We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

This place is almost perfect. The only drawback is that you really can't play in the ocean water or swim very easily as the entry is quite rocky. Someone in our group walked out anyway and ended up with urchin splinters in his feet. The water is GREAT however if all you want to do is snorkel: great rocks/fish in the protected cove, and I've heard there's a nice reef a short swim out (we never made it out that far). A good soft-sand beach is a short 5 min walk up the beach from TI: the completely rock-free area starts at the Marriott. The rest of the resort is my idea of perfect. Condo units that are truly beachfront. The poolfront units have views of the ocean, the pool is very nice, and the size of the resort is great: not so small that you feel isolated, and not so large that you feel like a sardine. It was just right. The swim up bar is great (making it feel like an upscale resort rather than just a collection of condos).I think this is the best value I have ever gotten in a tropical resort area.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    77
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
137
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

We just returned from four days at Treasure Island and 6 days at the Grandview next door. We enjoyed both condos tremendously. We were traveling with small children and found Treasure Island to be a very child and family friendly place to stay. We had a ground-floor ocean front condo and really loved the proximity to the beach.
The Treasure Island pool is large and beautiful, with a swim-up bar (one of only two on Grand Cayman) and the only kiddie pool on seven-mile beach (according to another vacationer who is a regular visitor to Grand Cayman.)

The beach was wide and quiet, without a lot of foot traffic and plenty of space to spread out. Some of the resorts farther up along the beach were quite crowded with pedestrian foot traffic from the cruise ships and also the beach chairs were really jammed together (especially in front of the Marriott). While the entrance to the water was a bit rocky, and not the best for small children, my kids were perfectly happy swimming in the kiddie pool instead of the ocean, and the upside was that the snorkeling off the beach was wonderful.

My husband and I are avid snorkelers, and we loved the snorkeling right off the beach, and the fact that a great reef was located within an easy swim out from the beach.

We also liked the fact that Treasure Island has a nice beach bar, with decent food, and a small mini-mart convenience store on site.

It is located within walking distance of a good supermarket and a number of restaurants - the location was very convenient. Georgetown was also within walking distance (but very quiet at night).

The condos were clean and well-kept, and Debbie in the office was very helpful.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return in the future.

  • Liked — The location and the fact that it was so family friendly.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vacati0nwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2008

My husband and I and our four children stayed in an oceanfront, three bedroom. It was beautiful and had a huge terrace. The location is great and you can walk to everything. Debi, the on site manager, is top notch. She is very friendly and accomodating. She had great recommendations for us (esp. Dexter's stingray trip), she arranged the housekeeper to come later in the day to accomodate my son's nap time, and she let my husband use her computer to check his email. The housekeeping people were also very friendly and kept our unit spotless. The kids loved the pools and the swim up snack bar.
The restaurant at the resort, Bed, was ok but not partcularly child friendly but there were many good restaurants nearby. All in all, it was one of our best vacations, we will definately be going back.

  • Liked — The spacious condo.
  • Disliked — The stairs.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NJlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

We stayed for 4 nights at the Treasure Island Condos in Dec 2007!
Booking via phone was convenient and Judy (I thiiiiink her name was Judy... :o) was very nice.
Usually I do a lot of research about the destination I am going to but since I was really busy the weeks before I arrived kind of unprepared: no problem at all because once again Judy provided us the information about where to rent a car, where to eat and what to see.

We were lucky and got Suite 101 on the ground floor.
The design of the place was lovely and of course it was very clean. We were just 3 people but even with an occupancy of 6 you have plenty of space. I'm from NYC and used to tiny Hotel rooms... TI Condos was overwhelmingly spacious.
The kitchen was incredibly well equipted, every morning we had a great breakfast on our "own" terrace. There is a mixer for cocktails, a toaster, microwave, oven.... tons of tools. We always ate out, but the Caymans are expensive so when I return I probably will start to cook a couple of times.

The beach is great, right in front of the place you can go snorkling and see a lot of small, colorfull fish. There is also a reef a little bit further out where you get to see bigger fish. (I never snorkeled before and was pretty surprised when seeing a 3 foot long fish;)
If you make a left and walk for about 5 Minutes the beach gets more sandy, probably better for swimming with small children.

Overall we had a great vacation, there was nothing negative at all.
We are planing on returning this year.

Our pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nyc2005/sets/72157603366170669/

  • Liked — that it was directly on the beach
  • Disliked — caymans are expensive
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tubapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2008

My family and I recently stayed at the Treasure Island Condos in an ocean front condo. We absolutely loved the Caymans and Treasure Island was a wonderful and economic place to stay. Every night we would have cocktails and watch the sun set on the beautiful West Bay. Treasure island was a lovely place to stay with several very kid friendly swimming pools and an on site tavern called "Billy Bones" of all things. The only improvement I can think of would be if the condo complex allowed dogs and we could bring the family pet, Gizmo, along with us. I highly recommend Treasure Island and the Cayman Islands as a wonderful place to stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank senacomhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2007

Treasure Island was a great place to stay. The condo was clean and well kept. It was very convenient to have the amenities of home like a washer and dryer to clean up the clothes/towels from the fun of the day. The pool and beach were fabulous. Rent some snorkeling gear and go out to the reef a few feet from the beach. The pool bar drinks and bartenders (specifcally Toby)were so awesome (the food is pretty good too).
we would go back

  • Liked — location and the grounds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hokiesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

After much deliberation I opted for a condo, TI was great. The room, 111, was very well appointed, clean, fully equipped for a very comfortable stay. The pool was wonderful, right outside the room. Bartender was great, a mix of locals and condo guests made it more interesting. The beach true was rocky but with water shoes I found it no problem to get in the water. It is off the beat and path of SMB, so it was quite and relaxing. You are central and close to everything. I loved TI and would not hesitate to go back. Condos in my humble opinion are definitely the way to go on Grand Cayman.

  • Liked — Fully Equipped
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheQClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,856 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 299 West Bay Road | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, Seven Mile Beach 11906, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing