We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much confusion at the beginning”

Native Way Watersports
Ranked #9 of 29 Tours in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Much confusion at the beginning”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We tendered off and met the guy with the Nativeway sign. We were with a large group that did not tender at the same time so we waited at the port for 45 minutes waiting for more people. Then we were off in a van. We were then put on the wrong boat ( where would we have ended up?) but they figured that out before we left the dock. Finally we were off in a very slow boat an hour and a half after we had tendered. The snorkeling was good and the stingrays fun. Lunch on rum point was great and large. We got back to the pier just 20 minutes prior to the last tender which is a little close for me. I can not rate them higher due to the confusion and cutting it so close to sail time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    30
    9
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collegedale, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent time with Native Way”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We made arrangements with Native Way for an excursion several months before our cruise on a recommendation from a friend who has dealt with them before. There was 8 of us including 4 children. We were not disappointed and they made our experience a great one. Since it looked like it might rain they immediately took us out to the stingrays to make sure we had plenty of time there before any rain (only a few sprinkles the whole time on the island). That was a great experience and they were great about explaining and showing us how to interact with the stringrays. Also, we took trips to Hell and the sea turtle facility and had enjoyed that as well. The folks with us were friendly and helpful answering all the questions we had. We didn't feel rushed and we got back to the port in plenty of time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our group of 9 booked Rays, Reef and Rum Point after doing a lot of research. This was one of my favorite excursions ever. We arrived in port and had to wait about 15 minutes for another party that never showed up. We drove about 20 minutes to meet up with Captain Thomas and TJ on the boat. We only had 14 total on the boat which was incredible after seeing the other tours with people crammed to the max. I never thought I would hold a stingray but Thomas made us feel so comfortable with them. We held, kissed, fed and got massages from them. We stopped at a reef to do some snorkeling before going to Rum Point. TJ took our order from the boat and called it in so it was ready with our table reserved. It was not crowded at all that day so we had the beach almost to ourselves. This place is absolutely beautiful and the food was great. Drinks on your own is a bit pricey though. The water, juice and rum punch was complimentary while on the boat. I would highly recommend Native Way while visiting Grand Cayman. It was very reasonably priced also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ladwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We were cruising with almost 40 friends and family and stopped in the port of grand cayman. We booked a private sting ray, snorkel, amd beach excursion with native way. Firstly, we had people of all ages from 1 years old to 60+ years old, and the stafg catered to all. While the adults were snorkeling the crew set up some fishing lines for the kids to catch and hand pull them in, which they absolutelt loved. The stingray experience is the best weve seen. Far superior to grand turk which offers similar excursions. We have done both, and if you want to see A LOT of sting rays, touch them, feed them, etc then native way is your best bet. All of the adults and even kids had photo ops with the sting rays in waist deep water on a sand bar and the staff even caught a very tiny baby stingray for the young children. And of course no animals were harmed in any way, the sting rays were hand caught then fed and released. The beach and food were good with wifi for those looking to stay connected. Again, cant say enough good things about the staff or this excursion who even went a bought alcohol, water, and juice for the passengers to consume on the boat during the trip. Two thumbs up!

Helpful?
1 Thank aaron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sting Ray fun.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This tour was one of the highlights of our cruise vacation. We booked the Rays, Reef, and Rum Point tour. It was $62.50 per person and included lunch. The bus picked us up from the cruise terminal and took us to the dock. From there, we got on the boat and traveled about 25 mins to our snorkeling destination. While riding, we picked out our meal from the restaurant at Rum Point Beach so it was ready when we arrived. When we got to our snorkel destination, they threw some food in the water to attract some fish, which was great cause when we went in to snorkel there where fish everywhere. After snorkeling, we went to see the sting rays which were located in the middle of the ocean at a sand bar. This was the most exciting part of the tour. I was amazed by how many sting rays were in this area. Once in the water, we got to pet, kiss, and hold a sting ray. Then when it was feeding time, the sting rays all flooded the area we were in and it was really amazing to see them swim around you and on you. We also had the opportunity to feed them some squid which was pretty cool. Then we went to Rum point beach for lunch. They have mixed drinks available for an additional cost that what you paid already. Drinks and food were both very good. After lunch, we had some time to relax on the beach, and my wife and I even got to snorkel again. We took the mask and snorkel and explored the areas off the beach. We got to see a giant school of fish and even a barracuda. Overall, I would recommend this excursion to anyone. I felt the tour was very reasonably priced for the length and experiences offered on this excursion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Native Way Watersports also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Native Way Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing