We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Meridian, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman Island”
Review of The Meridian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Meridian
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Meridian, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman Island”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Three couples spent 6 nights during Christmas holiday at the Meridian. The building is more of a "Condotel" meaning that the units are predominately privately owned and rented out. As one would expect, the tariff for this type of vacation was not inexpensive. We had a 3 bedroom/3bath luxury oceanfront for 6 people for 6 nights for $8352.00.This included mandatory gratuity of $432 and taxes of $720. One should also note that there was an additional $200 surcharge per night Christmas. A 50% deposit was required at the time of booking and there was cancellation policies in place...but depending upon the time of the year it varied...be sure to check it out.

Each of the bedrooms have private baths with the master bedroom being larger and more luxurious with an ocean view. The kitchen was fully equipped for meal preparation with all modern appliances, and utensils.

The space seems and feels larger than its square footage because of the very spacious "lanai" which has a very lovely ocean and beach view without the bugs. We stayed in unit #28, which is on the 5th floor (of 6 floors). The unit is fully air-conditioned.

The daily service was provided on all days except Christmas Day. The service included linen service, light cleaning, making beds, refreshing baths and washing floors. All was done between 9-3 PM and was efficient and unobtrusive ( the staff seemed to know our routine and cleaned when we were not in the unit).

The condo appointments were lovely and in wonderful repair. The beds were appropriate for the space, though we all felt that they were either a bit soft, or in need of support since the beds tended to have its occupants "roll" toward the center.

The location was perfect in that one could walk to many restaurants, grocery store, wine and liquor stores and a few "shopping" strip stores easily. Taxi service was quick to this location and relatively inexpensive when we required it.

While the Meridian was filled with many families and guests, one never really heard excessive noise...neither too early, or too late in the evening. The beach and pool areas were very well serviced with plenty of lounge chairs, umbrellas, and immaculate grills which were all neatly arranged each AM with beach cleaning and sweeping to begin each day.

There is no "bar" service here...but we never felt deprived...we brought our own in the safe plastic cups and glasses and enjoyed our drinks of choice without a bar tab! We found that the short distance to the building from the beach area was so convenient that all of us ate breakfast and lunch in our "villa" daily. This is a non-smoking property, though we did smell smoke a few nights while on the screens balcony coming from another unit.

Check -in time is 4 PM and check out is 11AM SHARP! This might be a problem if one has late flight out and wants to spend a few hours at the beach rather than the airport on a Sunday. The office is closed that day and there is no where to store luggage, etc., after check out. In our case, 2 of the couples had a later flight and had to take their luggage with them down to the pool area while they spend the last few hours prior to going to the airport. They had to stay in traveling clothes since there weren't changing areas available. It might be a good suggestion for the establishment to consider an alternative for those checking out on Sunday...it is a shame to waste a beautiful warm sunny day... sitting in the airport for 6 hrs. rather than 2.

In conclusion,The Meridian staff is very easy to work with, very pleasant, and guided by Pat and Lee, who seem very well versed in the hospitality business and it shows. Together with a lovely property centrally located and within walking distance to many amenities...it's a winner.

Room Tip: Choose another day for check out other than Sunday if one wants to check luggage in the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boocarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We just returned from a week in Villa 7 at the Meridian. It was just fantastic! Everything was so nice, so clean, so wonderfully maintained. Lee in the office was always friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about our place. Unlike so many rentals, it's decorated BEAUTIFULLY and with great attention to detail. Really spectacular; take a look at the website to get a full picture. From reading on the comfy porch furniture to watching the Olympics on any of 3 nice TVs, to whipping up a little food in the VERY well-equipped kitchen, it was just perfect. And that's just inside. Each morning, the grills were cleaned and someone was out early just sprucing up the grounds. This is during the off-season too, when many places will let service slide a little. Not so here. Housekeeping came around 9-10 each morning, rather than letting the place sit messy all day. It was such a treat that I feel kind of depressed being home - what IS this shabby place and when can we go back to Grand Cayman?!?! We rarely visit or stay at the same place twice, but we all agree that we badly want to return to Grand Cayman, and the Meridian in particular.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjh40l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed for a week in August with two teenagers and were thrilled with the Meridian. We were in end unit #20. Tons of space, a beautiful screened in patio, an amazing kitchen, grocery store across the street. We really could not have asked for anything nicer. The beach and pool were perfect. We loved being there off-season; it was so quiet. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My family and I just returned from the Meridian on Caymen Island. We loved everything about this condo. We stayed in unit 12, an end unit on the 2nd floor. We were there for a week in July so the condo building was very quiet, only about 1/3 full which made for a wonderful beach experience. The condo was beautiful, spacious and comfortable with a great view. Upscale property. Loved the big screened in patio. The location was perfect, with a grocery store across the street and plenty of restaurants within walking distance and prime beach location. We did not need a car. The beach is so close you feel like you are on the beach from inside the condo. The kitchen is well stocked and we used the outside grill provided on several nights. Thought we would eat out for dinner every night but loved the condo so much, we decided to stay in several nights. The Meridian is top notch. I hope to get back to Grand Caymen and will certainly stay at the Meridian again. Much better pricing off season.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was our second time staying at the Meridian. On our last trip, we had another couple with us. We loved it so much that we decided to splurge and book the condo solo. We had a complete blast and this vacation was honestly the most relaxing vacation we've ever taken. We did a bit of diving (three days, two dives each day), ate, drank and relaxed! We love how convenient the Meridian is to everything (grocery store/liquor store across the street and restaurants nearby). The grounds were spotless and the ocean incredibly calm. The room was cleaned daily and Lee was fantastic as always. She is so welcoming! We will certainly be returning - hopefully as soon as possible. Grand Cayman truly is paradise and staying at the Meridian makes it even better!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aostrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is truly an incredible destination. We had a fantastic stay in mid-February and look forward to coming back again and again. Great beach, great weather, great location!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWS-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a blast at the Meridian. We stayed with another couple for a week in early October. Unfortunately, we didn't have the best weather but we enjoyed our condo thoroughly. We even met some friends and cooked at our place a couple of times. The grills were pristinely cleaned, the grounds were impeccable and the gym had a lot to offer! I was surprised the equipment was so new and wished I visited it earlier in the week. Lee was very welcoming and the location is just phenomenal. We walked most places we went and had such a great time. We will certainly be back to stay at the Meridian (hopefully Unit 12 will be available!). Only complaint we had was that the hot tub was not quite warm enough. It did warm up the second day we got there but then got colder thereafter. Otherwise, the pool was awesome, the grounds clean and I am already trying to convince the hubby to take another trip soon :) Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aostrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian

Property: The Meridian
Address: 917 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach 11202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
32 luxury oceanfront two and three bedroom villas. Fabulously appointed, full kitchens, oceanfront BBQ grills and dining/relaxation areas. Hot tub overlooking the sparkling ocean. Fully equipped gym. Underground parking. Most villas have free USA/Canada/UK phone service. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Meridian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meridian Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Meridian Grand Cayman
The Meridian Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing