We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Beach, Amazing Views”
Review of The Meridian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Meridian
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We rented unit 32 with another couple in early January and I couldn't be more happy with our trip. The unit is in great shape and the cleaning crew were friendly and very good. There is a grocery store just down the street which makes food an easy option. The pool was well kept and the grills were immaculate. Hands down the best part of this trip was the beach. There was never a crowd and plenty of nice beach chairs. The sand is so soft and the water stayed relatively calm. The walk into town is a little long but doable but why do that when you can take the bus system. An early morning trip to the fish market is a must. The guys are entertaining plus it's a great way to buy the day's fresh catch for lunch & dinner. From my initial contact to our departure we felt Lee & Pat took well care of us. One word of caution, stay away from the KFC across the street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisWhittenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I just completed my 3rd visit to The Meridian and I can't say enough about what has turned out to be the perfect location for a trip to Grand Cayman. I was in unit #29 and it was furnished with great taste and was very comfortable. The master suite had a king sized bed as comfortable as my bed back home. Only this one offered a fabulous view of Seven Mile Beach. Very nice TV cable package with large screened TV's in 2 rooms and smaller TV's in the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms.

The kitchen was well-equipped with every amenity necessary for eating in or grilling on one of 4 huge Webber grills. We grilled several times and every time the grill appeared to be brand new. The grills were cleaned daily.

The staff at the Meridian could not have been more accommodating. The general manager, Lee M., responded almost immediately to whatever we needed. She was extremely helpful in suggesting local restaurants and the numerous activities available on the island.

The beach is that powdery white sand backing up to beautiful crystal clear blue water. There are plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, as well as 2 large thatched huts for shade. The pool is large and well-maintained, and includes an adjacent hot tub.

Even though the building was fully occupied while we were there, it never seemed crowded.

The Meridian gets two thumbs up, WAY UP, from me and I'll be returning as soon as my schedule allows.

Room Tip: I was in unit #29 and loved it, but in talking to other guests, it sounded like you couldn't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Three generations from across the US came together for a family vacation. The apartments were clean, nicely furnished and appointed and ours each had a lovely ocean view. House keeping was quiet and efficient and made sure we had everything we needed. The beach was spectacular. The location is perfect. You can walk to shopping and restaurants.

There were 23 young children..all 2nd graders, with their parents staying here at the same time we were. They did take up the pool, the beach, and the chairs. There was no mgt. staff to control this group. They played in the pool til after 10PM. Our porch opened out right above the pool so there was a lot of noise..That would be our only complaint.

Pat in the office was our communication in making reservations and she was responsive and helpful in answering all our questions.

We all used the nicely appointed fitness center.

Parking was easy.

Food and activities are all very expensive.

But as a family we had a wonderful time in these condos and would return again.

Room Tip: We preferred the higher floors..4 and up. Better views, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank postingtrot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This has quickly become my favorite Caribbean destination! Best location on the island and groomed down to the tiniest detail. Lee in the office has a crew that quietly and unobtrusively keeps everything manicured and trouble-free. Far enough away from the cruise ship docks to have a tranquil, relaxing beach. The swimming pool is always pristine with plenty of comfortable lounges. Spotlessly clean outdoor grilles. Big screen porches that make sunsets with no bugs delightful. Three Rotary clubs on the island and more churches than any other single island in the Caribbean give you an idea of the type of stay: quiet and crime-free. The ocean is beautiful here and you can snorkel or scuba right in front of the property. BRAVO!!

Room Tip: Talk to Lee. She'll make sure your selection meets your trip goals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomanticRoamer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Three couples spent 6 nights during Christmas holiday at the Meridian. The building is more of a "Condotel" meaning that the units are predominately privately owned and rented out. As one would expect, the tariff for this type of vacation was not inexpensive. We had a 3 bedroom/3bath luxury oceanfront for 6 people for 6 nights for $8352.00.This included mandatory gratuity of $432 and taxes of $720. One should also note that there was an additional $200 surcharge per night Christmas. A 50% deposit was required at the time of booking and there was cancellation policies in place...but depending upon the time of the year it varied...be sure to check it out.

Each of the bedrooms have private baths with the master bedroom being larger and more luxurious with an ocean view. The kitchen was fully equipped for meal preparation with all modern appliances, and utensils.

The space seems and feels larger than its square footage because of the very spacious "lanai" which has a very lovely ocean and beach view without the bugs. We stayed in unit #28, which is on the 5th floor (of 6 floors). The unit is fully air-conditioned.

The daily service was provided on all days except Christmas Day. The service included linen service, light cleaning, making beds, refreshing baths and washing floors. All was done between 9-3 PM and was efficient and unobtrusive ( the staff seemed to know our routine and cleaned when we were not in the unit).

The condo appointments were lovely and in wonderful repair. The beds were appropriate for the space, though we all felt that they were either a bit soft, or in need of support since the beds tended to have its occupants "roll" toward the center.

The location was perfect in that one could walk to many restaurants, grocery store, wine and liquor stores and a few "shopping" strip stores easily. Taxi service was quick to this location and relatively inexpensive when we required it.

While the Meridian was filled with many families and guests, one never really heard excessive noise...neither too early, or too late in the evening. The beach and pool areas were very well serviced with plenty of lounge chairs, umbrellas, and immaculate grills which were all neatly arranged each AM with beach cleaning and sweeping to begin each day.

There is no "bar" service here...but we never felt deprived...we brought our own in the safe plastic cups and glasses and enjoyed our drinks of choice without a bar tab! We found that the short distance to the building from the beach area was so convenient that all of us ate breakfast and lunch in our "villa" daily. This is a non-smoking property, though we did smell smoke a few nights while on the screens balcony coming from another unit.

Check -in time is 4 PM and check out is 11AM SHARP! This might be a problem if one has late flight out and wants to spend a few hours at the beach rather than the airport on a Sunday. The office is closed that day and there is no where to store luggage, etc., after check out. In our case, 2 of the couples had a later flight and had to take their luggage with them down to the pool area while they spend the last few hours prior to going to the airport. They had to stay in traveling clothes since there weren't changing areas available. It might be a good suggestion for the establishment to consider an alternative for those checking out on Sunday...it is a shame to waste a beautiful warm sunny day... sitting in the airport for 6 hrs. rather than 2.

In conclusion,The Meridian staff is very easy to work with, very pleasant, and guided by Pat and Lee, who seem very well versed in the hospitality business and it shows. Together with a lovely property centrally located and within walking distance to many amenities...it's a winner.

Room Tip: Choose another day for check out other than Sunday if one wants to check luggage in the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boocarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We just returned from a week in Villa 7 at the Meridian. It was just fantastic! Everything was so nice, so clean, so wonderfully maintained. Lee in the office was always friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about our place. Unlike so many rentals, it's decorated BEAUTIFULLY and with great attention to detail. Really spectacular; take a look at the website to get a full picture. From reading on the comfy porch furniture to watching the Olympics on any of 3 nice TVs, to whipping up a little food in the VERY well-equipped kitchen, it was just perfect. And that's just inside. Each morning, the grills were cleaned and someone was out early just sprucing up the grounds. This is during the off-season too, when many places will let service slide a little. Not so here. Housekeeping came around 9-10 each morning, rather than letting the place sit messy all day. It was such a treat that I feel kind of depressed being home - what IS this shabby place and when can we go back to Grand Cayman?!?! We rarely visit or stay at the same place twice, but we all agree that we badly want to return to Grand Cayman, and the Meridian in particular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjh40l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed for a week in August with two teenagers and were thrilled with the Meridian. We were in end unit #20. Tons of space, a beautiful screened in patio, an amazing kitchen, grocery store across the street. We really could not have asked for anything nicer. The beach and pool were perfect. We loved being there off-season; it was so quiet. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
618 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
421 reviews
19 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian

Address: 917 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach 11202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £372 - £838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
32 luxury oceanfront two and three bedroom villas. Fabulously appointed, full kitchens, oceanfront BBQ grills and dining/relaxation areas. Hot tub overlooking the sparkling ocean. Fully equipped gym. Underground parking. Most villas have free USA/Canada/UK phone service. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meridian Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Meridian Grand Cayman
The Meridian Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing