We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem of a home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Cenfaes Cottage provides a cosy base from which to explore Bala and the surrounding area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cenfaes Cottage provides a cosy base from which to explore Bala and the surrounding area.
As you walk into the living room you notice the beamed ceilings and welcoming wood burner. Electric cooker, slow cooker, microwave, toaster and fridge all ready for your culinary delights.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Cenfaes Cottage provides a cosy base from which to explore Bala and the surrounding area.
As you walk into the living room you notice the beamed ceilings and welcoming wood burner.
Electric cooker, slow cooker, microwave, toaster and fridge all ready for your culinary delights.
The double bedroom on the ground floor has an exposed stone wall and vaulted oak ceiling.
Tiled bath room with shower, washbasin and WC.
Lounge with a drop down dining table with two two seater settees and 4 'pub stools' for the table
Bala lake taken from the beach area, 5 miles away
The view from the back Garden ... the mountains are tucked behind the mist on this day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanuwchllyn, Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Swaley
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem of a home from home”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We booked Cenfaes Cottage for a weekend visit to see friends in Bala, and Jacqui couldn't have been more helpful before we arrived. It was easy to find and lovely and warm when we walked through the door (something that can't be underestimated in the middle of a Welsh winter!)

The photos online really don't do this lovely little cottage justice! The decor is lovely, with thoughtful little touches and it was spotlessly clean. Furniture like the drop-leaf table, make clever use of the space and our little girl loved exploring each room!

You can tell the family love this home, as you can really feel the welcome even though they're not there. It was well equipped with everything we needed - whether it was a travel cot, toddler cutlery, lots of fluffy clean towels, family favourite DVDs, packed lunch boxes or balsamic vinegar, we wanted for nothing.

The village is a perfect base for Bala & Snowdonia, with stunning views across the hills and a five minute drive from the lake. One tip for future guests is that The Eagles pub round the corner also serves as a village shop, with newspapers, milk and groceries. Speaking of which - they have a fab menu and a warm welcome! I'm sure it must be very popular in Summer.

We will definitely be back. Thank you Jacqui & family x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
This really means a lot to our family, Its so exciting when people see and love the same things that we do... and thank you for leaving the cottage as you found it, Cenfaes in Summer with Barmouth 40 minutes away and the sun pouring down ( yes sun) onto the patio at the back adds another dimension, I hope that you pop back to share Cenfaes again you will be most welcome. Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard N
1 review
“Winter weekend”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Excellent visit, extremely clean and tidy cottage, and warm. Owner was very helpful,and inside there was lots of local info on taxis and places to eat etc. Remarkable location, will stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
We will be pleased to welcome you back regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garybox20...
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Our fourth stay at our favourite home from home. We had snow this time this only added its cosiness. With the log burner roaring and a nice glass of wine we battened down the hatches and enjoyed a quiet and relaxing couple of days.
Wheather it's rambling in this beautiful part of Wales or just relaxing in the peace and quiet we just love it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Snow at Christmas time! Got to love it, your home from home awaits your return ..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C
1 review
“Cosy cottage perfect for a family Christmas!”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

A really lovely cottage, beautifully clean and tidy. Perfect position for exploring snowdonia. We loved the log burner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
So glad that you had a lovely Christmas at Cenfaes Cottage, hope to see you back again soon regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Personally I love the Winter at the Cottage get the log burner on and a good book, glad you enjoyed it Regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
antony w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just returned from lovely stay at this great cosy cottage. Despite the best efforts of hurricane Brian we managed to get out to Llangollen, Bala, Barmouth and a great value upmarket Sunday lunch at Portmerion. Beautiful, and quirky if you've not been. All within easy reach (tip- no entrance fee to Portmerion if you've booked Sunday lunch in the hotel) The cottage is wonderful, well equipped, and comfortable. There was nothing missing except the sunshine- but won't blame you for that! Thanks, we'll be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thank you Antony for your review and for leaving the cottage lovely for us, we hope that you stay again when the weather is brighter! Kind Regards
Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GARY T
WOLVERHAMPTON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A delightful, cosy and well appointed cottage, we loved every minute of our stay. From a wonderful meal at the local friendly " The Eagle " to fish and chips on the front at Barmouth and walks with the delightful scenery of Bala, our stay could not have been bettered.
Highly recommended.
Thank you so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Hi Gary and thank you for your lovely comments, I'm presuming looking at your portfolio that you white water kayak? and that you know all about the White water centre? hope to have you as our guest again. Kind regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing