We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Treasure we were hoping for...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the Treasure we were hoping for...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our trip from the airport included a drop off at the Marriott directly before our drop off. I thought I was going to throw up when we pulled into the "complex". It was like the slums of paradise. Walked into the office to get our keys, and it was not what we expected either. Staff was friendly, and very efficient, just not what we are used to when traveling. We were in Unit 109, and the overall location compared to some others is good, but that is about the only redeeming factor in that unit. The entire unit is in need of an overhaul and TLC. The "master bath" is in desperate need for a makeover. One night, a cabinet door came off its hinges when I opened it. New bedding all around is really needed. When walking away from the complex, you are forced to walk through "Treasure Island Resort". It may have been a treasure 20 years ago, but it is extra creepy now. I can't imagine what those rooms look like. Serious slum feeling, no matter which directions you take, which did make Sunset Cove look nicer....
Beach area was fabulous, especially as you walk the beach toward George Town. Some condos have zero beach area, so what Sunset Cove has done to create the cove is fabulous. We have traveled the Caribbean for 10 years, and this place has taken the lead in the least desirable accommodations to date. I am shocked that so many travelers rated this area so highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FunintheSun2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    77
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I have no idea what the Las Vegas bum is talking about. Unit 311 has a terrific location. We saw sunsets on the sea from the deck while still able to see the huge pool below. The unit was very nicely furnished and very clean. We read the reviews in their book for comments from renters. ALL were very glowing on their stay. The living room was furnished with all Lazy Boy furniture, flat screen TV, and free WIFI An owner on premises told us it was purchased new in January and it looked it. We also enjoyed the high rise ceilings with nautical artwork on the walls. The kitchen was fully appointed and had a spacious glass topped dining room table. I saw it in the trip advisors photos of the condo. Our family thoroughly enjoyed are stay there.
The beach and cove was great for the kids. The pool bar food was excellent and we had some friendly conversations with the locals. We also really enjoyed the lush tropical landscape. It was everything we could want in a tropical get away. The kids already are asking to go back. Hopefully real soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were in unit 322 with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. This is a large "high-tech" unit with surround sound TV, two bedrooms, two bath, washer/dryer and really nice. We loved siting on the porch watching the activity on the beach and the beautiful sunsets. Having a washer/dryer to do clothes during stay and before returning home was a plus. The entire property is clean and nice.

We are a couple in our mid 60's and still enjoyed sting ray city and snorkling. There is an abundance of places to eat just a short walk in either direction from this property.

We hope to return next year.

Jim & Gail

Room Tip: select ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimGail322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is our second trip to sunset cove, same unit. We love the location and the island. We have a family of 4, ( boys 9 and 7) and the oceanfront units are well worth the price. We have enjoyed it much more than all inclusive resorts ( Turks)and at much less the cost. It is amazing how much the resorts charge for food and drink compared to when you rent a condo like sunset cove. For one week we spent $807 US on food and alcohol for 2 adults and 2 boys. We had 3 dinners out and a few lunches out. One was all you can eat lobster at Deckers ( Tuesday). Last year we spent the same. Beach is never crowded. No need to get up early to reserve a beach chair( as in allinclusives). We got groceries near by at Kirks. They have a expansive hot food counter. No need to slave away in the kitchen. Roti Hut is a must for authentic roti. String ray sand bar is great with captain Dexter. Went twice with him and will do again. Never boring swimming with sting rays. We all enjoyed Atlantis submarine ride. Overall sunset cove has huge units right on the beach centrally located without crowds. Doesn't get any better than this! Will return as did my sister and family. Sorry wont tell my unit number we had as I am afraid the hordes will descend on my piece of paradise. Travelled Feb1-8 2013 2014

Room Tip: Oceanfront units all have great views . Poolside can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleC9052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at Sunset Cove for the second time and it was even better than my first experience (which was hard to beat). The condo was spacious, clean, located on the beach and in great proximity to everything to experience on the island. We stayed in the same condo we had last time and it had been updated and looks great. There is a great swimming cove in the ocean right off the beach, which feels like a private beach - totally peaceful and not crowded. I can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Rent a beach front condo - they are literally steps from the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheesestickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We go to Grand Cayman nearly every year, and have stayed in several Sunset Cove condos. This time we had a 3-bedroom oceanfront - very clean, nicely furnished and equipped. It was almost a shame we didn't stay inside more - but the oceanfront patios/decks or the cove were the places to be, especially at sunset.

We were so impressed with the rebuilding of the cove. (We remember how this was a few years ago when it was difficult to get into the water.) The seas were very rough our first two days, and Sunset Cove was the only safe place to be in the water all along the beach. Then things calmed down and we had some sunsets that just melted into the water. Happy hour doesn't get any better!

Another improvement - There are even stepping stones now around the small point that connects this beach to the main part of Seven Mile Beach.

There is really nice snorkeling inside the cove and just outside around the rocks too. There is a reef a bit farther out, and worth the trip, but we were careful to wear something highly visible because the boats and jet ski drivers didn't seem to always pay attention to the buoy.

The pool was very clean, and the pool bar has some good food. We had take-out from there a couple of nights and just ate on our patio. The beach was quite empty, almost private, but we were there the week after New Years.

The old hotel on the adjacent property is a bit of an eyesore, but we were focused on the ocean, not behind us, and it wasn’t a problem for us. The property had uniformed security during peak times and night, and we did see them make a couple of people leave (although in both cases they just seemed to be cruise ship passengers).

The on-site manager was friendly and helpful. The one maintenance problem we had was fixed quickly.

I am almost reluctant to say what a good deal this is, because then it may not last. We got a 3-bedroom oceanfront condo for less than the price of one room at the Marriott or Westin.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

For years we have heard nothing but good things about Grand Cayman from our friends who go every year. We tagged along this past week and it was even more amazing than we hoped. The location of the condo was perfect - a short drive from the airport and within distance of anything we could have needed. We left our kids at home to escape with our friends but can't wait to return as an entire family. Sunset Cove is perfect to accommodate a large family of our size. The kids would love the kiddie pool and we can't get enough of the swim up bar! Also, the island is very kid friendly as we learned this past weekend and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,852 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Property: Sunset Cove
Address: 299 West Bay Road | Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, Seven Mile Beach 11906, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing