We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condo”
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Sunset Cove. The condo was beautiful and very comfortable. The 2 bedroom unit was perfect for the 4 of us who like to get away in Dec. I like the fact that someone always answers the phone at the Iowa office when you make a reservation or if you have questions beforehand. However, maybe it was because we weren't there in the high season but someone is not always in the office at the condos during the hours posted. We would have liked a bigger expanse of beach also. You really had to stay in the section of water surrounded by boulders and there were some rocks to avoid in the water. The pool area was very nice with the swim-up bar and Billy Bones was good and very casual.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbM236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The location is great, view spectacular, amazing snorkeling inside and outside of the little cove, the swim up bar and pool are great too! We stayed on the top floor, ocean front. We did have some issues with our unit (fridge full of water daily, BBQ that was scary to use so we quit after 2 times, shower head that took several days to replace, not clean at check in but we did hurry the gal and she'd had a bad day apparently so perhaps short-staffed). Our unit was not ready when we arrived at 1:30 but Debbie kindly offered us to use the office washroom so that we could change and hit the pool!!! We were 3 couples and the unit is perfectly laid out to accommodate privacy for all, and was super great to have our own laundry.

Room Tip: Spend the money on the ocean front units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I and my family have been staying at Sunset Cove (formerly Cayman Island Condos) for close to 10 years. The units are always impeccably clean. We like the fact that they are fully functional condos with all the conveniences; such as kitchen, formal dining area, and a living room with hide-a-bed couch, patio leading to beach, two bedrooms/two bath and washer/dryer. There’s even a convenience store connected to the buildings in the front. We arrive with a no hassle quick check-in to the tune of smiling friendly faces. After organizing our luggage, we typically head to Fosters Food Mart just down the road a bit along seven mile beach to pick up breakfast and snack essentials. Over the years, I have only seen this condo complex and service get better. They take care of the little details that make a difference. I have stayed at many hotels and condos on Grand Cayman over the past 25 years, and found Sunset Cove Condos to provide excellent accommodations at very fair rates. We intend to go back again this summer with enough family to book four or five units, so you better book now.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom/2 bath ocean front condos. It was just beautiful! Great decor, comfortable, nice patio furniture, washer and dryer, dish washer, cleaning supplies, and a kitchen that was stocked with absolutely everything you could possibly imagine wanting or needing. Fantasic views through double glass doors from the master bedroom and the living area. The patio, just steps from the ocean and overlooking a private swimming and snorkling area, was where we spent most of our time enjoying the wonderful weather and wildlife. We toured the island with our son and daughter-in-law, shell hunted, tried a variety of restaurants and great food. We visited the Turtle Farm one day. Great experience, and we actually got to hold one of the younger turtles. We were just around the corner from a small mall, restaurant, liquor store, and a ride to Georgetown on the public transportation for $2.50 U.S.. The pool area was really nice and the Tiki bar had great food and service. Our ONLY complaint would be the difficulty in finding someone in the office on a regular basis, However, when we did, everyone there was exceptionally nice and helpful. Definitely want to go back, and hope to rent the very same condo!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have a nice view of the ocean from our unit. Great beach and fun little area to snorkel just out front. The apartment complex on the side of the hotel is a little creepy, but the Condos were great. Excellent pool, nice grass area and beach.

This vacation ended too soon! We scuba dived at Sting Ray City, Kittiwake, and Cali shipwreck. So fun. We also skateboarded at the 2nd largest skateboard park in the world. Great family vacation. We used Divers Down for the scuba - excellent service!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I loved its location, it's beach, and it's pool. But the room needs maintenance, to be cleaned better, and GET SOMEONE IN THE OFFICE! The people said we couldn't check out late,and we could leave our bags there, but no one was at the office when we to check out.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleinator14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed in unit 111 for the past week. It was spacious and clean and had everything you would need for a great week. Pool and beach are both very nice. We liked swimming up to Billy Bones and ordering drinks or watching NFL Sunday ticket football. We had a problem with the Dryer in the unit and as my wife said they sent someone faster than we would have gotten at home in NJ to fix it. There is a stone path from he beach to the rest of 7 Mile Beach (Marriott is an easy walk) that you can easily see at low tide and would have to look for in the shallow water of high tide. You can see right away why the owners of these condos are distancing themselves from Treasure Island which you have to drive past to get to Sunset Cove. Sunset Cove is completely separate from TI.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellc275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,297 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Address: 299 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £186 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing