We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slighty Disappointing”
Review of Bala Lake Railway

Bala Lake Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Rheilffordd Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake Railway) offers a delightful 9 mile return journey alongside Bala Lake, through the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. Our 2ft narrow gauge steam trains give excellent views of the lake amid its surrounding pastoral and woodland scenery, and of the nearby mountains, Arenig Fawr, Aran Benllyn and Aran Fawddwy.The railway provides an ideal centrepiece for a day’s visit to Bala Lake. The round trip of 1 hour can be broken at any of the stations to enjoy other activities - a pleasant 10 minutes walk into Bala town for shopping or merely browsing. There is access to the lake shore at Llangower station for swimming, fishing or simply lazing by the waterside.
Cliffe Woods, Kent
Level Contributor
239 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Slighty Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We bought our tickets at LLanuwchllyn and had a short wait for a train. Whilst waiting I showed my wifes godson around the signal box which is open for viewing. In all the journey was a disppointment as much of it where you run parallel to the lake is behind trees. You cannot knock the enthusiasm of the staff but we all felt it slightly overpriced (compare it with the Great Orme tramway)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinG_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    79
    17
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great way to kill an hour”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Arrived early in Bala with time to kill before the rest of our party arrived so took the kids to play on the railway. It's a long enough trip to be worth the money and short enough to keep the young ones entertained. Excellent views of the lake and mountains mean too. The staff and volunteers were friendly, helpful and polite. Most of them seemed to genuinely enjoy what they do, which is refreshing compared to other attractions at this end of the tourist season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessopSmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gotta love a lake and a steam train”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I'm such a teenage boy ... I love trains, football and girls. Cute little ride to Bala along a lovely lakeside setting, with attentive and happy volunteers on the train. Smashing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBV_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ride the Rails at Bala Lake”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The weather was perfect the day we took a ride on the Bala Lake Railway. We started off at the Llanuwchllyn station where there is ample parking, good facilities and a very friendly staff. A round trip takes about an hour with a ten-minute wait at the Bala end while the engine is turned around. Numerous vistas of the lake offer opportunities for exceptional photographs. Well worth the time and cost. If you're lucky, you may catch a glimpse of Teggie, the legendary lake monster (Bala Lake is called "Llyn Tegid" in Welsh).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent for the young ones”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Was camping in Bala so had to take a trip on the local railway line. We did a return trip from Llanuchllyn and the kids loved it. A great station with a nice cafe for eats and drinks plus a small selection of gifts. The station also has a signal box which is fully functioning whch you can go into and if you are lucky enough the guy lets you do the signals - my eldest boy (4yrs) loved being given this privilege they also had him wave the all clear flag to set the train off from the station.

Great views of the lake along the line wiht the usaul cows, sheep and rams along the way and we were lucky enough to have a buzzard fly passed whch was great to see.

A thing to note wiht this line is that if you are arriving by car you need to get the train from Llanuchllyn as the other stations have no parking. And it ony runs at certain days and times so check timings before setting out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CardinalBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bala Lake Railway also viewed

Bala, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Bala Lake Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing