they actually learned something rather that were simply babysat.

The service at the hotel was beyond great. I felt like we were treated like royalty by everyone. Every employee i met was happy and friendly. This hotel must be incredibly managed. If you needed anything, there was someone to assist with a smile. My husband loved the workout area and the spa. They offered several classes a day at the gym, but I was too busy in the ocean floating lounge chairs to care!

I could go on and on and on about what a great place this was. It was so easy with kids! Ritz really knows how to treat families that want to vacation together,especially during the holidays. I suggest to those reviewers who do not want to see kids, to perhaps go to a "couples only" resort, or maybe avoid traveling during times when children have time off from school ( like, Thanksgiving, Christmas, spring break, etc.).

The only thing I would do different is reserve one of those giant lounge chairs with the shade right on the beach in advance, as they were booked when I got there. This is by far the best hotel I have stayed at (including several other ritzs, many hotels in Hawaii, many in Bermuda, etc.) I will be canceling the disney cruise I had planned this summer to hopefully stay here again during my kids break!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,055
    417
    170
    50
    31
See reviews for
869
1,157
43
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

In the Grand Cayman I was told it's either the Westin or the Ritz. As far as I am concerned, the Ritz had more going on. It is very family friendly and the amenities never end. The hotel was clean, staff was very friendly and accomodating. The Ritz was associated with a cute tennis facility which was perfect for me. The gym was awesome! Be sure to make reservations for dinner on the weekends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDMCALONIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

We came for a relaxing vacation and, in general, we had a great time. We had watched the hotel being built and were quite interested to see what it was all about. The hotel, the grounds, the facilities, the service, are stellar and certainly met our expectations. The thing we did not count on was the number of squealing children. We understand a family resort will have children in many places, but at the Ritz-Carlton there is no respite. From "Blue" to "Bar Jack's", toddlers (many of whom were overdue for a time out) are subjected to strange menus in darkened restaurants, resulting in over-stressed parents and anxious, fatigued, children.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLHUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

The resort is nice. The beach is great. 'Blue' is worth spending hundreds of dollars on for dinner. But I don't think the Ritz is a great choice for a romantic couples stay. I've never stayed anywhere before that had so many obnoxious, socially clueless adults accompanied by their mannerless screeching children. Where do all these creatures come from?? I don't know, but you can't escape them. They're at the pool, at the beach, at the restaurants... At the Ritz. The Caymans got a lot nicer once we got away from them. I suggest you do the same - unless you're one of them!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

I've stayed at Ritz and Four Seasons properties before. In Lanai, Maui, St. Thomas, Miami etc. I must say, I've never felt so nickeled and dimed to death in my whole life than at the Ritz in Grand Cayman. first off.....breakfast buffet for 2....$80 U.S. dollars. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? for a waffle, a piece of overcooked bacon and watermelon juice. OUTRAGEOUS. I had a better buffet at Marriott down the road where I stayed for the first 3 days of my trip. Next, everyone there was fishing for a tip. From the men that open the doors, to man RUNNING down the hall to take my bag, after I emphatically told him "i can do it myself", yanks the bag out of my hand. Then there was the waiter who brought my drink to the beach... THREE TIMES he told us, I brought you extra hot sauce in case your drink isn't spicy enough. THREE TIMES, hoping for a tip. i heard him the first time. The best part was when I was waiting to check out, one of the door attendees asked me if i had a nice stay. Before I could even respond, he saw another guest wheeling his bag down the hallway and ran to help, without even saying, "excuse me, I'll be right back" and even better, after the gentleman tipped him for helping and there was no other customer in sight, he never even returned to me to hear my answer or say, I'm sorry for cutting you off. I could see his priority was the tip. Additionally, the only day I went to the pool, I kid you not, 3 coackroaches floating dead in the pool near the steps. I put one foot in, and stepped back out. Then wanted to try the jacuzzi b/c the day before no one could go in bc of the temperature. AT 10am already, the entire jacuzzi was covered in sand and the water was ice cold. the attendants don't seem to take very good care of cleaning the water in either place. Never again for the Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moepsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

My wife and I were looking to relax chill for the week, and the Ritz made it happen. What a fantastic time. Everything was perfect. We have been to some nice places, and this is by far, the best!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewaugusta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We enjoyed a great stay at the Ritz Carlton and I had a wonderful half day treatment at the Silver Rain (La Prairie) Spa. Overall, a great experience but it is very expensive, especially the spa. I'm not sure it is worth the money but the experience is memorable and nice to try.

Enjoy,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,928 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Destinology, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing