We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time staying, excellent”
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is our second trip to sunset cove, same unit. We love the location and the island. We have a family of 4, ( boys 9 and 7) and the oceanfront units are well worth the price. We have enjoyed it much more than all inclusive resorts ( Turks)and at much less the cost. It is amazing how much the resorts charge for food and drink compared to when you rent a condo like sunset cove. For one week we spent $807 US on food and alcohol for 2 adults and 2 boys. We had 3 dinners out and a few lunches out. One was all you can eat lobster at Deckers ( Tuesday). Last year we spent the same. Beach is never crowded. No need to get up early to reserve a beach chair( as in allinclusives). We got groceries near by at Kirks. They have a expansive hot food counter. No need to slave away in the kitchen. Roti Hut is a must for authentic roti. String ray sand bar is great with captain Dexter. Went twice with him and will do again. Never boring swimming with sting rays. We all enjoyed Atlantis submarine ride. Overall sunset cove has huge units right on the beach centrally located without crowds. Doesn't get any better than this! Will return as did my sister and family. Sorry wont tell my unit number we had as I am afraid the hordes will descend on my piece of paradise. Travelled Feb1-8 2013 2014

Room Tip: Oceanfront units all have great views . Poolside can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichelleC9052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at Sunset Cove for the second time and it was even better than my first experience (which was hard to beat). The condo was spacious, clean, located on the beach and in great proximity to everything to experience on the island. We stayed in the same condo we had last time and it had been updated and looks great. There is a great swimming cove in the ocean right off the beach, which feels like a private beach - totally peaceful and not crowded. I can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Rent a beach front condo - they are literally steps from the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CheesestickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We go to Grand Cayman nearly every year, and have stayed in several Sunset Cove condos. This time we had a 3-bedroom oceanfront - very clean, nicely furnished and equipped. It was almost a shame we didn't stay inside more - but the oceanfront patios/decks or the cove were the places to be, especially at sunset.

We were so impressed with the rebuilding of the cove. (We remember how this was a few years ago when it was difficult to get into the water.) The seas were very rough our first two days, and Sunset Cove was the only safe place to be in the water all along the beach. Then things calmed down and we had some sunsets that just melted into the water. Happy hour doesn't get any better!

Another improvement - There are even stepping stones now around the small point that connects this beach to the main part of Seven Mile Beach.

There is really nice snorkeling inside the cove and just outside around the rocks too. There is a reef a bit farther out, and worth the trip, but we were careful to wear something highly visible because the boats and jet ski drivers didn't seem to always pay attention to the buoy.

The pool was very clean, and the pool bar has some good food. We had take-out from there a couple of nights and just ate on our patio. The beach was quite empty, almost private, but we were there the week after New Years.

The old hotel on the adjacent property is a bit of an eyesore, but we were focused on the ocean, not behind us, and it wasn’t a problem for us. The property had uniformed security during peak times and night, and we did see them make a couple of people leave (although in both cases they just seemed to be cruise ship passengers).

The on-site manager was friendly and helpful. The one maintenance problem we had was fixed quickly.

I am almost reluctant to say what a good deal this is, because then it may not last. We got a 3-bedroom oceanfront condo for less than the price of one room at the Marriott or Westin.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

For years we have heard nothing but good things about Grand Cayman from our friends who go every year. We tagged along this past week and it was even more amazing than we hoped. The location of the condo was perfect - a short drive from the airport and within distance of anything we could have needed. We left our kids at home to escape with our friends but can't wait to return as an entire family. Sunset Cove is perfect to accommodate a large family of our size. The kids would love the kiddie pool and we can't get enough of the swim up bar! Also, the island is very kid friendly as we learned this past weekend and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great place. Perfect beach and swimming / snorkeling area. Not too busy. Felt like a private beach but not secluded. Grocery and great restaurants close by.

Take a day trip to Rum Point. While there take the 90 minute excursion out for 20 minutes with the stingrays and another 20 minutes in the reef snorkeling. Completely worth the $50 per person. The beach is free. The food is good and if you like mudslides, friends said they were great.

Travel to and from this location is pretty easy and quick for a Midwesterner. Short cab ride from the airport for four of us was about $30.

Pool area was nice and not over busy. It was nice to have a private condo but yet have the Billy Bones restaurant and bar on premise. The place was very safe and clean.

Highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

6 of us in a 1st floor corner unit 3 bedroom sunset cove. Perfect unit don't have to go 2 steps to get what you need. Love it! Cove is best swimming and floating around. Beautiful sunsets. Sitting around enjoying apps with a drink!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisybronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and myself travel to the Caribbean Four times per year, and this is our 12th time in the Caymans. We always try to stay on different parts of the island, and we had seen decent reviews about Sunset Cove, so we decided to give it a try. This place is really bad. We were assigned room #311, which I can honestly say is the worst room I have ever seen in my entire life. This room has not been updated since 1973. Popcorn ceilings, and popcorn walls, seriously, popcorn walls, and ancient appliances that were dirty and disgusting. The bed was so old, a homeless man would not sleep on it. Everything was broken, from the front door to the blinds, and the A/C as well. We asked the front office for a different room, and they showed us another room, that was just as bad. They told us that "each unit is individually owned, and they could not be held responsible for the condition of the room." At that point we started to seek a refund, and the front desk agreed to move us to a newer "sister" property.
We sat at their bar for an hour waiting to be moved, and we asked ourselves "how could this place get so many good reviews?" Well, as we sat around the bar, we noticed that everyone here was drunk, and most of the people were heavy smokers. We decided to walk around the complex, and realized that this place is a "spring break" condo for middle aged hillbillies. Now we know why these people speak highly of this place, they do not know any better.
Another nice touch here is the adjoining property, Cabrini Green, oops, I meant to say Treasure Island Resort. Treasure Island is an apartment complex that shares all of the amenities with Sunset Cove. They rent apartments out by the week and month. This is a high rise slum, that looks like a prison, and the people coming in and out of there were scary creepy.

I hate to be negative here, but this is a really bad place on a very nice island. We realize that $400.00 per night is not very much to pay when visiting the Cayman's in February, but all we wanted was a clean, safe place to stay. Unit #311 should be condemned. The owners of that unit should be ashamed of themselves for leaving that unit in the rental pool. There might be a few units that have been updated and maintained, but I would never want to take a chance on this place, and hope to land a decent unit, and still be hanging around a bunch of chain smoking drunks, and sharing the pool and bar with the local prison crowd. This is the first time in over 10 years that Trip Advisor (reviewers) got it wrong.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank LobsterBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,794 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,341 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
392 reviews
19.4 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Address: 299 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1200, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £189 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing