We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Condo”
Review of The Meridian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Meridian
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Condo”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

There’s not much not to like here. The location is great -- walking distance to grocery store and restaurants. The condo itself was lovely with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The grounds are kept pristine, including the gas grills, pool and hot tub. There are plenty of beach loungers and chairs with umbrellas for shade. The daily maid service was fantastic. I would highly recommend staying here -- you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 28 which had beautiful view of ocean -- the ground floor units would be great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathy474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
70
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Last year when my husband and I visited the Caymans we stayed at the Ritz-Carleton but decided to try a condo the next time. We walked up the beach to view several condo properties and choose The Meridian. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. When I told the housekeeper our teakettle was broken, we had a boxed new one in ten minutes. The place is clean and not rundown, the grounds immaculately kept, the outdoor grills are cleaned daily, and the view of the ocean is outstanding. The grocery store is directly across the street and plenty of restaurants are within walking distance. If you want to rent a car, walk up to the Ritz Carleton where there is an Avis office. Their rental cars are cheaper than what you can get at the airport.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mnluv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosper
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Every detail made this condo our home during the best vacation we’ve ever had! We are usually ready to get home at the end of a holiday, but this felt like a second home for us, and we did NOT want to leave. This condo is the perfect blend of seclusion and atmosphere. It felt quiet and removed from the rest of the town, especially being an end unit, yet was a short walk down the beach to the Ritz for afternoon drinks and atmosphere. The inside of the condo is amazing. The décor is stunning, yet relaxed and comfortable, with by far the most tasteful Caribbean interior I’ve seen. The linens were all incredible, even the ones on the bunk beds, which were so adorable that even I wanted to sleep in them! Every room has a TV and full bath, decorated beautifully, with an incredible shower in the guest (which we’ve contacted the owners about so we can order one for our own home). While the rest of the house was still sleeping, I was able to sneak down to the Paperman coffee shop for coffee and pastries which is located just across the street from the property. I enjoyed the morning walk, although there is a gourmet coffee maker in the gourmet kitchen, which (no surprise) has every amenity you’ll need. One of our favorite parts of this trip was enjoying our coffee every morning on the patio while our two girls swam in the pool. Because of the end location of #7, we had a perfect view of the pool and even though our young children are only moderate (at best) swimmers, we were able to watch and talk to them from our private 2nd floor patio while they swam. The ocean view from the patio is unbelievable- the pictures do not do it justice- and only one flight of stairs and you are at the beach!
Foster’s market is across the street (just down from the Paperman) where you can get your groceries, and take your cart back to the property where the market picks them up each evening. You can also grab wine from the liquor store (also across the street) and take your cheese and wine down to the beach for sunset. After dark, be sure to grab flashlights and roam up and down the beach for crabbing! We also took our girls to the Turtle Farm, Starfish Island, and Stingray Alley- these were all great adventures. Calypso’s was our favorite dinner spot- get the Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert- And, go to Ragazzi’s for their Hungarian pizza- it was my absolute favorite! You can also cookout poolside on the grills at the Meridian; they come clean them each morning while they are prepping the beach and pool area for the day. Be sure to claim one of the large huts in the morning- though there were plenty of beach loungers, the largest huts go quickly on busy days. Because the condo felt like home, we quickly settled into Island living and had a hard time adjusting when we got home. It was the details that made this vacation so spectacular. We can’t wait to get back- with and without kids!

Room Tip: Villa 7 is best location with most luxurious interior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I am a bit uncomfortable writing a rave review as I am worried other people will stay here. For our family of six it was the perfect spot. As said in other reviews, 3 bed/bath well appointed condo on one of the nicest beaches in the world. Breakfast every morning on our screened porch overlooking the ocean. Supermarket and liquor store across the street. We would have paid twice the price at the Caribbean Club next door and even more at the Ritz, and then have to deal with all those crowds. For the xmas week as busy as it was, we never had trouble getting chairs. They have an adequate Gym, nice outdoor grills to BBQ and Pat is very helpful with anything you need. Amenities in our unit were great. Full range cable TV, long distance phone included, wifi, washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen and daily maid service. Hope nobody finds out about this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have found our dream vacation destination at the Meridian in the Grand Cayman Island. It is such a perfect spot because of being on the best beach, west exposure (so you get the full sunsets) and long nights as it slowly goes right into the ocean. Just powder white sand and turquoise water. Lots of comfortable beach lounge chairs, umbrellas and gazebos. Also the pool area is clean and everything feels and looks like luxury. Everything you could want is there for you and within walking distance, including a grocery store one block away, restaurants across the street and liquor stores.
The room we stayed in was 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The decor was beautiful and the place was huge (almost 2000 square feet). The master bedroom and the terrace were the highlight for me. To be able to sleep at night with the doors open and not have a single mosquito or bug come in was like living in paradise. Plus being so close to the ocean to hear the waves was therapeutic. The terrace has full patio table and chairs and stools to make it perfect for evening relaxing (or any time). The staff were friendly and helpful when we needed anything but there were no issues at all. An amazing bonus was the room we stayed in came with a phone that allowed us to call Canada and the US at no charge to us. that saved a lot of money.
We are definitely coming back to this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoannaAndros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Why stay in a hotel room when you can stay here? There are many reasons why. 1. You get a large oceanfront 3 bedroom/ 3 bath condo. 2. You have washer/dryer. 3. You have daily maid service & beach towels replenished daily. 4. You can roll a grocery kart across the street to Foster's and save lots of $! 5. You get a semi-private stretch of beach with beach chairs/ umbrellas & 2 large tiki huts. 6. Our unit #29 came with a vonage phone. We were able to call home free. 7. You are walking distance to several good restaurants, such as Luca &Regazzis. 8. It is just a great value for your money, and a comfortable home away from home!

Room Tip: We loved unit 29., but you can't go wrong! They are all oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethA02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is my the only Caribbean island I frequent for vacation and the Meridian is the only property that I choose. The service is outstanding thanks to Lee and Pat. The location is second to none, on a pristine area of the beach with ample beach chairs. If you seek upscale accommodation with unparalleled service, choose the Meridian. I have stayed in both two and three bedrooms units and both were exquisite.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meridian

Property: The Meridian
Address: 917 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach 11202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
32 luxury oceanfront two and three bedroom villas. Fabulously appointed, full kitchens, oceanfront BBQ grills and dining/relaxation areas. Hot tub overlooking the sparkling ocean. Fully equipped gym. Underground parking. Most villas have free USA/Canada/UK phone service. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meridian Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Meridian Grand Cayman
The Meridian Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing