We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation Spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Bay Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

South Bay Beach Club is in a perfect location and the management and staff go above and beyond for the guests. We stayed in a four bedroom villa that was ideal for our group. Not only is the location on the beach, but there are plenty of local restaurants and bars to walk to. We couldn't have been happier that we chose South Bay Beach Club.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our second time visiting Cayman but our first visit to South Bay Beach Club. We did debate over staying at the Ritz (stayed there our first visit) but so happy we selected South Bay Beach, it did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, we were wow'd by the view from our ground floor unit, to the decor, the friendliness of Maggy and Ernie and the access to the beach. Traveling with boys (ages 11 and 9) my husband and I wanted easy access to the outdoors, a full kitchen and laundry facilities, unit 103 provided just that. It is a 2 bed/2bath beautifully decorated unit, with granite countertops, satellite tv, and a screened in back porch with steps down to the beach and pool. Near the pool area were two BBQ grills that we used several times for either lunch or dinner. It can be expensive dining in GC, so it is nice to have the option to cook or grill a few meals. There were many days when we felt like the beach was all ours, not crowded with plenty of available chairs and umbrellas. Bring your snorkel gear and if you don't have any, rent some. Snorkeling off the beach was perfect practice for our two sons, they saw fish everywhere and had an adventure everyday. We could go on and on, but just know that you can't go wrong with a stay at South Bay Beach Club. Our boys are already planning their return trip for Spring Break!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTW428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I did a lot of research on lodging in Grand Cayman, and we landed on South Bay. This property did not meet our expectations -- it exceeded our expectations. Our stay was originally for seven nights. We liked it so much that we changed our flight and extended it to ten days. It would have been longer, but our airline only flies two days a week.

The property is beautiful. It looks nice in the pictures, but the pictures do it no justice. We stayed in a beachfront condo #104. It is a 2/2 with a spectacular view of the beach and ocean. The condo has everything you could possibly need -- Full kitchen with granite countertops, satellite TV, large sectional couch, screened in private porch with outdoor furniture, and on and on. You are literally on the beach in seconds when you leave your beachfront condo.

The beach itself is wonderful. Unlike the Marriott next door, it is not crowded at all. You have your own private beach chairs and oversized umbrellas. If you do not have an umbrella, the staff will gladly put one in the sand next to you. Snorkeling is TOP NOTCH. There is an artificial reef about 80 - 100 feet from the shore. Beyond that, there are a lot of beautiful rock formations. Fish fish everywhere! I saw angelfish, tangs, triggerfish, good sized parrotfish and a bunch of other fish I could not name. I also saw a school of squid swim by in the deeper areas. There are a few sea urchins in the area, so watch your step! Bring your fins and mask, or you can rent some at the dive shops next to the property. The pool is chlorine, and it feels nice after a lengthy outing out in the ocean.

The staff at South Bay is top notch. Ernie, Maggie and Ann are the best! They went that extra mile to make your stay wonderful. They helped us with everything from tour bookings to restaurant recommendations to directions. Props to all of you for making our stay memorable.

We look forward to our next Grand Cayman vacation at South Beach Bay Club!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DfwJohnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My Husband, Daughter and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday, staying at the South Bay Beach Club (Condos 106 and 103). It was fantastic! The location couldn't have been better, on the sandy beach, near to Georgetown and Camana Bay -you just fall out of your condo and into teh sea - it was heaven. Maggie and Ernie couldn't do enough to assist us:- organising multiple grocery deliveries, organising liquor deliveries, sorting a trip we wanted - you name it, they did it. The facilities were great with plenty of beds available on the beach and the maid service ensured that we had fresh towels and a light clean up daily. The condos were spacious, clean and very well equipped. Best holiday ever.

Room Tip: for us staying on the ground floor gave you best access to the beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjbbcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My family, including my wife, 13 year old son, and 9 year old daughter, just returned from what my kids are calling their best vacation yet. Grand Cayman has so much to offer and the South Bay Beach Club is the perfect choice while staying on the island. I am a Lifetime Platinum Marriott member and until this trip would use points for staying at various Marriott resorts for vacation. We debated over the Marriott or Ritz on the island and luckily thru Trip Advisor we found the SBBC.

Maggy, Ernie, and the entire staff were above and beyond regarding customer service. Prior to arrival, Maggy stocked our unit with groceries and made sure that we had everything we needed. BTW, if you need additional grocery items during your stay, SBBC will take your list and deliver them for you. Eating out can be expensive in GC, so having the flexibility to eat-in part of the time allows you to save some money. Both Maggy and Ernie were always available to answer questions and help arrange activities on the island. In addition, the SBBC has a daily service that refreshes towels and cleans the unit during the day.

We stayed on the 5th floor in unit #33, a three bedroom and two bath unit. It was absolutely perfect. The unit was extremely clean with new appliances and furniture, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our unit also had a huge balcony to overlook the beach as well as an area that was screened-in which sat between the unit and the balcony, like a "sun room". Lots of space to spread out. Had we chosen one of the resort hotels we would have stayed in a 4-500 square foot room with (2) beds, a bathroom, and no ocean view. Therefore, do your research on the prices of the hotels vs SBBC and you will find that the SBBC is by far a better value.

The SBBC also has two Weber grills that are available to it's guests. We made Filet Mignon the first night and was amazed at how well the grills are maintained. It appeared as though they literally cleaned them every day because they were spotless throughout the trip.

Regarding the beach, some comments on Trip Advisor made mention of the beach not being very wide on the southern part of Seven Mile Beach. In my opinion, after walking up the beach from SBBC to the Ritz, the difference in the amount of beach area is a non-issue. SBBC has a beautiful beach area which is private so there are always lounge chairs and umbrellas during any part of the day. My wife never had an issue getting an umbrella right on the beach. When comparing to the resort hotels, our beach was never overcrowded and always plenty of space to spread-out, whereas the resort hotels were the opposite. Finally, the beach was so beautiful and clean that my daughter who is usually timid of the ocean was snorkeling everyday and could not believe that the water was so clear. The snorkeling at SBBC is fantastic, lots of fish to see.

In conclusion, aside from the vacation destination chosen, another important element of a great trip is having a clean place to sleep, eat, shower, etc. While some people say that you are never in the room, I disagree. What made this vacation so special was having a safe and clean three bedroom condo to come home to after hanging out at the beach, doing an activity, or going out to dinner. After staying at Ritz Carltons, Marriotts, Hilton Waldorf Astorias, Four Seasons, etc. this was by far the most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDKD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our group of nine stayed (4 adults/5 kids) in condos #5 and #6 at South Bay Beach Club. We had a fantastic time. Maggie and Ernie are absolutely wonderful and take care of everything! There were plenty of chairs and room on the beach. The cleaning staff was great, the groundskeepers even helped our kids look for crabs on the beach. I could go on and on. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our group of 8 adults stayed at South Bay Beach Club, unit #14, and have nothing but positive feedback! Fantastic location, tons of space on the beach - always chairs and umbrellas for all, amazing office and cleaning staff, comfy beds.....I could go on and on. A destination dream vacation come true - the pictures did not do it justice.
Bring the snorkel, fins and mask. The fish spotting out front is incredible.
An easy walk to great restaurants and the Marriott next store if you want a little bar action.

Room Tip: Unit 14!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbiemonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,391 reviews
1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,459 reviews
19.3 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Bay Beach Club

Address: 193 Piper Way, West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1205, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £307 - £757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest luxury property on the world famous Seven Mile Beach, located next to Marriott Resort Grand Cayman. Two, three and four bedroom villas all oceanfront. Heated swimming pool, 2 beachfront hammocks shaded by 4 swaying coconut palms, 2 Weber gas grills and fitness room. A snorkeler's paradise with colorful tropical fish just feet from our shoreline and fantastic snorkeling areas just beyond our beach. Relax on our private beach, lounge chairs and umbrellas available to our guests. An amazing vacation awaits you at South Bay Beach Club in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Bay Beach Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing