We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hungry Iguana Restaurant

Hungry Iguana Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We ate most of our meals here. Nora (Norah? ) was usually our host/waitress. She was charming and fun. The menu was varied. The prices were reasonable for Cayman. The servings were generous. The food was consistently good. The atmosphere is sort of sports bar meets harbor pub. We enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    53
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WUK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better Than You Can Expect of a Tiny Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Little Cayman is small. Very small, with few inhabitants and not many visitors. When I last visited in January 2011 the food here was just about OK, but with a new head chef the offering is excellent. Food prepared with fresh ingredients and a variety of cuisines to suit most people.

It's not cheap - nothing is on this island community - but it is good value. Special mention must also go to the friendly and efficient bar staff who have also replaced the surly bartender who was here last time!

My only complaint is that when the fish curry I ordered was off the menu, I was offered a replacement shrimp curry instead, which was delicious - but it was also charged at over twice the price of the fish curry, which the waitress had failed to mention in advance....

But overall a great place and the best eating on the island if you like freshly prepared food. Just ask the price before accepting an offer of something not on the menu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We wanted to try lionfish and they were awesome!! We also loved the conch fritters and the cute little tacos. Had a refreshing Crabbie before we boarded the plane and the swing was fun as well. Definitely will eat there again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food with lots of options on Little Cayman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This restaurant is under new management since we were there last year, and we were delighted with the expanded menu. They serve a different curry each day (chicken, vegetable, beef, etc.) and it is delicious, served with Caribbean rice and beans done just right. They have daily specials with fresh fish and a variety of other entrees. Their lunch menu includes lots of sandwiches and salads, and lionfish tacos--yum! In addition to all of that, they offer an appetizer menu and a children's menu at both lunch and dinner times, so there are always some lighter choices available. Their portabello mushroom and spinach quesadilla was very tasty. In short, there is something for everyone and it is all fresh, delicious, and nicely presented. The service is very friendly but you need to keep in mind that no one is in a hurry in this part of the world. The prices are reasonable for a small island where everything needs to be flown or shipped in. This is the only full-service restaurant with menu choices on Little Cayman as far as I know, so it is a great amenity for those of us who do not opt for an all-inclusive resort.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very helpful with Gluten Free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Of two couples there are 2 of us that require gluten free. We ate here twice and were pleased both times. We brought our own GF pasta and the chef prepared it with veggies, pork and a curry cream sauce. The second time we had jerk chicken with sweet potato fries.....AMAZING. Portions are large and the 2 gluten eaters loved their meals and the bread pudding. The GF coconut ice cream was superb. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Iguana Restaurant also viewed

Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Hungry Iguana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing