We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem!”
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The check in process is a breeze. Our room had a small problem with the safe but it was fixed within 5 minutes of calling it in. The grounds are very well kept, and security is friendly and always around. The pool bar has excellent food, including the tuna sushimi which surprised me. The cove is a great place to snorkel and just out beyond the cove at the buoy is a cool reef with a lot of fish. Overall, a great value, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshGarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

First trip to Cayman's. We are a low impact family. We don't need the all inclusives perks. The condos were very nice to stay in. The check in procedure was painless, easy and took less than 10 minutes. The drive from the airport was a breeze. (We were the only family in the bus)
We never needed to contact any of the staff. The beach was nice, but a lot of coral before you could enter the water. They built a super nice cove with good access (no coral on the edge) and yet kept enough coral to attract fish. This was nice for us to keep an eye on the kids
Unit was clean and tidy. Easy to get to and fairly central to most of the stuff we did.
Stingray city with Captain Dexter is a must and will see me the next time I go.
The Submarine tour is a definite attraction that I will go back to.
Deckers restaurant had good food, service was ok (kind of what I find at sports bars)
The Wharf restaurant although expensive, was worth every penny. The service was beyond ANY I have ever experienced, and I've been in high end restaurants. Feeding the Tarpons was a great attraction for the kids.
Chicken, Chicken: Don't let the name fool you….they sell chicken. The best chicken I've ever had
Roti hut: downtown out of the way little bar. Wouldn't enter this type of establishment with my family in Toronto, but great service, AWESOME food.

Took city buses (just big vans really with little to identify them easily as city buses). Very safe drivers (unlike Jamaica). Walked home at 1h00 AM, no crazies, no drunks, awesome.

Free range chickens…everywhere. They are more numerous than seagulls, they add lots of character to the island

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yves R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our trip from the airport included a drop off at the Marriott directly before our drop off. I thought I was going to throw up when we pulled into the "complex". It was like the slums of paradise. Walked into the office to get our keys, and it was not what we expected either. Staff was friendly, and very efficient, just not what we are used to when traveling. We were in Unit 109, and the overall location compared to some others is good, but that is about the only redeeming factor in that unit. The entire unit is in need of an overhaul and TLC. The "master bath" is in desperate need for a makeover. One night, a cabinet door came off its hinges when I opened it. New bedding all around is really needed. When walking away from the complex, you are forced to walk through "Treasure Island Resort". It may have been a treasure 20 years ago, but it is extra creepy now. I can't imagine what those rooms look like. Serious slum feeling, no matter which directions you take, which did make Sunset Cove look nicer....
Beach area was fabulous, especially as you walk the beach toward George Town. Some condos have zero beach area, so what Sunset Cove has done to create the cove is fabulous. We have traveled the Caribbean for 10 years, and this place has taken the lead in the least desirable accommodations to date. I am shocked that so many travelers rated this area so highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FunintheSun2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have no idea what the Las Vegas bum is talking about. Unit 311 has a terrific location. We saw sunsets on the sea from the deck while still able to see the huge pool below. The unit was very nicely furnished and very clean. We read the reviews in their book for comments from renters. ALL were very glowing on their stay. The living room was furnished with all Lazy Boy furniture, flat screen TV, and free WIFI An owner on premises told us it was purchased new in January and it looked it. We also enjoyed the high rise ceilings with nautical artwork on the walls. The kitchen was fully appointed and had a spacious glass topped dining room table. I saw it in the trip advisors photos of the condo. Our family thoroughly enjoyed are stay there.
The beach and cove was great for the kids. The pool bar food was excellent and we had some friendly conversations with the locals. We also really enjoyed the lush tropical landscape. It was everything we could want in a tropical get away. The kids already are asking to go back. Hopefully real soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were in unit 322 with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. This is a large "high-tech" unit with surround sound TV, two bedrooms, two bath, washer/dryer and really nice. We loved siting on the porch watching the activity on the beach and the beautiful sunsets. Having a washer/dryer to do clothes during stay and before returning home was a plus. The entire property is clean and nice.

We are a couple in our mid 60's and still enjoyed sting ray city and snorkling. There is an abundance of places to eat just a short walk in either direction from this property.

We hope to return next year.

Jim & Gail

Room Tip: select ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimGail322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is our second trip to sunset cove, same unit. We love the location and the island. We have a family of 4, ( boys 9 and 7) and the oceanfront units are well worth the price. We have enjoyed it much more than all inclusive resorts ( Turks)and at much less the cost. It is amazing how much the resorts charge for food and drink compared to when you rent a condo like sunset cove. For one week we spent $807 US on food and alcohol for 2 adults and 2 boys. We had 3 dinners out and a few lunches out. One was all you can eat lobster at Deckers ( Tuesday). Last year we spent the same. Beach is never crowded. No need to get up early to reserve a beach chair( as in allinclusives). We got groceries near by at Kirks. They have a expansive hot food counter. No need to slave away in the kitchen. Roti Hut is a must for authentic roti. String ray sand bar is great with captain Dexter. Went twice with him and will do again. Never boring swimming with sting rays. We all enjoyed Atlantis submarine ride. Overall sunset cove has huge units right on the beach centrally located without crowds. Doesn't get any better than this! Will return as did my sister and family. Sorry wont tell my unit number we had as I am afraid the hordes will descend on my piece of paradise. Travelled Feb1-8 2013 2014

Room Tip: Oceanfront units all have great views . Poolside can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichelleC9052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at Sunset Cove for the second time and it was even better than my first experience (which was hard to beat). The condo was spacious, clean, located on the beach and in great proximity to everything to experience on the island. We stayed in the same condo we had last time and it had been updated and looks great. There is a great swimming cove in the ocean right off the beach, which feels like a private beach - totally peaceful and not crowded. I can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Rent a beach front condo - they are literally steps from the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CheesestickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
547 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#7 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Address: 299 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1200, Grand Cayman (Formerly Treasure Island Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: £221 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Cove resort offers 1, 2 & 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation rental condos on the Southern end of Seven Mile Beach conveniently located to George Town, restaurants, duty-free shopping, nightlife, and water sports. Amenities include the largest swimming pool on Seven Mile Beach with a swim-up snack and cocktail bar, whirlpool, and a separate shallow wading pool for small children. Sunset Cove guests can enjoy both a sandy beach with a protected swimming cove as well as a terrific snorkel reef just outside the cove. Take in beautiful Cayman sunsets from the beach, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunset Cove Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing